1985 Ferrari 308 GTS QV 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Very little. Reliability has been amazing, especially when you consider that I drive this on the race track several times per year. I have over 2000 miles on the track, and I drive it extremely hard. Redline every gear etc. The only thing I have done besides normal maintenance is to replace a front wheel bearing, and one of the spark plug extenders.

General Comments:

Amazing car. Very fun to drive, especially on the track. There are plenty of cars that are faster (the car is heavy), but I'm pretty sure nobody is having more fun than I am! The sound is great. The handling is extremely predictable and usable. Oversteer if you want it, understeer if you want it. It just does what you want!

The worst feature of the car: the factory gauges - completely useless, and new ones are no better.

Parts are expensive. Maintenance would be expensive, but I do all the work myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2001

5th Jul 2004, 12:05

I enjoyed reading your review. In fact, I've enjoyed just about all of the Ferrari reviews on this site. Consequently, I have just purchased my own 1984 Ferrari 308 GTS Quattrovalvole. I hope that I enjoy mine as much as you did yours.

19th Mar 2005, 04:22

I agree with the last person to post... I too have enjoyed reading most all of the reviews :) I am currently in the market for a 1975 308GT4. 1975 was the last year for no cats and used Webber's as apposed to injection.

I have been looking at the whole line of 308/328 cars and like the older rarer GT4 at only 2800 produced making 255HP out of the good old 2.8 V8.. These early cars are also a steal at 17 to 25,000 for pristine examples, but the wedge look isn't for everyone :)

Interestingly it's the only Ferrari to have ever been designed and built bye someone other than Pininfarina and Ferrari, they were designed and built bye Betrone totally inhouse much like Karman did with the Karman Ghia. To me it just makes the car all the more enjoyable ... bit different yet still has that beautiful Ferrari Symphony singing a foot behind you and corners like the Matterhorn at Disney Land ... Cant ask for much more than that :) Maybe I will see some of you guys at the next few historic reaces at Laguna Seca :)

15th Dec 2005, 22:43

That's not right. In the 50's and 60s there were many Ferraris built by people besides Pininfarina. Touring made some 250GTs, Boano, Ghia, and Vignale all made Ferrari bodies not designed by Pininfarina.

1984 Ferrari 308 GTS qv from North America

Summary:

Worth its weight in gold!

Faults:

It runs a little rough, but that is understandable considering the length of time it was in storage. I think this will be straightened out when I get the 30k major service which it's overdue on.

My only major complaint is that I can't just take it to the corner garage to be repaired.

General Comments:

The car still runs great and looks like a brand new car after 17 years! The maintenance is a bit expensive on this car, but not that much more expensive than repairs on some other luxury cars.

The sound of this car is like nothing else! I turn off the radio just so I can hear then engine.

A great condition 308 from the early 1980's, runs around $30,000 which is actually what I paid for my TransAm new in '96. Why anyone would spend that $30k on a Honda or Cadillac is beyond my comprehension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

25th Dec 2005, 14:57

For your information, the price of gold is currently around £8 million per metric tonne, so there is no way your Ferrari could be worth its weight in it.

26th Dec 2005, 07:30

Whats the insurance cost? I pay $700 annually for my "Honda" Acura TL and as far as performance goes 0-60 in under 60 seconds with the 270 hp VTEC which idles so quietly you cannot hear it. It has not been in the shop once other than oil changes... but I like Ferrari's, but would not chance the shop expenses, insurance that certainly come with the territory.

27th Dec 2005, 16:40

For another $500 a year you could be driving a late model Acura!

20th Jan 2013, 07:28

True. Con - you're driving an Acura, not a Ferrari!