2001 BMW X5 4.4

Summary:

Excellent car/SUV, and would recommend it to anyone

Faults:

CV boots, cylinder head gaskets, radiator leak, windshield washer pumps, rear window leaks.

General Comments:

I had an extended warranty that covered the cylinder head gaskets; so that was fortunate.

BMW dealer service and parts are definitely very expensive. But I opted to not continue the service warranty, and made the other repairs myself. It's surprisingly easy to work on most things. There's a great forum for tips and how-to's. bimmerfest.

Also buy parts from other sources, but be sure they are quality parts. Usually you can get OEM or better parts for 1/2 price of the dealer.

This is a great car, it's very comfortable and responsive. I travel frequently and rent many different cars, but enjoy the BMW X5 ride more than almost any other car I have rented.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

2001 BMW X5 3.0

Faults:

I bought 2001 BMW X5 3.0 brand new. Beautiful car. It now has 158,000 miles.

Problems over past few years were both front and back brakes, and rotors were replaced; both front window regulators dead, driver's side door actuator? ($1600); battery replaced 3 years ago, new one replaced 2 days, now drained dead.

Check engine light on, mechanic replaced gas cap, did not work.

Front CV boots cracked, now front axles need to be replaced ($1200), brake light on, airbag on, front turn signals dead, need to remove whole headlight assembly to replace the 2 bulbs ($300 labor).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2010

21st Mar 2014, 21:39

Honestly a lot of this seems like normal wear and tear. Bulbs burn out, and brakes wear out. You drove it 158,xxx miles. Couldn't be that bad.

2001 BMW X5 4.4 8 cylinder

Summary:

A fantastic SUV, but not for folks with shallow pockets

Faults:

1) My main drive belt broke at 33000 miles; resulted in the replacement of the water pump, belt pulley, drive fan and tensioner. Cost $1600 (about a 1500 discount with my BMW mechanic, who did the job on the side).

2) Rear driver's side window regulator broke in the middle of the winter for no reason at all; $150, 70K.

3) Front driver's side regulator; 79K, $150.

4) Ball joints wear by 60k, and wore out the really expensive tires.

5) Alternator went in the middle of a long trip and left me stranded; 83k, $1000. Thank God for my BMW mechanic friend who drove out to meet me and replaced it on the spot, saving $1500.

6) Door locks freeze in the winter; it's a German car, what gives?

General Comments:

The BMW X5 4.4, when it is running well, corners like a sports car at high speeds. Takes off the line like a rocket ship.

Roomy inside for 5 adults. Good cargo space to move many over sized things. But it can be temperamental and costly.

Things that are typically small can be wicked expensive for this vehicle, so be prepared to pay big for the most mundane things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2010

2001 BMW X5 4.4

Summary:

Fun to drive, horrible to maintain

Faults:

Battery died twice.

Alternator died.

Had to replace all gaskets to fix the vacuum leak.

Water pump died.

Crankshaft broke.

Crankshaft and transfer case broke again.

Transmission is acting up at low rpm; the car is shaking.

GPS is freezing.

Airbag sensors are always on.

General Comments:

I just toured the BMW factory, and the whole trip was about quality; I do not see that in my car.

Love the way the car drives, but I am tired of dumping money on it every month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2010

2001 BMW X5 4.4

Summary:

My BMW X5 is a lemon, and I'm very perturbed!

Faults:

Transmission has went out two times, and it's under a 100,000 miles. Dealership will not honor the pre-owned warranty...

General Comments:

My BMW X5 4.4 did not hold up to the expected performance, and I am very ashamed that a BMW dealer is making me pay after a transmission has failed two times...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2010

28th Apr 2011, 20:14

I thought German Engineering was a good thing!

2001 BMW X5 3.0

Summary:

I will NEVER purchase a BMW again

Faults:

I have a 2001 BMW X-5 3.0, Christine Edition.

Airbag warning light has been on for the last 30k. They can't find reason why or turn it off.

Dash lights up like a Christmas tree (sometimes).

Had to replace/reset faulty sensors.

4 windows stopped working, had to replace all window motors, one by one.

Turn signals work, then don't work... then work.

Tail lights and hazards lights, the same deal.

Dash clock and radio readout slowing dying line by line to the point of being unreadable.

Now engine light is on and is stalling out at stops. Mechanic thinks it is a computer problem?

Also, as a side note, does anyone else think that the seats are incredibly uncomfortable during long drives?

General Comments:

The X-5 is a nice looking car but it has been a maintenance nightmare since I purchased it in 2004. I am really sad that I sold my 2001 Honda Civic DX for this unreliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2008

1st Sep 2010, 19:17

I sold my beloved Mercedes W210 E300 Turbo Diesel after 10 years and 250,000 very enjoyable miles to buy an X5. What a mistake. Faulty door locks, gearbox problems, inlet and exhaust sensors, parking sensors - sensors failing everywhere, pixels on MID, all instruments failing simultaneously, etc. Then there was the terrifying petrol consumption. I had the Merc 10 years and the X5 for 10 months! I lost a fortune, but couldn't wait to offload it. Glad to be back in a Merc again.