1998 Audi A4 Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 9

1998 Audi A4 2.8L Quattro 2.8L

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Amazing Car, Quattro rocks, but higher costs/insurance

Faults:

Radiator, tie rod end - 72,000

Timing Belt, Water pump - 72,000 (because I already had it in) - these are pretty much required to be done by 90,000

Other tie rod.

General Comments:

Great car, I loved it. Quattro is the best I have ever had in the snow, I want it back!

Maintenance expenses were higher then a typical car, but I knew that from my research. If you're willing to spend a little more on the car in order to have an amazing car, this is the one for you.

Also, insurance was high for me, being young.

2.8L had lots of power (not many options for upgrading it, but I didn't want to). Car is decently quick for being so heavy with the quattro system.

Overall I loved this car, got a great price for selling it so no complaints... just moving to a bigger vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

1998 Audi A4 1.8t

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8t Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A safe all weather car that's fast and fun

Faults:

Wheel bearing at 89,000 miles. door trim on drivers door.

General Comments:

I love this car, I've been driving it for all these years and when I drive other newer cars I wonder why few can compair. It does everything I need. In the snow it goes unlike any car I've owned. My BMW was worthless in bad weather, the A4 blows it away in every respect. I changed my timing belt myself, about to do it a second time. The water pump too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2007

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8 turbo

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Audi of America deserves no respect

Faults:

My timing belt blew while driving at 105 kilometers per hour on a busy highway, while only 2/3rds of the way to the recommended change mileage. The engine was essentially ruined.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, handled well, looked great... until it almost killed me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2007

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 2.8

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

The biggest piece of crap I have ever had!!

Faults:

Well, basically right after I got my car, the transmission went left me sitting at a toll booth on the turnpike.

Next I noticed oil was leaking, no big deal, I fixed it.

Next, and still happening today, my car was and still is spitting out antifreeze out of the reservoir. I have had two different caps on it and numerous seals, nothing worked. Went to the dealerships and asked them, they don't know. Thinking having the 80,000 mile service done will fix it, well I was wrong. The car was in the shop for about 4 to 5 weeks, and it is stilling spitting out antifreeze.

General Comments:

I just can't believe that a car company like Audi would have these kind of problems. I guess I was wrong. The car is really nice - if it would work properly, I would love to buy another Audi, but as of now, I don't want anything to do with it.

Basically, excuse my language, but right now I am really annoyed, this car is a piece of crap!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2006

19th Sep 2006, 14:20

You bought a used car.

26th Sep 2006, 01:48

Even for a used car, having such problems at 80K miles is not acceptable, IMHO.

26th Sep 2006, 08:10

The reviewer purchased an 8 year old vehicle.

When you do this, you roll the dice, no matter what make the vehicle is.

11th Sep 2008, 15:03

If your car is spitting out anti-freeze, this means you need to replace the head gasket, plain and simple. This is a common problem with audi/volkswagen 1.8 and 2.8 engines.

9th Mar 2009, 16:34

I used to own a 1998 A4 2.8. It too was the biggest pile I've ever owned. Soooo many expensive repairs. A fun car, but I'm glad to be rid of it.

1998 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Expensive to maintain not worth it

Faults:

Driver side window stopped working at about 95,000 miles, cost $400 at Audi dealership, got it done for $300.

Front right CV axle replaced @ 100,000 miles along with inner and outer tire rods. $600 Total.

Time belt and tensioner replaced @ 100,000 miles. $650 Total.

Master and slave piston (without that once you sink the clutch it stays on the floor, making it impossible to drive as the clutch doesn't come back up) $650 Total.

Key-less entry and central door locks stop working @ 110,000 miles. When the central locks, and key-less entry stopped working I realized the gas tank wouldn't open. So I had to pry the latch open, and rig it to stay open. $600 Total.

Turbo went @ 100,000 miles Cost $1800 to replace and have to replace the heat shield another $500.

General Comments:

The car was quick when I first got it.

Great looking car.

Very comfortable cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

22nd May 2009, 00:07

So, to sum it all up...

You are unhappy with all the repairs one might expect as a car ages?

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 40 reviews