1981 DeLorean DMC-12


The 20 year itch


For some reason the lights stared shorting out. I really never fixed that problem.

The leather seats are great, but they gave me a rash that would bleed when I scratched it. Plus they make your butt sweat.

Had the clutch replaced, not a big deal.

Engine was replaced with a transverse north-star V8, yes I had the time and money to do it my self.

Front trunk latch broke, got that fixed.

General Comments:

I really liked this car.

The old V6 engine was good, but putting the north-star engine in her really made the car come alive. It took lots of modification, but it does work. Now it's a 300hp 4 speed auto rocket.

Like the looks and comments I get from it.

But for some reason the leather seats make my butt get a rash, so I did not drive the car often. Finally I put seat covers on, and my butt is fine now, LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th December, 2005

17th Jan 2006, 21:27

Never knew that a nortstar could fit back there. I would pay money to see such a setup. would anyone know the largest engine you could put back there?

19th Jan 2006, 18:33

"Engine was replaced with a transverse north-star V8, yes I had the time and money to do it my self."


1982 DeLorean DMC-12


A Bricklin is better


Leather is torn, but that's expected with the age.

Engine smokes because previous owner never changed the oil.

Not very fast, my escort could do better.

The doors sometimes come off the hinge. I fixed that with some TLC.

General Comments:

What can I say, this car OK. It seems to be a good car for the age, but I wouldn't drive one every day. I get lots of questions as to what it is, or even if I can go back in time. But I have also owned a Bricklin. These cars are just great. The V8 really has some power, and I get more questions about that then the DMC. If I had a choice, I would buy another Bricklin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 00:01

This review sounds fake. A V8? The DeLorean came with a PRV V6, not a V8.

3rd Dec 2005, 19:37

I believe the reviewer was talking about the 'bricklin's V8...

16th Feb 2006, 20:32

I believe he is talking about the V8 in his Bricklin which, I believe is an AMC 360 CID.

23rd May 2006, 21:22

Actuall some Bricklins came with a 390 AMC motor while most came with a 351 Ford engine.

1982 DeLorean DMC-12


Great fun to drive this one


The only thing wrong so far with the Delorean is the front wheel bearings had to be replaced. These were bad when I bought it.

General Comments:

This Delorean is very nice. It handles very well and is a real head turner. It is hard to get in and out, but it is worth the trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2005

1981 DeLorean DMC-12


Nice looking lemon


Needed a dent in the front replaced. That was VERY expensive.

Clutch needed to be replaced twice.

Rear tires had excessive wear on them after only 2,000 miles.

The head gasket blew and sent water into the oil thus blowing the motor.

General Comments:

After all those problems, I just couldn't take it anymore and had it parted out and crushed. The exterior looked very nice, but those dents are expensive to fix. I also loved the leather seats, those were a nice touch and were worth a lot of money when I sold them. But the car in general is a wreck. I feel sorry for others who still have them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 20:04

I find it unbelievable that somebody would crush a rare car like a Delorean. If he really had a Delorean, why wouldn't he just put it on ebay, autotrader, or in a local newspaper to get rid of it. For maybe a $20 dollar investment on a simple newspaper ad would returns at least a couple thousand for the car despite the condition it was in. I guarantee somebody would have been at his door within a week with a flatbed if the price was right.

For the reviewer, if you really crushed a delorean and a scrap yard didn't stop you, I hope someday you will realize how much money you just threw away. Let me put it in a simple equation: "rare car with movie credit (Back to the Future) = Has VALUE!!"

I guess I shouldn't suggest any other "rare or classic cars", like my 70 Chevelle SS clone. You might end up crushing that too the next time it blows a fuse or needs an oil change. Enjoy the ashtray!