2000 Ford Explorer Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 12

2000 Ford Explorer Sport 6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Worth the money if you're looking for an affordable SUV

Faults:

The idle control valve went bad within a year.

General Comments:

This SUV drives like a truck, a bit bouncy, but solid.

I have had only one problem with my Sport and I have found it to be very reliable. The dealer did not honor their warranty when it came in for repair and they were dismissive. But other than that, it's been a great little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

2000 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Bad engineering or parts sourcing

Faults:

Tires (Firestone had a big recall),Starter (had to be towed) after 1 months use, have just gotten a recall notice for 2 other problems and now I spent $289 for a idle air control motor. Also had to replace the motor for auto leveler two months ago and latch on rear hatch. Plus the radio light now only works occasionally!

General Comments:

Ford has poor quality control of parts. I expect At least 100,000 miles from a car with reasonable maintenance. I don't think American auto manufacturers can build a car to last that long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

2000 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Great SUV for serious sports people. Goes where most other 4x4s cannot

Faults:

Transmission replaced (flat bed it, don't tow it, it was my fault)

4x4 went out 2 times, they cleared the code and it worked again.

Tires replaced (Firestone)

Driver seat squeaks.

Very rough riding.

Stereo speaker in rear comes on and off intermittantly.

Currently have water in the brake lights.

General Comments:

Best 4x4 I've ever owned.

Sport model will kill most everything else in off road.

Looks good.

Very reliable.

Very sturdy.

So stiff, you'll want a neck brace, or sports bra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

19th Jul 2004, 15:34

The rear wiper has quit working. It was repaired once, but has quit again. Has anyone else had a problem with this?

15th Oct 2004, 21:30

I have had problems with the rear wiper, but never fixed it, what did you do to fix it?

30th Oct 2004, 22:16

Have you discovered what's involved to fix your rear wiper problem? I have a 2000 Explorer Sport with what sounds like the same problem. I thought it was the blade, and then discovered there was a lot of "play" when in motion... the whole arm moves in and out just enough to keep the blade from touching the window.

FM.

2000 Ford Explorer XLT Eddie Bauer V6 SOHC

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Vehicle is a bad bargain at $30,000+

Faults:

The rear wiper has been intermittent in its operation. You often must grab the wiper and shake it to get it to then work for that trip.

The radio display has now failed permanently and thus, no time or station data is viewable. This problem above many is most annoying.

Lastly, the Reverse Parking Aid Sensor system quit working at 38,000 miles, just after warranty of course. I have ordered and replaced the control module (dealer - $140, Internet - $97) and that did not alleviate the problem. I must now change all of the sensors at a cost of much time and $50 using Internet parts.

General Comments:

The "venerable" Explorer has perhaps been in Ford's lineup too long. Ford has achieved maximum profitability out of re-engineering the vehicle for easiest production at lowest cost for them; however, the refinement is diametric to the value and reliability that the consumer obtains in the purchase. Don't buy this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

14th Dec 2004, 22:50

I hear ya on the rear wiper, before I drive, I must turn it on, stand outside in the rain and push it back and forth a few times. I kind of look forward to it now...

2000 Ford Explorer XLT SOHC 4.0L

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission SOHC 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31900 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A fine SUV from Ford

Faults:

The only real major thing that has gone wrong with the car is that I the rear wiper motor failed at 29,000 miles and I got it replaced.

One minor defect is that the driver's side overhead map lite doesn't work - it's not the bulb, but the electricals within. The Ford dealership here in Honolulu has not been able to repair it.

General Comments:

Now, I've read the other reviews on this 2000 model year Explorer. I am being honest here when I say that I have not experienced any of the major mechanical or electrical problems that others have witnessed. I am either blessed - or perhaps I'm the exception! I have the fully loaded package, right down to the powered leather seating, sunroof, and compass/thermometer gauge (like I really need that in Hawaii). And YES I do take this truck off-roading - no rock climbing, but we do have some poor trails that literally beckons for SUV's to travel on. And I drive off-road with a set of BF Goodrich's, with no modifications to the suspension - kept everything stock.

By the way, I have used synthetic motor oil in it (AmsOil 10W-30) and an accompanying AmsOil oil filter from the very first day I owned it (after I drained the stock fill, of course). Being synthetic, I have run the same oil and just changed the oil recently at 30,000 miles. No leaks, either, contrary to what a lot folks think of synthetic oil getting past the seals.

I also fill up with 87 octane fuel from Chevron, religiously.

I'm keeping this Explorer - it rides well for a truck, no interior defects (save one), and has cost me little to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

15th Apr 2004, 08:24

I forgot to mention in my last comment, that my wipers also come on when they are turned off.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 46 reviews