BMW 2002 Reviews from North America

1973 BMW 2002 Weber 40 DCOE 2.0L 4-cylinder

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired184271 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Beautiful slip angles! Power and Glory!

Faults:

Nothing has "gone wrong".

I have chosen to perform maintenance as indicated, as well as to make a few upgrades of my choosing.

For example, I replaced the 32/36 Weber downdraft with twin Weber 40 DCOE sidedrafts. I mounted these using an intake manifold from a 2002 ti additional BMW parts. It also has an exhaust manifold from a twin-carb '02 ti. Momo Prototipo steering wheel with momo 152 hub (NLA).

General Comments:

Strictly by the numbers, this car isn't the fastest car on the road today. No matter, for the BMW 2002 remains one of the greatest sports sedans of all time. With twin sidedraft Webers, acceleration is instantaneous. On one hand, with properly tuned DCOEs, one can expect docile performance and good gas mileage when needed. On the other hand, one can expect fantastic throttle response, 4-wheel drifts, and poor gas mileage when wanted. The choice is yours...

Well sorted BMW 2002s are very reliable and very fun to drive. Parts are reasonable and readily available via the Internet and cost of maintenance is ridiculously cheap. Just start with the best foundation you can find and afford (e.g., low rust, good records, etc.). There are some great books and websites for zero-two owners out there. You are not alone...

Including what I originally paid for the car, I have only spent $9800 -- including all subsequent upgrades. At that price, no other driver on the planet is having as much fun behind the wheel as I am. The BMW 2002: One of the greatest cars ever at any price! Why suffer? Valhalla awaits!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

14th Apr 2009, 12:32

Right on, Valhalla certainly does await those who battle against the bewildered herd of mediocrity! I am one of those who once parted with a 2002, only to regret it forever... you speak the Truth, brother!

1973 BMW 2002 2.0

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Awesome handling, quick, fun, simple to work on classic

Faults:

Rust!

Passenger side frame rail rusted through.

Floor pans rusted.

General Comments:

Always loved these cars. Picked this one up from the east coast (mistake). Mechanically excellent and reliable.

One day when jacking up car to mess with the shifter linkage, passenger side frame rail went through the floor.

Before this, I had a ball driving this car, and have recently picked up an earlier model rust free shell (71, roundie) and am in the process of transferring all the components from my 74 to the 71.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2008

1972 BMW 2002 2.0

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1972
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

True love

Faults:

Lots of stuff broke on this car... none of it _ever_ left me stranded. I was always able to limp home.

General Comments:

My 02 was the best car I ever had. My parents bought it new in 1972 and I started driving it while in highschool. The engine was rebuilt at around 100,000 miles and I put another 150,000 miles on it. It was an old car, so things broke. But I have never loved a machine except for my 02. Keeping it going was like keeping a member of the family alive. I'm looking for a new one now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2007

1976 BMW 2002

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

This car is a fun attention getter

Faults:

California emissions had to go.

Seats are shot, tears, springs are gone.

Heater blower motor does not work.

General Comments:

The 2002 is a hoot. I own a tweaked '98 M3 which has all or most of the power and handling anyone would want, yet I drive the '76 2002.

The 02 is a work in progress. Installed headers and free flow exhaust, which sounds throaty. It has a Webber 2 barrel downdraft carberator. I put Bilsteins in the rear, the Bilstein fronts go on soon. 205/60x13's on 320i wheels. I also have a 320i 5spd in another 76' parts car which will go in over the winter. Pocket book willing I may send the engine out for some serious horsepower gains.

Did I mention this is a rust free car, as is my parts car. If I had the money I would restore that one also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2006

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews