2005 Chrysler 300 Hemi C 5.7L Hemi V8 from North America

Summary:

Fantastic car, cheap American quality..

Faults:

Power windows intermittently work after 2 years of owning the car.

Torque converter blew a year ago at 67k miles, and blew a few days ago at 94k miles.

Transmission leaks fluid constantly. Cannot top off because it's sealed.

Visor clips break every 6 months.

Engine thermostat gauge went out at 76k miles.

General Comments:

Bought this car brand new when it came out. I absolutely love it! It has tons of power and still turns heads when I drive around with it.

Yet, this car has disappointed me.

The shoddy American build quality is obvious throughout the entire car. After the first year I had it, the paint started to come off the climate control buttons. Also the visor clips are a joke. They break every few months.

The transmission is a joke. If you don't inspect it every 3k miles, it starts to leak onto the pan, and next thing you know it starts to slip.

Also, the engine temperature gauge broke this last summer. Costs $800 to fix because the entire dash has to be replaced!!

Also the power windows intermittently work. Some days they go down, some days they don't. Some days with the front automatic windows, they go up halfway and go back down.

Took it to the dealer for the first 50k miles. never again. They put the wrong brake pads on once and the entire brake system has never been the same. Now I take it to a private mechanic.

So-so mileage. I average 18 with half freeway, half city driving.

Despite all its problems, I still love this car! It's very quick and extremely fun to drive. Doesn't handle as good as my Volvo, but it's still my favorite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

16th Apr 2009, 20:49

In Australia I've seen a few of these being used as higher class taxi's, including the diesel powered versions. It'll be interesting to see how long they last being driven in that sort of environment. Even our state premier now drives (or is driven in) a CRD 300C instead of a locally built V8.

2005 Chrysler 300 Touring 3.5L from North America

Summary:

Okay for now until the battery problem gets fixed

Faults:

Alternator and battery tested fine, but when I wash the car and leave the radio on for about 1/2 hour with running the engine; battery needs to be jump off. It starts up normally everyday and operates fine, only when I wash the car listening to the radio or cleaning inside. Anyone had this problem before?

General Comments:

Everything is fine, but you can't get too close to parking long cement; it will tear up where the fog lights are, and pull the grommets from the fender as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2009

2005 Chrysler 300 C Hemi Hemi from North America

Summary:

Great look and hemi.. bad electricals

Faults:

Electric problems.

Auto wipers have mind of their own.

General Comments:

I was looking for a larger more comfortable car as my family was taking more trips to my wife's moms.

Love the looks and comfort of this car, but was starting to have intermittently electrical problems, power windows not working, rain sensing wipers coming on on sunny days and not coming on when raining, seat memory not working.

Nothing too terrible until we talked with family with a 300 and they were also having electric problems (headlights and dash lights not working.. 2 weeks at dealer.. new motherboard.. and now same problems again). We decided time to trade. Love the looks and the Hemi, but did not seem reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2008

2005 Chrysler 300 touring 3.5 V6 from North America

Summary:

Not very good

Faults:

I have ongoing problems with misfiring cylinders on the 2005 3.5 L V6. It has been to the dealership 6 times so far without resolution. Very frustrating.

General Comments:

If there is an answer to the misfiring engine problem it needs to be shared with the dealerships.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2008

11th Feb 2008, 16:36

Go to a different dealership- if it's been in 6x these guys are clueless and obviously not very good.

4th Sep 2009, 07:32

If you went 6 times to a dealership for one problem, either there's something wrong with you or the dealership.

Go to a couple different dealerships, and a couple regular mechanics, get their ideas and you will have your problem solved.

After doing your homework, you will know if the car has a problem or the dealership does not know what they doing.

Good luck to ya bud!