1994 Dodge Colt Reviews from North America

1994 Dodge Colt Coupe

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance82500 kilometres

Summary:

I love the car... even though it doesn't have much power AND it needs such expensive parts

Faults:

Was told I need a complete exhaust system. This car is mint otherwise... never winter driven... always under-coated and well maintained. Never heard of this going on them as a common problem.

Paid $1600 for the car... was quoted $1000-1600 to replace the whole exhaust system... and that's without labor!

This is insane... anyone have any quick fix solutions? Can't even sell it now with the noise it makes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2014

4th Feb 2014, 14:42

Didn't it make the noise when you got it 1500km ago? Odd that it would start all of a sudden. I'd sell it to some kid who likes a loud exhaust system.

1994 Dodge Colt 1.5 Mitsubishi

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 Mitsubishi Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired295000 kilometres
Most recent distance335000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Really reliable

Faults:

- Clutch.

- Balls joints.

General Comments:

My second car.

Really reliable.

Used to be my delivery car, I did 40 hours a week in pizza delivery, and at this time I didn't care about the oil level.

The car was still running good, even at high mileage, and I sold it for a newer car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2011

1994 Dodge Colt ES 1.5

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance466000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

It 's a great car that seems to last forever

Faults:

Transmissionhad to be replaced at360,000kilometres.Other than that no problems.

General Comments:

This car is a nice sporty looking car which handles very well once you put bigger tires on it. Interior is cheaply made and falls apart at seams.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2005

1994 Dodge Colt 1.5

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance301000 miles

Summary:

Long lasting, dependable car

Faults:

Changed timing belt at 150,000 miles.

Lost A/C at 225,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall this car has been a very dependable vehicle. I presently have 301,000 miles on it and it has never left me stranded. I am now starting to experience transmission problems and the brakes are in bad shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

24th Feb 2005, 16:56

I have had my 94 Colt for seven years. Great little car, unfortunately my timing belt broke at 150,000 miles which caused severe engine damage.

13th Oct 2005, 17:28

I have enjoyed my 1994 Dodge Colt for 11 years. I put all 189,000 plus original miles on it. I only had to rebuild the clutch once, and it had never let me down.

1994 Dodge Colt GS 1.5 L SOHC

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres

Summary:

Biggest bang for the smallest dollar

Faults:

I have had a few minor problems with this car, some being of this nature.

1. The wheel alignment is slightly off and has not been fixed yet.

2. I think the timing slipped and is making it difficult to start. This is being looked at shortly.

3. The seat covers were ripped only at the seams when I bought the car.

General Comments:

I love this car more than anything in the world. It has given me a few small problems that have been cheap to fix, or will be cheap to fix. I would definitely buy another Colt if this one dies for good.

If there is anyone out there that can help with information on how to obtain new and used parts, performance parts and accessories for a 1994 Dodge Colt 2 door Coupe, please send an email to this address (askacel@das.ca).

I love the Dodge Colt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

22nd Oct 2003, 11:56

I have the same problem with finding performance parts for the colt. I have not found a single upgrade. If you have will you email me and tell me what and where you found and bought them.

Oh yeah and can you give me the price to.

22nd Oct 2003, 12:00

My email address is pixiestat@aol.com.

10th Dec 2009, 13:03

I have had no problem finding maintenance parts for mine at Lordco and Autozone -- I have bought a timing belt and pulley, thermostat, PVC valve, and fuel filter in the past year (2009).

As for performance parts, one should probably buy a performance car rather than try to make one out of one of these. In my opinion these rebadged Mitsubishi Mirages excel as basic, functional, inexpensive, reliable, and simple to repair runabouts, and that's about it.

1994 Dodge Colt 1.5L 16v

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun, reliable project car

Faults:

No problems encountered with this car.

Very well built.

General Comments:

This is a great little car. Good on gas, low maintenance requirements. This car is a real pleasure to drive.

I tuned my Colt. Had a hard time doing this as there are no performance parts available for this car. It responded well to the upgrades.

I reccommend upgrading the stereo system. The factory stereo leaves a little to be desired.

The stock wheels are quite narrow, I recommend replacing the 155 stock with 185 or larger. This improves the handling of the car quite dramatically.

The engine is strong for it's size, and very reliable. Mine responded well to a performance rebuild. I just dyno'd at 186 horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 14:13

My name is Alex and I live in Kingston Ontario.

I would love to know how you got 186 horse power out of your car.

Is it a 1.8L or a 1.5L?

I own a 1994 Dodge Colt GS. It has a 1.5L SOHC.

Please let me know.

askacel@das.ca.

10th Nov 2007, 20:56

My name is Jeff and I too have a 1989 1.5 litre Dodge Colt, and I also want to know where to find a body kit? If you know anything, please tell me! jeffreyaswan@msn.com

17th Mar 2008, 21:56

I just purchased a 1994 Dodge Colt 5-speed, two door etc etc. Extremely satisfied with the previous owner's engine mods (including dropping the power steering, which will take some getting used to!) I was wondering WHERE ON EARTH do you find a decent body kit for a 2-door 94 Colt???

PLEASE e-mail me with info, the stock look on this car has to go to fit my ego.

Thanks

blowtorchsonata@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews