2000 Ford Crown Victoria Interceptor 4.6

Faults:

Air intake valve.

Idler pulley.

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with my 2000 P71. Very reliable and surprisingly quick, however after owning two 93 P71s, I still believe the 93's are faster from 55MPH and up. I've had my 93 up to 135MPH! Maybe the rear end gearing is taller or the AODE transmission makes a difference, I'm not sure. But, I'm pleased overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2013

2000 Ford Crown Victoria

Summary:

I need another one

Faults:

Oil leak; that's an easy fix.

I would like to know if you can put it in a diagnostic mode like GMs 80s OBD?

General Comments:

This is a very strong car. It holds the road real good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2012

1st Feb 2012, 13:44

It has an OBDII system. There are scanners that give you live data, if that is what you are looking for.

2000 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 V8

Faults:

The only thing that I hate about the car is that it doesn't come with the spot lights.

I have not found anything wrong as far as the engine's performance or trans.

General Comments:

This car was owned by a Police Dept. in CA. They left something on the car, because it goes at a higher rate than the normal P71. I have found faster acceleration, better gear ratios. Very reliable, very decent MPG for this V8, which is giving me 25/30mpg. Damn AC gets to freezing point.

Still has the original Go Rhino Pushbumper Wrap with 2 fog lamps, has the laptop mount on it, has 2 power surge amps in the trunk (750w each), and has the wig wag still on it. Got it very very cheap at 2350 bucks; can't complain about it.

Still wondering why this car goes a little bit better than all the rest of the Police Interceptors? This car even spins the back wheels when going from 1st to 2nd gear, and goes faster than other ones that friends owned?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2011

23rd Jun 2011, 21:02

I'm guessing that your car has the 3:73 axle ratio, which is good for acceleration.

2000 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor Pursuit 4.6L

Summary:

Ford's new king of the road

Faults:

- Has ejected two spark plugs out of the car when I was driving on the highway. Dealer was able to do a steel tap and helicoil the two sparkplug holes.

- Check Engine Light is on "Catalyst Efficiency Low Bank 2" and has stayed on, despite replacing the catalytic convertors and O2 sensors.

- During the winter months, the car takes a while to warm up, but if I come to a stop, the thermostat gauge goes from the normal range to the C on the gauge, and the car starts blowing cold air, but when I start driving again, the thermostat gauge goes back up to the normal range and blows heat again.

General Comments:

I have always wanted a P71 Vic, and was lucky to find not only a Police Interceptor, but a Pursuit Vehicle, which is tuned a little differently and is lighter than the regular Interceptors.

The car handles real well, and when going down the highway, I love how traffic gets out of the way and how everyone respects the car. This is the real king of the road. I'm a little disappointed that a lot of the parts from a 4.6 mustang are not interchangeable because this baby would get some nice mods.

I love driving this car, and the shifts are amazing, and if I get into it from the start, it will chirp going into second gear. It has taking me to FT. Jackson, SC once and FT. Bragg, NC twice and got excellent gas mileage on the highway. It's quite comfortable; I wish it had cruise control for those long trips for the military, but I will live.

The rubber floors and vinyl backseat are great for my rott pup, so he often goes with me to a lot of places as I can easily clean up his muddy pawprints and hair from him being in my car. It's also nice that some people think I'm a K9 unit when he is with me.

All in all, it's an great car, but some of the problems that arise from the car make it hard to want to continuously be an owner of one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th December, 2009

25th Dec 2009, 08:06

It sounds like someone has been OVER TORQUING the spark plugs, which will damage the threads in the heads. Be careful when tightening these, if it was you, or talk to your mechanic about this.

Get a new thermostat, they cost less than $10.00.

I'm thinking about getting one of these, but I too would want cruise control and a few amenities.

Thanks for this review.

25th Dec 2009, 11:49

Yeah, everyone respects my '83 Ford LTD Country Squire, too. They think I'm Clark Griswald and get outta the way. I tied a dog leash to the back bumper also, just in case.

29th Dec 2009, 01:59

I didn't know they made a special Pursuit Vehicle package for the PI.

20th Feb 2010, 14:19

I have a 2000 as well, it has cruise though, I didn't know that it wasn't standard equipment.