2001 Buick Century Reviews from North America

2001 Buick Century 3.1 liter V6 gas

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter V6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Dangerous, poor quality, reliability and no resale value

Faults:

Transmission problems at 24000 km.

instrument cluster problems at 22000 km.

EGR valve problems at 30000 km.

Engine threw a rocker arm at 56000 km.

Rear brakes require adjustment every 6000 km

Driver's seat sagged and lost support at 30000 km.

Piston slap.

General Comments:

A serious lack of overall quality permeates this car. I have had many GM Buick/Olds/Chevy products, and maintain my vehicles well, but there is no amount of maintenance that can overcome the poor engineering/assembly and design of this vehicle's components. Such a disappointing vehicle, that I will never again purchase a new/newer GM product. Current repair costs on this vehicle would be 2 to 3 times its resale value, and it only has 56000 pampered kilometers (less than 35000 miles) on it! They should have let GM go bankrupt and saved future customers from economic trauma.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2013

8th Apr 2013, 16:44

Not everyone's experience is like yours. My last 4 cars have been Buicks, and I have not had any significant trouble with any of them. While they are not as comfortable as the older ones, they are nice dependable vehicles in my experience.

9th Apr 2013, 15:04

This is a very very rare exception to GM's impeccable reliability and high quality. No GM vehicle we have owned has required any repairs before 100,000 miles. A few years ago we sold a Buick (a LeSabre) that had run flawlessly for well over a quarter of a million miles.

For decades Buick has traded places for the world's most reliable car with Lexus. I'd buy a Buick in a heartbeat without a single worry. Our family has owned 3 and 5 series BMW's and C and E class Mercedes. None of them was any more reliable than the much less expensive GM cars, such as Buick.

10th Apr 2013, 11:22

Sorry, but the comments about Buick are not correct. Lexus has for years been at the top of the most reliable car list.

12th Apr 2013, 15:46

Check the facts, not Toyota ads. The Buick has traded places for number one with Lexus for two decades.

2001 Buick Century

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escape

Summary:

This has been a bad car and a real black eye for GM

Faults:

Power window motor replaced.

Fan blower switch replaced.

Engine replaced under warranty due to a rattle from sloppy piston sizing.

Body rust.

Brake and fuel lines are corroded, and I'm told won't last much longer; will cost $1000 to replace.

Power steering hoses leaked, and I had them replaced for $400.

Shift indicator and odometer are dead. I read that this is common in 2001 Buicks.

General Comments:

My father bought this car almost new in 2001 for a lot of money... like $20000.00, and I inherited it as a second car, and it has been quite disappointing.

The car when it runs is smooth, powerful and comfortable, and good on gas, however it has had a horrible history of repair. It had to have its engine replaced just at the end of its five year extended warranty. That would have cost 5-7 thousand dollars. The service guy said that GM bores out sets of blocks about five at a time. The first one is too tight and the fifth one is sloppy. Mine must have been a fifth one.

It rattled like a diesel engine almost from new. They did a good job fixing it and it purrs now, but the rest of the car is suffering from rot. Hoses, fuel and brake lines are all starting to leak. The fenders have been a rusty mess for as long as I can remember...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2012

2001 Buick Century 3.1L

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I love the car, but it's gotten too costly to keep on the road

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced because it overheated without warning.

Struts, ball joints, multiple sensors, stabilization bar, transmission problems.

General Comments:

I'd really love the car if it could run properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2011

2001 Buick Century Custom 3.1L 6 cylinder

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Three of my windows fell down, I have them taped up now. The electrics quit working in them too, so the one window I have left doesn't roll down either.

My head gasket blew at 70000 miles.

My driver's side wheel bearing went bad at 50000 miles.

I lose a lot of oil, I don't think it's leaking though, it must be burning it. I have to put a quart in about every week. That has gone on since 14000 miles when I bought it.

Both AC knobs broke off in my hand, and center console handle also broke.

Had to replace speed sensor at around 40000 miles. It would idle like someone had the pedal to the floor, and it would drive 50 mph without touching the gas when in gear.

General Comments:

I had problem after problem since I bought it. Isn't very reliable, and is not worth spending money to fix.

It is quite comfy and roomy though. Lots of trunk space too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2010

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews