1989 Ford Aerostar XL 3.0L V6

Summary:

Great deal

Faults:

Gas gauge doesn't work.

General Comments:

Bought this in 2013, an 1989 with 70,000 miles for $750.00.

It actually runs great, gas gauge doesn't work. Drives more like a car, which I like. Fun to drive. Plenty of power.

My Chevy Astro felt more like a truck. Surprising that it works so well for its age, and is not an eye sore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2013

1989 Ford Aerostar Basic 3.0

Summary:

Has never let me down

Faults:

All I have had done is replace the front rotors, back left brake cylinder, oil and filter, and fuel filter.

General Comments:

There are no seats in this vehicle, so I guess that's why it rides a little rough. I am getting 21 miles to the gallon.

Heater works well, but it doesn't have an air conditioner. I think so far it has been a very reliable van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2010

1989 Ford Aerostar XL Base model i guess

Summary:

A reliable van for the whole family.

Faults:

The only problem it ever had was that the fuel gauge was broken, so I would never know how much fuel was in it, and so sometimes it would stop in the street.

The windshield was amatuerly replaced, so it would slide down, and rain would come in through the top, and it cracked shortly before I sold it.

It smelled like mold about 4 months later due to the leak.

Radio, A/C never worked.

Front end looked damaged.

The body was covered in little nicks and dents.

The black paint was covered with swirl marks and was faded on the roof.

General Comments:

I purchased it in August 2005 for $550, and when I got it, it looked to me like it hit a wall or something at 15-20MPH, but the only visible imperfections were the missing bumper, loose grille and headlights, and the metal frame under the bumper.

I got it with 95,000 miles, so it ran pretty well, and could pick up speed instantly.

It was adequate, I would say, for comfort.

I sold it in December 2005 for $200, mainly because I got another car, because the windshield cracked.

For the few months I owned it, It did better than what my family expected, nd I would say this was the most reliable of the Fords we owned so far.

Obviously most used Aerostars are probably in better condition than mine, so I would really reccomend one to people, and they also look better than most van of the same time period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2006

23rd Dec 2006, 21:30

I think the Astro van looks much better than the Aerostar. The Aerostar is a rather ugly van with the tall sides and blunted front end.

17th Jan 2007, 19:26

The best thing about owning a brand new Ford Aeorstar was the convenience of service across the country; there is a Ford garage in just about every any town USA. I have met Ford service managers from Maryland through Iowa, Utah, Oregon, Washington, and Canada. One of the bad things about my Ford is the fact that it needs so much service; which might be caused by another fact: warranty work pays less, so mechanics tend to rush, resulting in less than acceptable professionalism.

1989 Ford Aerostar XLT 3.0 V6

Summary:

Best all around mini-van

Faults:

Replaced clutch two times, once for throw out bearing once for friction plates

Replaced radiator for small leak

Replaced power steering pump

Replaced battery cable

Replaced thermostat housing

Some cracks in plastic trim.

General Comments:

Very reliable and durable, just goes and goes

Comfortable and roomy, takes 4 x 8 plywood with the seats in, 6 foot folks in every seat

Reasonably economical

Maintained good appearance inside and out over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

1989 Ford Aerostar CARGO VAN 3.0L V6

Summary:

I love my FORD AEROSTAR

Faults:

We had to replace the transmission when we got the van.

General Comments:

Other than basic routine maintence. I like the van a lot. It is very fast and very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

1989 Ford Aerostar

Summary:

A nice van that does have some problems

Faults:

My air conditioner and heater have never worked since I've owned this van.

The gas gage doesn't work.

The van leaks transmission fluid and brake fluid.

There is a oil leak.

At 88,000 miles we replaced the exhaust.

Previous owner replaced transmission at 50,000 miles.

Just found out we have a busted fuel line.

General Comments:

I like the look of the van.

The seats are comfortable.

It picks up speed quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

14th Aug 2004, 09:01

I agree with the gas gage problem. The tiny orange arm inside the plastic casing will not move within the lines after filling up or driving. I was surprised to hear that someone else experienced the same issue. My 89 Aerostar has had its fuel gauge inoperable for at least 60,000 miles. Now at 160, 00 miles leaking oil fluids. The engine had problems in manufacturing and was replaced by a dealership in my town at 55,000 miles. Instead I use the mile tracker and fill up often. I have a 5-speed transmission and it's shifting pattern was changed after experiencing some concerns. It will slip in and out of gears while the clutch pedal is at resting position. The spark plugs are very difficult to change, yet possible. The passenger side plugs can be reached by taking off the tire reaching up into the wheel well. I changed the others from beneath the van and also gauging their distance through the panel doorway in the center below the radio.