2005 Chrysler 300 Touring

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

The battery had gone dead, and we replaced it with a new one.

Now the second battery is dead, the car won't start, horn won't work, but the radio works.

The car had been garaged, and had been started approximately every two days to keep the battery charged. Moved the car out of the garage and then back in the garage, and tried to start it the next morning, and the car would not start. We cannot find what is draining the battery.

General Comments:

The shift also get stuck in park, and after several tries to get it in drive, the shift will finally move to the position. This is very frustrating, because you don't know if you will be stuck there, or if it will release.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2012

2005 Chrysler 300 C 5.7L Hemi

Summary:

Fast, gas guzzling

Faults:

Brakes went at 45K and 56K. The excessive weight of the car causes brakes to go fast, even without poor driving.

Oil pressure switch went at 60K, as well as a leaky power steering hose that had to be replaces. Cost $800.

Driver's seat wears quickly, despite leather conditioning.

Body is not well constructed. Both front and rear plastic bumpers start to sag over time. Front bumper too low to the ground, and always bottoms out.

General Comments:

The car has great pick up and highway performance. It is a good car, however not worth the money. In order for this car to be worth my money, I'd have to keep it about 10 years.

Anyone considering this car, you'd be OK buying one now. You can get a great one, with the same mileage as mine for about 4000 dollars less than what I still owe on it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2010

2005 Chrysler 300 Limited 3.5L

Summary:

Not worth the money I paid for it

Faults:

Front driver's seat started tearing with less than 22000 miles. Contacted the dealer, who contacted Chrysler; no one wants to fix. I found out at an automobile upholstery repair center, that the seats advertised and sold as leather, are composite material on the sides and back, and that's why they fail. I will have it repaired because I love the car, but no more Chrysler's after this one's poor quality of materials. I always believed in buy American, and that's what you get, poor quality, probably made in China.

General Comments:

Rides nice.

Looks great.

Very poor design of windshield height.

Great gas mileage on highways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2010

10th Jan 2010, 17:50

"Very poor design of windshield height" and tires failed under 20,000 miles

Did you SIT in one before you purchased your 300?

12th Jan 2010, 10:29

How can someone say it's not worth the money paid, then go and give it full marks for comfort, reliability and performance?

14th Jan 2010, 12:23

Re: windshield height I was not the driver when purchased, my spouse was I am over 6'2", and when you stop for a red light at the line, you cannot see light unless you bend over and the seat is all the way down.

14th Jan 2010, 13:58

Sounds like poor placement of the traffic signals rather than a design flaw to me.

20th Feb 2011, 22:33

Tight and firm driving car. It has a quiet and a smooth ride.

I have 2005 Chrysler 300 and purchased it January 2005. Today it looks as good as it did when I purchased it.

The local Chrysler dealer in Belmont and Gastonia treats me with great respect and has always serviced my vehicle. They notify me when service is required. This dealership did not forget me once they made the sale.

I have purchased 10 new cars in my lifetime. This is the best vehicle, sold by the best dealership.

My next vehicle will be a Chrysler or Dodge purchased from the same dealership.

2005 Chrysler 300 Hemi C 5.7L Hemi V8

Summary:

Fantastic car, cheap American quality..

Faults:

Power windows intermittently work after 2 years of owning the car.

Torque converter blew a year ago at 67k miles, and blew a few days ago at 94k miles.

Transmission leaks fluid constantly. Cannot top off because it's sealed.

Visor clips break every 6 months.

Engine thermostat gauge went out at 76k miles.

General Comments:

Bought this car brand new when it came out. I absolutely love it! It has tons of power and still turns heads when I drive around with it.

Yet, this car has disappointed me.

The shoddy American build quality is obvious throughout the entire car. After the first year I had it, the paint started to come off the climate control buttons. Also the visor clips are a joke. They break every few months.

The transmission is a joke. If you don't inspect it every 3k miles, it starts to leak onto the pan, and next thing you know it starts to slip.

Also, the engine temperature gauge broke this last summer. Costs $800 to fix because the entire dash has to be replaced!!

Also the power windows intermittently work. Some days they go down, some days they don't. Some days with the front automatic windows, they go up halfway and go back down.

Took it to the dealer for the first 50k miles. never again. They put the wrong brake pads on once and the entire brake system has never been the same. Now I take it to a private mechanic.

So-so mileage. I average 18 with half freeway, half city driving.

Despite all its problems, I still love this car! It's very quick and extremely fun to drive. Doesn't handle as good as my Volvo, but it's still my favorite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

16th Apr 2009, 20:49

In Australia I've seen a few of these being used as higher class taxi's, including the diesel powered versions. It'll be interesting to see how long they last being driven in that sort of environment. Even our state premier now drives (or is driven in) a CRD 300C instead of a locally built V8.