Datsun 240Z Reviews from North America

1970 Datsun 240Z 2.4 inline 6

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98551 miles
Most recent distance106953 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Best investment I've ever made

Faults:

Replaced the radiator.

Replaced the brake hoses.

Replaced spark plugs and distributor wires.

Also replaced the points in the distributor with pertronix and replaced the coil with a pertronix flame thrower coil.

Interior is pretty well maintained, dash is cracked which is pretty common and the seats are pretty worn in.

A slight bit of rust on the passenger front fender.

New 205/60r14 tires.

General Comments:

I bought my Z for a mere $2,000 dollars. I got a good deal on it because it was a friend of the family's. It was sitting in his garage for 8 years, it had a few problems, but nothing too big. When I bought it I kept it in my garage and worked on to get it in running condition for about 2 or 3 months. I replaced a few of the major things (ie. radiator, brake hoses, tires). and added a few of my own touches front strut bar, pertronix, flame thrower coil, and a few others as well. Its also funny because people are surprised that a girl drives this car, I get a lot of people wanting to race me.

Too sum things up this car has definitly been worth the money that I've put into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

30th Jun 2004, 02:51

Good luck with your Z! I've wanted one since I was a kid back in the '70s. It still looks gorgeous and way better than the 350Z.

Cheers.

3rd Nov 2004, 16:38

I love girls that drive zcars.

11th Jul 2005, 15:48

Haha! People are surprised because you rarely see women driving these cars. There should be more that drive them... many more ;). Have fun and keep the faith; these cars are only getting more and more rare.

Mike (Camarillo, CA)

1971 Datsun 240Z

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carDatsun 510

Summary:

If you find a good one, try not to sell it

Faults:

Replaced the clutch upon purchase.

General Comments:

I bought 2 of these cars at the same time for $1500.00. After replacing the clutch in one of them, I drove this car daily for 2-3 years while working and attending college. Classic Japanese lines derived from analysis of the American consumer and European body styling. The in-line six is pleasing to the sense of sight and sound, especially between 2800 and 4000 rpm in second and third gear. Engineering of the car allowed for easy repairs and replaceable mechanical parts. The cockpit is comfortable and cavernous. Be advised to inspect the floorboards and wheel wells for rust and stick with the original bell top dual side draft carburetors. In sum, the 240z is a good example of what new manufacturers should produce now; a strong, nimble, spartan, economical sport/muscle car with classic lines and a driving personality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

1970 Datsun 240Z 2.4 Inline 6 cylinder.

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Inline 6 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A fun, affordable mini-muscle car

Faults:

Body metal is thin, and dents very easily. It also rusts very readily.

Steering is heavy at low speeds. This is not a car for drinking coffee while driving.

The "flow-through" ventilation system sucks exhaust into the car. I have to run the fan to keep a positive pressure in the car. This was largely corrected on later models.

General Comments:

This is a quick, light car in the tradition of old British sports cars, but far, far more reliable.

Old Z-cars are not for timid drivers. They love to be driven hard, and need a bit of a lead foot to really handle well. No coasting around corners.

Old 240-Zs are not "chick-magnets". I don't know why, but if you want to attract the girls, get a mustang.

For the relatively low price these cars fetch, they are hard to beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

3rd Mar 2005, 15:57

I suppose it depends on the age of the "chick" for it to be a magnet. I know when my husband purchased his 1970 240Z it was fabulously sexy. The insurance companies did not know what to make of this car so they insured it as a station wagon. Pretty cheap until they wised up. So, if you're looking for a chick magnet with this car, age of the chick is a factor :)

12th May 2005, 10:06

They are still chick magnets, I showed a picture of one to a 18 year old female friend of mine, and she thought it was a very beautiful car, and man, why did you have to say the M word? My roommates 240Z blew the doors off a mustang, and not just kinda, and when the road got twisty, it wasn't even a contest, so please, no Mustangs around one of the greatest cars on the planet. If you haven't guessed, I despise Mustangs, they are horrible cars, the newer ones are better, but anything older then the 2005 models, make me sick. I have seen a Camaro, with its live axle rear end out corner a newer Cobra with its independent rear suspension. But I can say, anyone who wants a drivers car, get a 240Z, or really any of the older Z cars before the 300ZX, and have fun.

19th Oct 2006, 17:44

Let me give you some advice there buddy- don't change the look of your classic z car because of what some girl thinks.

20th May 2009, 19:51

Stock Z bumpers look stupid, change them ASAP. Otherwise it's very beautiful car. Early 240z bumpers aren't too bad, but still get rid of them, who needs bumpers anyways, just don't crash and you will be fine.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews