1984 Ferrari 308 GTS qv

Summary:

Worth its weight in gold!

Faults:

It runs a little rough, but that is understandable considering the length of time it was in storage. I think this will be straightened out when I get the 30k major service which it's overdue on.

My only major complaint is that I can't just take it to the corner garage to be repaired.

General Comments:

The car still runs great and looks like a brand new car after 17 years! The maintenance is a bit expensive on this car, but not that much more expensive than repairs on some other luxury cars.

The sound of this car is like nothing else! I turn off the radio just so I can hear then engine.

A great condition 308 from the early 1980's, runs around $30,000 which is actually what I paid for my TransAm new in '96. Why anyone would spend that $30k on a Honda or Cadillac is beyond my comprehension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

25th Dec 2005, 14:57

For your information, the price of gold is currently around £8 million per metric tonne, so there is no way your Ferrari could be worth its weight in it.

26th Dec 2005, 07:30

Whats the insurance cost? I pay $700 annually for my "Honda" Acura TL and as far as performance goes 0-60 in under 60 seconds with the 270 hp VTEC which idles so quietly you cannot hear it. It has not been in the shop once other than oil changes... but I like Ferrari's, but would not chance the shop expenses, insurance that certainly come with the territory.

27th Dec 2005, 16:40

For another $500 a year you could be driving a late model Acura!

20th Jan 2013, 07:28

True. Con - you're driving an Acura, not a Ferrari!

1977 Ferrari 308 GTB 3.0

Summary:

Timeless classic and a bargain at $30k

Faults:

I have not experienced any problem that I would consider abnormal or unacceptable.

General Comments:

A Ferrari requires proper maintenance. If the car is taken care of and used properly, they are a joy to own. Cheap-skates and corner-cutters need not apply... You will have to spend money on service and quality parts.

My 308 has not let me down at all. I take excellent care of it and perform all repairs and maintenance myself. It is a timeless design that never grows old. Pininfarina (the design studio) is a master and that's why Ferrari uses him exclusively. The car is quick (early carburetted cars are the best performing, highest horsepower 308's).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

28th Dec 2004, 20:37

Beautiful cars indeed!!

Personally, I think the 308 is the nicest ferrari ever!!!

24th Nov 2005, 22:46

I`m just contemplating getting one of these, but wondering how much knowledge and time I need to perform servicing on the vehicle myself, and to what extent or level do I need to go to? Can servicing be kept relatively simple?

9th Jun 2006, 08:05

Where can one obtain a shop manual for the 308 either in CD or book format.

1978 Ferrari 308 GTB 2.8 litre

Summary:

A double-edged sword

Faults:

Despite having a supposedly rebuilt engine, the car would no longer start, only three months after the purchase. Two weeks after a cd$400 repair the car failed to start once again. The car was then towed back and sold.

General Comments:

Ferraris are a thrill, but don't buy one that is too old and beaten up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

12th Aug 2001, 15:01

I bought mine in 1979, and it still starts first time! I left it garaged for 9 years and it is going now like a dream... its a bit rusty that's all.

1st Mar 2002, 14:37

Correct. Don't buy ANY car that is too old or beat up... esp a Ferrari. The maintenence history of the car is critical.

18th Jul 2002, 20:36

If you purchase a Ferrari and do not have the funds to rebuild and take care of the car why bother. Get yourself a ford instead. All cars require maintenance and care my 308 is being rebuilt and I don't expect it to be completed within 12 months. Beautiful car only driven once since I brought it, but I did not buy it as everyday transportation but as a jewel to be preserved.

30th Sep 2006, 22:10

A Ferrari is one of the best sports cars in the world if maintained correctly. There is very little depreciation, so sink some cash into maintenance and enjoy driving your dream machine. As a true Ferrari "nut," I'm looking to trade up to an even better one! As I've stated, depreciation is minimal!