1989 Eagle Premier Reviews from North America

1989 Eagle Premier LX 3.0 V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41136 miles
Most recent distance41354 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

I found me some 80's Gold Boyz

Faults:

Rear brake cylinders are blown.

Driver's headlight needs replacement.

General Comments:

Absolutely love this car, from its old school styling to its comfy burgundy interior.

This car is great. I went to buy an El Camino for a hobby car, saw this in the guy's back yard, and got it for $400 with 41,000 miles.

Fuse box is not labeled. I hate that, and that's about the only negative thing I have with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2012

20th May 2012, 06:33

The unlabeled fuse box will soon be the least of your problems with this car.

Ever stop to wonder why a 23 year old car only accumulated 41K miles?

23rd May 2012, 10:47

41,000 miles because he had a stroke in 92. I am going back for the El Camino next week!! Anyways, a car like the Premier is super easy to repair anything, and even easier to maintain.

24th May 2012, 18:21

I think you're about to learn a lesson the hard way.

These were bad cars new, and they don't get better with age.

1989 Eagle Premier LX 3.0 PRV V6

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 PRV V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39210 miles
Most recent distance41719 miles

Summary:

Great looking, driving, and very unique!

Faults:

CV Joints clicked on turns, Which I replaced for $190.

Distributor cap and rotor needed replacement.

Both problems were there when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

Best car in the world. I bought this car in august 2006, for a steal at only $800. The car had 39,210 original miles on it, and the body was in mint condition. I did a partial rebuild, replacing parts that looked worn. I also put on 4 new tires,did an alignment and cleaned the inside and outside of the car to a "t"The car had no problems and runs like a champ. It starts like a champ every time, even when it was so cold that new cars wouldn't start.

The cars handling is incredible and it has a lot of power for a car in its class. Everywhere I go I always get questions and compliments wherever I go, because it runs and looks like brand new. The entire car is stock and I replaced everything with OEM parts, except the Sony Cd player I installed. All work was done personally by me, and I won't let a mechanic touch it. I will never sell this car for less than $20,000. I plan on keeping the car forever even though I'm buying a 1977 trans am in for the summer, and a 1965 jeep wagoner for the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2007

3rd Mar 2007, 17:58

Congratulations...you got the 1 Eagle Premier out of all the ones made that was not a total piece of crap.

Or, maybe not.

7th Mar 2007, 15:56

This is the owner of this post (the original post, I own the 89 lx) I also wanted to say that I drove it at 107 while swerving through traffic and it performed great... not a POC at all!

26th Mar 2007, 07:11

My dad has an 89 Premier LX. It just recently came back from the mechanic for a non-starting problem. The mechanic evidently fixed a corroded wire that was supposedly the problem. It started and ran for about 5 times, but won't start now. Has a brand new battery and cranks over very strongly, but it won't start. Any ideas? I like this car a lot; it's in good overall condition with only 46,000 original miles. I'd get it for my son if we can get it working again.

1st Dec 2008, 18:46

I am the owner of the post. Had this problem too, changed spark plugs, distributor, coils and rotor, works fine now! Try that; it's about 100 bucks in repairs, but she will start right up.

21st May 2012, 09:24

You'll never sell it for less than $20,000?

Looks like you will never sell it then.

1989 Eagle Premier LX 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance181568 miles
Previous carChevrolet K2500

Summary:

A car that never received its appreciation

Faults:

CV axles.

Serpentine belt.

Front calipers.

Front rotors.

Front brake pads.

Rear drums.

Rear wheel cylinders.

Front struts.

Front strut mounts.

Rear shocks.

Distributor cap.

Rotor button.

Spark plugs.

Fuel filter.

Oil vapor separator.

Battery.

Alternator.

Front windshield fogs up.

Wiper motor quit working.

Antifreeze scent when heat is used.

Horn button in steering wheel quit working.

Gas gauge bounces left to right.

General Comments:

Most of the things that have been replaced are maintenance items. After reading every single comment about the Eagle Premier, I will voice my opinion about this unusual car.

I don't know what anyone's performance problem are, my Eagle has no problem getting out into traffic. Make sure your transmission kickdown is properly adjusted!

There are some things that the Premiers are all plagued with such as the window fogging and leaking heater core etc.

I have kept my Eagle maintained and the transmission overly maintained due to the fact that I have heard the tranny is the weak link in this car. What I do know for a fact is you will spend 300.00 to buy one and about 2,000.00 on repairs, and then if you re-sell it, you might be lucky to get 800.00! The dealers laugh at the car, and parts vendors scoff at the car.

In my 4 years of owning the car, I have never been stranded with it, and I will go from coast to coast with no worries about making it. You should see the looks on the gas station attendants faces when I pump 17 gallons of gas into that little car!

In conclusion, I have come to the realization that some Premiers were junk, but 1 out of every 10 were the most reliable cars still on the road today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews