1989 Ford Aerostar Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

1989 Ford Aerostar LX

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carMcLaren F1

Summary:

Fast for a van, much less a Ford

Faults:

Not very much.

Tranny went out twice.

I went through tires like cops do donuts.

I have had it on two wheels more than once.

General Comments:

Very fast van.

I bought it new to haul my work stuff in and took all my tools out now and really done a lot to the inside, but hardly anything to the engine. I still own my F1 and really turn heads with it. You'd be suprized how many peoples head turn with the Aerostar!

I also can beat any Mustang or Camaro (I didn't say I did nothing to the engine, I said not much!). It's fast factory, geared right plus I have added a few things. 1/4 mile time 12.3 Sec.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 10:42

Hmmmm. Drag racing an Aerostar. Who'da thunk? I know my '87 Aerostar with the 3.0 V-6 will kick my '85 T-Bird 3.8 V-6's hiney...BUT...It can't take my '85 T-Bird 5.0 Fila Edition. Still, very impressive performance for something it's size! My kids love the sound of squealing tires over the bumping stereo!!!

14th Dec 2001, 12:33

How could you possibly get the van to go 12.5 in the 1/4? I can't get mine to do that to 60. I have a 1989 aerostar with 3.0 V-6 and it is a total piece of crap. Rust holes, sucks gas, and doesn't start or stop 100% of the time. It also has this problem with going when I stand on it. Mine is a piece of crap and I couldn't get rid of it if I left it running with the doors open! If you could tell me what you did to yours I would much appreciate.

17th Jun 2002, 18:42

What did you do to that Aerostar to make it run 12.3 in the quarter mile? I want to know! We beat a couple of teenagers in a street race with our ’91 4.0 V6 Aerostar, but 12.3 is sweet! Our van hasn’t had any problems, while all our relatives with their Japanese cars have to get the tranny replaced twice a year with normal driving. Aerostars rule! Keep beating those Camaros. Make ‘em know who’s boss!

15th Jul 2007, 16:09

Unless the guy added a v8 engine he is full of it. They do make a v8 swap kit for the ford ranger pickups which this van is based off of.

3rd Apr 2010, 17:14

This review isn't for real.

4th Apr 2010, 19:58

I agree - this review has to be bogus.

Put it in the "In your dreams" file.

1989 Ford Aerostar

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChrevrolet Pickup

Faults:

The transmission in this truck is junk. Have replaced it once and rebuilt it once in less than a year.

General Comments:

Transmission is very sub standard, shows no regard for customers by the manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

1989 Ford Aerostar XL 3.0L V6

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Ford should reveal the problem with these A4LD transmissions and replace them!

Faults:

I actually still have the van because in 1994 the transmission DIED, and I haven't fixed it yet. It slipped a little before that, and I changed the fluid and filter, and thought all was OK - until I moved to Vermont and it completely died while visiting Stowe - had it towed to my yard where it sits.

Replaced the rear wheel bearings at 50k.

Replaced the air blower fan at 80k.

Air conditioner output much less than normal as it aged.

Passenger window motor replaced, driver's side window motor has intermittent problems.

Brakes chatter - front rotors not true, and wear brake pads quickly.

Otherwise normal maintenance, even if two spark plugs are hard to reach.

I also got an early 1989 model which has the small gas tank - 1989 models advertise a larger tank - makes me think it's an 88 with the new grille.

General Comments:

I enjoyed the size of this 'mini-van' compared to newer alternatives, and its truck chassis for hauling - but this transmission was GARBAGE and I never really taxed it, never had the opportunity to tow or anything unusual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

19th Jul 2001, 09:47

I totally agree with you on your comments on the A4LD transmission ours has cost us $1836.00 to rebuild and the transmission shop has had my vehicle for over 2 weeks. We had almost the same symptoms except ours went to the shop before it died. we have also had the same problem with 2 plugs. But on the other hand the spaciousness of the vehicle is great. We have the extended XLT. But repairs are costly.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews