2000 Buick Century Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 9

2000 Buick Century Custom 3.1

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Excellent value, usually overlooked by the 35-40+ age group, but is worthy of a serious look

Faults:

None

General Comments:

Excellent car; beats the rice out of the Japanese competitors; in comfort, performance and overall American craftsmanship. And is a very econcomical car, with competitive hp/torque with other cars in it's class. The Century is not usually compared to the Honda's. Camry's, Intrepid's, etc. and it is one of the last cars that I test drove. The wife and I fell in love with it; with some nice sized 17" chrome rims, and decent stereo, it is a nice car with the big American car ride, with good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2004

2000 Buick Century Custom 3.1

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance49542 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good bargain, but, whats up with all the power window problems??/ RECALL!!!

Faults:

Windows do not work on mine also, went out as soon as warranty did, very few problems other than that...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

28th Oct 2004, 17:03

I bought my Buick Century 2000 in 2000. Until 2003 I always bragged about the fact my car did not visit the service department other than for routine maintenance. in 2003 the driver's side window became inoperable. I realized that this window may get a lot of use, so I paid the $400.00 plus to get it repaired. Now one year later, the left rear window, which may have been opened (and I'll give you the benefit of the doubt) a dozen times became inoperable. I am a 90 year (young) retired senior citizen and I think it's outrageous to pay another $400.00 plus for repairs.I've driven General Motors cars since my 1939 Plymouth, purchased in 1939.

Now 65 years later such happenings are ridiculous.

Milton M. Lasky<zadielasky@bellsouth.net>

28th Jun 2006, 13:23

Was the 1939

plymouth your last non-GM car?

13th Feb 2008, 12:44

I have the same problem with the windows and that is something that I do not like. I do not know what the problem is.

2000 Buick Century Custom 3.1

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Replaced brakes at 35500 miles, because the rotors were rusted, causing wear on the pads.

Replaced the tires at 15000 miles, with michlen from than on, it handled like a sport car. Original tires were Generals. Tires squealed an curve at 45 mile per hour.

General Comments:

The car has been very dependable. Good gas mileage. It does not have electric seats, but it has not been a problem. It is fun to drive, very good performance, quiet ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2004

2000 Buick Century Custom 3.1 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

OK however needs updating to be competitive

Faults:

Replaced front drivers wheel spindle at 32000 miles.

Had a hard start problem checked out dealer installed injector cleaner at 35000.

A/c repair at 42000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall it has been a good car, but it needs to be updated and is not competitive to other cars.

The car's cabin is made of inexpensive plastic which doesn't match the car's more upscale nature. The seats and the doors look worn and dirty don't understand this the vehicle is always garaged. The layout of controls need improvement the headlight switch is odd. The cruise control is on the turn signal stalk. Wish it was placed on the steering wheel.

The ride is only so-so the handling is slow and vague the tires squeal easily. Body roll is very present it tight cornering.

The engine has good performance with good mileage between 22 in town to 29 on the highway and is very quiet until pushed then it is very noisy the transmission is excellent. I also hear a ticking noise form the engine at cold start up there was a TSB about engine piston noise.

No problems with dealer service excellent bumpers recently rear ended with little damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

2000 Buick Century Custom 3.1 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

The safety lock that keeps you from opening the other windows besides the drivers window, jammed in lock position. will take to dealer for repair.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of pep for a six, sounds like a race car when I floor it, its fast with the 3.1 V6 and the 4 speed automatic is smooth for a V6. The ride is very nice. Its makes great gas mileage for all of this pep. It has many nice features, 6 speaker concert sound, traction control, lights that go on and off by themselves and lights to let you know when tire pressure is low, windshield washer low and so on. I really like this car, it handles very nice on the freeways, but I notice on curves it could do better and bite the road like my last car, the engineers need to work on that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

25th Jan 2004, 14:42

My 99 Century had the same problem with the window lock switch jamming. That switch was a bad design. Other than that, the car has had no problems & is flawless.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews