2005 Cadillac Escalade ESV Platinum 6.0

Summary:

Ferris Bueller said it best: "If you have the means, I highly recommend it"

Faults:

Had a couple of warranty issues:

Chevy dealer that it didn't catch the defects before putting on their used lot.

Bad XM module.

Compromised taillight(water inside).

Bad source switch on steering wheel.

All taken care of under the GM warranty at Caddy dealer, one trip, no issues.

General Comments:

I love this truck, SUV, luxury wagon, whatever you want to call it. Have owned 1994, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005 Chevy trucks, 1993 and 2000 GMC Yukon XL's.

There is **NO COMPARISON**. This truck flat out hauls the bacon, turns like a slot car (for a 4500# truck), and is just plain amazing. It's the Platinum Edition, with 20" 10 spokes, Goodyear rubber, and leadfoot driver. Heated and cooled seats, will never live without again, Bose radio (it's not bad for stock), and plenty of oomph.

The difference between this truck and 2000 Yukon XL or 2005 Chevy truck is amazing. Driving with spirit in twisties is now fun versus work. There is no body roll and corners that used to make tires talk back don't exist.

Truck is absolutely gorgeous and in the only color it should be: Diamond White. When this thing is "just washed" it is BLINDINGLY beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

20th Dec 2006, 23:06

Are you sure it has huge difference between your previous chevy trucks? either you don't have a good feeling about car or you were too excited about your Caddy :P.

This car is simply a rebadged chevy Tahoe or GMC Yukon, with the same platform, same suspension system, totally identical engine, except for a few luxury upgrades... maybe bigger chrome wheels too.

I won't think it's worth that much money to buy a *luxury* chevy Tahoe unless.. you want the Caddy brand name.

6th Jul 2007, 22:53

Easy with the sour grapes. The Escalade has steadily pulled away from the Chevy with every edition and is far and away better now.

26th Dec 2007, 06:35

This comment is in regard to the comments on the initial review. You may want to get your facts straight...!

1. Completely different sheet metal panels all around.

2. Completely different suspension system.

3. List of factory options standard & extra charge far exceeds those of the Chevy, to the point of almost dwarfing the Tahoes.

4. Quality of parts: Interior, Exterior, Mechanical, Drive-train... All far exceed the Chevy. Ex. The 6.0 345hp V8 standard in the 05 Caddy, was never even an available extra charge option on your Tahoe etc... etc... etc!

Finally, as to your comment regarding the Cadillac crest, I do have to agree... It does have the appearence of a much higher class vehicle.

Tahoe: little brother. Yukon: Maturing older brother. ESCALADE: Mature & Wise Father of the HOUSE.

2nd Jan 2008, 19:51

Indeed. I second that.

22nd May 2008, 15:02

Those Escalades aren't that much different from their siblings. They all come out of the Arlington TX GM truck plant and many parts are interchangeable including dashboards, door panels, engines, transmissions, etc..etc. The Chevy 6.0 liter engine was available on Chevy Silverados before it made it's way to the Cadillac and the 6.0 engine could be had in 05 Tahoes as the Vortec MAXX option. The 99-00 and 07-08 Escalades even look like overglorified Tahoes and Yukons. Escalade always has and always be a vehicle used for hype and never a real Cadillac. If you want a real Cadillac you'll have to go back to the 92 Brougham that's the last real Cadillac.

2005 Cadillac Escalade 5 door AWD 6.0 V8

Summary:

The best bet to the Navigator that is a favorite of families and rap stars alike!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My wife and I traded our black 2002 Mercedes Benz S500 Sedan with 29,000 miles for the Escalade, and felt that we did the right thing. The Escalade is also black, but we mainly got it because we no longer needed the rear drive inconvenience of the Mercedes.

This baby has recently been through the 12 inches of snow in Philadelphia Pennsylvania where we live. It tore through the snow! Plus, it is so powerful and comfortable that it can used as a perfect family vehicle. Trust us, if you are in the market for one of these vehicles, and love your sport utility vehicles classy, comfortable, big, safe and flashy like rap stars do, look no further. No wonder why they are hot selling luxury sport utility vehicles!

Please go to your nearest Cadillac dealer and buy one. They are worth every penny. We love our black one, and you will love yours, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2006