2005 Chrysler 300 Reviews

2005 Chrysler 300 Touring from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28952 miles

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

The battery had gone dead, and we replaced it with a new one.

Now the second battery is dead, the car won't start, horn won't work, but the radio works.

The car had been garaged, and had been started approximately every two days to keep the battery charged. Moved the car out of the garage and then back in the garage, and tried to start it the next morning, and the car would not start. We cannot find what is draining the battery.

General Comments:

The shift also get stuck in park, and after several tries to get it in drive, the shift will finally move to the position. This is very frustrating, because you don't know if you will be stuck there, or if it will release.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2012

2005 Chrysler 300 300C 5.7 from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance62 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

I have owned over 60 cars new and second hand. This is without doubt the worst

Faults:

11 months after purchase, required a new gearbox, although purchased new in 2007 on warranty, after discussion with Chrysler, the car had been pre registered in Germany (to export to the U.K.) in 2005, so Chrysler refused to assist.

2008 Feb, gearbox failed; had to be replaced. Brake pads went at 30,000 k.

2010, blew a top radiator hose, and the car overheated. Hose replaced.

2010, gearbox failed again had to be replaced.

2011, top hose again blew, thermostat replaced.

2011, engine exploded; write off.

General Comments:

Mechanically absolute rubbish, build quality poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2011

30th May 2012, 19:19

Oh Jeez... something was wrong with your cooling system and caused all of this - find a real mechanic, and don't force the car to run when it's overheating. The transmission is also cooled by the cooling system, and will fail if too hot.

21st Jun 2013, 00:25

That is good sound advice. Never run an overheating engine... NEVER!

2005 Chrysler 300 C 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

Fast, gas guzzling

Faults:

Brakes went at 45K and 56K. The excessive weight of the car causes brakes to go fast, even without poor driving.

Oil pressure switch went at 60K, as well as a leaky power steering hose that had to be replaces. Cost $800.

Driver's seat wears quickly, despite leather conditioning.

Body is not well constructed. Both front and rear plastic bumpers start to sag over time. Front bumper too low to the ground, and always bottoms out.

General Comments:

The car has great pick up and highway performance. It is a good car, however not worth the money. In order for this car to be worth my money, I'd have to keep it about 10 years.

Anyone considering this car, you'd be OK buying one now. You can get a great one, with the same mileage as mine for about 4000 dollars less than what I still owe on it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2010

2005 Chrysler 300 Limited 3.5L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance39539 miles

Summary:

Not worth the money I paid for it

Faults:

Front driver's seat started tearing with less than 22000 miles. Contacted the dealer, who contacted Chrysler; no one wants to fix. I found out at an automobile upholstery repair center, that the seats advertised and sold as leather, are composite material on the sides and back, and that's why they fail. I will have it repaired because I love the car, but no more Chrysler's after this one's poor quality of materials. I always believed in buy American, and that's what you get, poor quality, probably made in China.

General Comments:

Rides nice.

Looks great.

Very poor design of windshield height.

Great gas mileage on highways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2010

10th Jan 2010, 17:50

"Very poor design of windshield height" and tires failed under 20,000 miles

Did you SIT in one before you purchased your 300?

12th Jan 2010, 10:29

How can someone say it's not worth the money paid, then go and give it full marks for comfort, reliability and performance?

14th Jan 2010, 12:23

Re: windshield height I was not the driver when purchased, my spouse was I am over 6'2", and when you stop for a red light at the line, you cannot see light unless you bend over and the seat is all the way down.

14th Jan 2010, 13:58

Sounds like poor placement of the traffic signals rather than a design flaw to me.

20th Feb 2011, 22:33

Tight and firm driving car. It has a quiet and a smooth ride.

I have 2005 Chrysler 300 and purchased it January 2005. Today it looks as good as it did when I purchased it.

The local Chrysler dealer in Belmont and Gastonia treats me with great respect and has always serviced my vehicle. They notify me when service is required. This dealership did not forget me once they made the sale.

I have purchased 10 new cars in my lifetime. This is the best vehicle, sold by the best dealership.

My next vehicle will be a Chrysler or Dodge purchased from the same dealership.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews