2002 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 5

2002 Chevrolet Silverado k2500 HD 8.1

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 8.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Chevy at its best again!!!

Faults:

For some reason, the tranny wouldn't shift out of 3rd gear.

Other than that, it is the best truck ever.

General Comments:

This truck is awesome. It will accelerate at the same rate with a full load or not. And WOW!!!... the 8.1L will light up the tires, but at the same time as you're peeling out, you can watch the gas gauge move. IT LOVES the gas, actually about $90 a week or so.

The 6 speed tranny is not very good for going fast, actually the last 2 gears have almost no acceleration at all, it has to down shift into 3rd or 4th gear. but even with the 6 speed, it only gets about 8-10 MPG, but that is pushing the truck as far and as hard as it can go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

2002 Chevrolet Silverado LS 3L V6

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Very fun, but be prepared

Faults:

Nothing too major happened, but the signs were ominous... transmission choke, fuel pump gave out, terminals corroded, and a couple other things.

General Comments:

It has had many problems, but It was a fun truck. still my favorite. all those little problems helped me get to know the truck better. I had to sell it because gas was crazy, and the swamper tires were getting low, and I can't afford to replace them. I love that truck though. Just know what you are in for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2006

2002 Chevrolet Silverado LS 4.6 gas V8

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 gas V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance89350 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this Chev PU was the battery. I now have a leaking shock absorber on front. My original tires were replaced at 65000 miles.

General Comments:

Beautiful piece of work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

2002 Chevrolet Silverado LS Z71 5.3 V8

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Absolutely awesome truck

Faults:

Noise in Steering Column at 50,000. Dealer repaired at no cost. They said it was a common problem and was or would soon be recalled.

General Comments:

Awesome power that will bark the tires if you get on it. Auto 4x4 button is great in severe driving conditions. This truck is a monster in the mud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

2002 Chevrolet Silverado HD LS 2500 6.0

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance36600 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

What good is a great looking truck if the transmission is bad?

Faults:

The transmission started to shift very hard and at improper times at 25,000. The dealer had it for a week and replaced the "accumulator" washers.

The rear window motor went out and was replaced at 25,000 under warranty.

Transmission started to shift hard again at 35,600. The dealer had the vehicle for a week and found several faulty parts in the transmission and referred to a recent bulletin that GM had sent out on the defect. They did cover it under warranty even though I was 600 miles over the coverage.

General Comments:

I love the looks of the truck. It is the last of the beefy Chevy front ends. However, I have great concern that this is a Heavy Duty 2500 that I have never towed anything with and the transmission is not holding up. I also worry that the dealer is having many of these trucks worked on for transmission issues since the manufacture is sending out bulletins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2004

16th Jul 2007, 02:25

I have 2002 HD Chevy Silverado 2500 6 liter. The transmission in it shifts the smoothest I've ever felt one shift (mine is just great).

15th Jan 2008, 14:24

What gas mileage should I expect on a 2002 2500 Chevy v-8 6 liter Silverado?

8th Feb 2008, 19:41

I have a 1500 hd 6.0 L and get about 10 mpg in town and up to 14 on hwy on cruise control, with k&n air filter and after market air flow sensor.

25th Sep 2009, 15:36

Replaced my trans at 75,000 miles through a private trans shop due to slipping. All local dealers told me there was no problem code and that nothing was wrong. Seeing that I have several million miles on Chevy 1 ton trucks and vans, I disagreed and found a competent shop that could diagnose and fix the problem (worn clutch bands). However, I have towed and hauled much weight with this truck since new.

Gas mileage for me around town 12.5 highway 14-16 MPG. The biggest difference I have noticed is that I ordered my truck with 4.10 rear end instead of the 3.73 that is standard. It gets this heavy hog moving quickly without much sacrifice at the top end.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 16 reviews