1980 Datsun 310 GX 1.4

Summary:

Real strong

Faults:

Had to clean gas tank, after sitting for 10 years. The gasoline stunk so bad.

Installed new spark plugs & cables. Rotor cap.

Tires were flat too.

General Comments:

Actually I just bought the car 2 months ago.

Great little car. 5 speed. It's like new inside.

23500 original miles, it's white on the outside & red inside.

My son & I went up to 65 mph on the freeway.

Sunroof too.

Told my daughter that she can use it to go to school when she gets older. She didn't like that idea. She is 11 years old.

Cold A/C. 4 door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2010

1980 Datsun 310

Summary:

Drives real nice

Faults:

Fixed the fuel tank; it was dirty.

General Comments:

Just bought my Datsun 310. Spent last 10 years in a carport here in Arizona. Doing a tune up tomorrow. Only 4 speed. All original. Never had a car so clean. Even the A/C works great. Not sure if am going to keep it. ressortera@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2010

1981 Datsun 310 GX A13 1.3 Liter

Summary:

Well built and an overall solid ride

Faults:

I have only had the car a couple months, but nothing has gone wrong with it yet.

-> It needs new shocks and springs - I knew this when I bought it.

-> The blinkers don't work (the light doesn't blink and theirs no blinker click) - I think it's a fuse issue.

General Comments:

My 310 is in absolutely outstanding condition. I bought it from a 70 year old women who's husband had just passed away. Her husband bought it brand new in 1981 and they've owned it EVER SINCE. The condition (considering its age) is impeccable. It is the original cream paint from the factory and with the exception pf an almost invisible dent on the hood, and a small poorly repaired dent near the gas tank it is almost perfect. The weather stripping above the door along the roof line is cracked (yes, I'm digging for complaints). The bumpers are in perfect condition as are the original aluminum wheels. I plan on getting the wheels polished and taking off the pinstripes because they're peeling at the back and just look cheesy. When I replace the shocks I am going to lower it about an inch and a half, but other than that and window tint it is going to be unchanged. It's a nice, clean, <i>classic</i> Nissan and its going to stay that way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2008

1980 Datsun 310 GX 2.0 Lt 4 cylinder.

Summary:

A great little beater I'd recommend to anyone, and it must've been a great car when new..

Faults:

Tachometer went out at 186,000 So my mileage is only mileage I've accumulated. I have no idea the the actual mileage is.

Exhaust has extensive rust. (going to take care of this this weekend, at a friends shop)

Backfires occasionally.

Needs clutch plate... Soon.

General Comments:

I love this little thing. It's not the fastest, or the most maneuverable thing on the road, but BOY does it have personality. I got mine for $350 off craigslist, and it came a faded (but not terribly) maroon with maroon interior (with almost a... Mexican blanket? inspired stripe along your shoulders) After getting it on the road, I realized it needed a bit of work to the clutch and stuff, but I've been told the parts are cheap.

It's as comfortable as any car I've ever owned, and I have to give high marks to Datsun/Nissan for designing a very modern looking interior, with comfy seats, almost 28 years ago...

The engine still runs strong, but it burns a bit of oil (something I suspected when I bought the car.)

I bought the car to replace an older car that I just couldn't stand. Since buying the car, I've painted the while car flat black, tinted the windows 5% and put a decent system in. I drive everywhere because it gets 39 miles to the gallon. basically, for 350... you don't get a better deal. I'd definitely recommend one to a friend, especially if you can get a cheap one. They're a lot of fun, and are a good looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2007

4th Feb 2007, 08:21

You bought a 28 year old car to replace an--older--car? lol.

Never saw a tachometer that kept track of miles before, must have been unique to this model...

4th Feb 2007, 19:35

As a teenager my friends Dad had one of these. Man it was great!Back in the mid 80's it was old looking, but very cool cause we could drive around all night for next to nothing in gas money. I would buy today if I could find one.

6th Feb 2007, 08:24

Wow. Where do you live? These cars are extinct in some parts of the country. Must be in Florida or the west coast. That would be a fun car to have for that reason alone.

26th Oct 2010, 17:42

I owned 79 310 GX. I brought new in Red Deer Alberta and took it with me to Germany. It was white with a black targa band and red interior. It was one of the best cars that I owned. Great fun to drive and excellent gas mileage. Sold it when I left Germany in 1982.