BMW 2002 Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

1975 BMW 2002 2.0 Liter

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1980
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

I wish I never sold it

Faults:

Manual transmission thrust bearing broke apart at 78,000 miles. This was attributed to not changing the transmission fluid at a frequent interval (I did not change it when I bought the car.) Down shifting into second gear becomes difficult as the brass synchronizing rings wear. I was able to rebuild the transmission myself using the full service manuals as a guide.

Since the transmission was apart, I rebuilt the engine using new components where possible. The engine was easy to rebuild.

Original head valve guides have a knurled surface without seals. Wear causes leakage resulting in smoke upon engine start. This can be fixed using new guides with rubber seals.

Guibo fitting linking the transmission to the drive shaft can become loose over time.

Floor mounted pedal assembly can get gummy causing accelerator pedal to stick.

Straw used in seats wears out over time.

General Comments:

I loved the car and was very sad on the day that I had to sell it. The car was black with tan interior and had a sunroof. The sunroof was very large for a car of this size, window area is amazing.

The car was made to be taken apart and put back together easily.

I replaced the original springs with lowered versions. I also increased the tire size. The handling was much improved.

I also used the 2002tii exhaust manifold, and removed much of the emissions objects and never had a problem passing New York inspections.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

11th Sep 2006, 18:58

I made the same mistake and sold mine 5 years ago. I should have known it was a mistake when it sold on the first call sight unseen. They are becoming increasingly hard to find due to the rust issues so when I found a rust free one last year I snapped it up even with no engine. Fast, fun, cheap to fix, and simple to work on. What could be better. FYI the "straw" in the seats is called "Gummihaar". I just love saying that word! find another one, join the BMWCCA, and stock up on undercoating.

12th Sep 2006, 11:12

I own an impreza, but I must admit to finding this car intriguing, it looks very odd, but it must be one of the first fast saloons with a 2.0 turbo engine. I think it has about 170 BHP doesn't it? whats it like to drive? does it feel very fast? it must be quite a bit lighter than todays 2.0 turbo saloons. Did this come out before any of the BMW M models? must have.

20th Jan 2007, 16:56

I know of a decent 2002 sitting in a yard. Not sure if running... probably not.

Any help as to contacting the owner and what to offer?

Thanks,

Shenton.

2nd Apr 2007, 14:44

I sold my 75 2002 and regret it even now 25 years later.

1974 BMW 2002 TII 4 CYLINDER INJECTED

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1974
Most recent year of ownership1984
Engine and transmission 4 CYLINDER INJECTED Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great performer, maintenance headache

Faults:

Air conditioner was not a standard item on the '74 model, so I installed an aftermarket version that gave constant trouble, notably rubbing against the front stabilizer bar.

Fuel injection dependable, but testy about psi. Adjustment had to be correct, or the engine stopped and car coasted off the road... at inconvenient times.

General Comments:

Road noise was a problem with the little BMW, so that you could easily imagine yourself in the cockpit of a plane instead of the seat of a car.

However, the car had great style and great handling qualities. It was quick, and cornered extremely well for an upright sedan. I bought it new in '74 and sold it in '85 with only 58K miles on it. Wish I had kept it...

Although keeping it properly tuned was a nuisance in those years. Now owning a BMW is almost like owning an American car. However, I returned to General Motors and stayed there, preferring the less stylish, but more dependable Oldsmobiles and Chevrolets.

Still, I fondly remember the T.i.i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

1976 BMW 2002

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance315000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 504

Summary:

If you can't afford an M3, buy and build a good 2002

Faults:

Any 2002 is an old car, and old cars have weak heaters. This is especially true on these cars. Replacing a heater core can cost over $500, and rebuild-able used ones are hard to find.

California required emissions equipment fails regularly and is extremely costly to replace. This fact has sent many of these cars to the junkyard.

You should expect the front sub frame to crack where the steering box attaches. This usually occurs before 200,000 miles.

Rust is a big problem with cars from areas where salt is used on roadways. Look closely at rocker panels and inside fender wells.

Wind noise will never go away. Don't bother wasting money on new weatherstripping.

General Comments:

If you are an enthusiast who likes spirited performance and enjoys a car as both transportation and hobby, the 2002 is the car for you.

Sports car handling, smooth running and potentially gobs of horsepower in a car for four adults.

Remember, this is a BMW. I could've built 700+ horsepower of Chevy motor for what I spent on making 110 horsepower for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1976 BMW 2002 2.0 liter - Weber carb

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter - Weber carb Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Spider

Summary:

A classic without the expense

Faults:

Nothing out of the ordinary.

General Comments:

US Spec version with thermal reactor exhaust manifold seriously effects performance. My newly acquired 81 320i with fuel injection and free'r breathing exhaust is much quicker despite being 200cc smaller.

Cute but boxy car.

Solid, durable, German engineered build quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews