2001 BMW X5 4.4 from North America


Excellent car/SUV, and would recommend it to anyone


CV boots, cylinder head gaskets, radiator leak, windshield washer pumps, rear window leaks.

General Comments:

I had an extended warranty that covered the cylinder head gaskets; so that was fortunate.

BMW dealer service and parts are definitely very expensive. But I opted to not continue the service warranty, and made the other repairs myself. It's surprisingly easy to work on most things. There's a great forum for tips and how-to's. bimmerfest.

Also buy parts from other sources, but be sure they are quality parts. Usually you can get OEM or better parts for 1/2 price of the dealer.

This is a great car, it's very comfortable and responsive. I travel frequently and rent many different cars, but enjoy the BMW X5 ride more than almost any other car I have rented.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2011

2001 BMW X5 3.0 from North America


I bought 2001 BMW X5 3.0 brand new. Beautiful car. It now has 158,000 miles.

Problems over past few years were both front and back brakes, and rotors were replaced; both front window regulators dead, driver's side door actuator? ($1600); battery replaced 3 years ago, new one replaced 2 days, now drained dead.

Check engine light on, mechanic replaced gas cap, did not work.

Front CV boots cracked, now front axles need to be replaced ($1200), brake light on, airbag on, front turn signals dead, need to remove whole headlight assembly to replace the 2 bulbs ($300 labor).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2010

21st Mar 2014, 21:39

Honestly a lot of this seems like normal wear and tear. Bulbs burn out, and brakes wear out. You drove it 158,xxx miles. Couldn't be that bad.

27th Jan 2015, 04:38

BMW should really just cater to enthusiasts these days. Of course they would be a much smaller company and maybe not around I admit. However, the millions of bad reviews for BMWs make me wonder. Honestly these issues seem nothing for a vehicle of this type. People expect too much, you can't get performance and no maintenance "reliability" all in the same package, unless you're Toyota. Even Toyota's have issues though, but since it's a Toyota, people overlook it.

You have to do pre-maintenance on BMW's, there's no way around it. Expect and treat it like a Japanese vehicle, and you'll get an empty wallet and one disaster after another. Enthusiasts get this, but the general populous who are now buying BMWs more than ever, not at all...

2001 BMW X5 4.4 8 cylinder from North America


A fantastic SUV, but not for folks with shallow pockets


1) My main drive belt broke at 33000 miles; resulted in the replacement of the water pump, belt pulley, drive fan and tensioner. Cost $1600 (about a 1500 discount with my BMW mechanic, who did the job on the side).

2) Rear driver's side window regulator broke in the middle of the winter for no reason at all; $150, 70K.

3) Front driver's side regulator; 79K, $150.

4) Ball joints wear by 60k, and wore out the really expensive tires.

5) Alternator went in the middle of a long trip and left me stranded; 83k, $1000. Thank God for my BMW mechanic friend who drove out to meet me and replaced it on the spot, saving $1500.

6) Door locks freeze in the winter; it's a German car, what gives?

General Comments:

The BMW X5 4.4, when it is running well, corners like a sports car at high speeds. Takes off the line like a rocket ship.

Roomy inside for 5 adults. Good cargo space to move many over sized things. But it can be temperamental and costly.

Things that are typically small can be wicked expensive for this vehicle, so be prepared to pay big for the most mundane things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2010

2001 BMW X5 4.4 from North America


Fun to drive, horrible to maintain


Battery died twice.

Alternator died.

Had to replace all gaskets to fix the vacuum leak.

Water pump died.

Crankshaft broke.

Crankshaft and transfer case broke again.

Transmission is acting up at low rpm; the car is shaking.

GPS is freezing.

Airbag sensors are always on.

General Comments:

I just toured the BMW factory, and the whole trip was about quality; I do not see that in my car.

Love the way the car drives, but I am tired of dumping money on it every month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2010

27th Jan 2015, 09:29

Last time I toured the BMW factory in Regensburg, it was all about logistics and efficient manufacturing.