2000 Ford F250 Arizona 7.3 turbo diesel


This is by far the best truck on the road. Highly recommend it over dodge and chevy


I have never had this truck in the shop. I have owned this truck for a year and a half and never had the slightest problem.

General Comments:

This is a truck that I would highly recommend to anyone who wants a truck for serious work or play.

The solid front axle allows for a more rugged suspension which allows for a cheaper long term maintenance cost.

The gas mileage is awesome. Living in Phoenix, AZ, I get 18.5mpg to 19.5mpg in rush-hour traffic. The worst gas mileage I have experienced (not towing) was 16.5mpg. The best overall gas mileage experienced was 23.3mpg. Typically I get 20.5 to 21.0 on the roads and through the mountains.

Diesel power is tremendous. Why drive a gas guzzler when you can have more torque and speed than a V10! The performance is very nice.

The only negative (if you can call this negative) thing, is the rougher ride than you would typically get in a independent suspension vehicle. I don't mind only because the vehicle is very solid and maintenance free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

27th Feb 2002, 13:30

Well I would hope it has no problems being 2yrs old and all. Oh yeah DODGE RULES!!!

27th Feb 2002, 18:50

Have you ever owned a Dodge or Chevy? Probably not. Nice informed opinion.

28th Feb 2002, 20:51

Yes I have owned one and I know that a Dodge is MUCH better.

3rd Mar 2002, 00:04

I own 2000 Dodge Ram 2500 with the Cummins engine and auto transmission, 30k miles and the transmission will not start in first gear, the only way to get it into first is to manually downshift. First dealer said that was normal, so I switched dealers, supposed to take it in next week. I am looking at the F250 now, owned Fords in the past with no problems. I am glad someone likes the Dodge, there is going to be a good one for sale soon...

2000 Ford F250 LXT 7.3 powerstroke diesel


Looks are deceiving!!!


Replaced the transmission at 1,083 miles.

Broke front leaf springs at 9,528 miles.

Broke bell-housing at 11,327 miles.

Had the front hubs replaced twice.

General Comments:

Even though these trucks look nice, they are not for the working man. If you want a truck that will perform under work type situations, do not buy a Ford. Luckily my warranty covered all of these repairs. But it was a pain not having a truck to drive to work. After owning my '95 1/2 ton Chevy, I will stick to the bow tie for the rest of my life. One word of advice, do not buy a Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

30th Oct 2001, 11:21

Can't tow anything either, no traction.

2nd Jan 2003, 22:42

I own a 2001 F-250 and love it. It is a hard working truck that's never let me down. I tow a 40 foot camper and the V10 has never missed a beat, and I live in the mountains! I have no complaints about this truck. It does what I ask of it. I have no problems recommending the F-250 or the V10.The trick to getting the right truck is to buy a truck that is heavy enough to do what you need. One last thing to remember, nothing is invincible, if overloaded things tend to break. At 4700 pounds in the bed my F-250 handled like a dream with no problems. I have yet to overload this truck. I have driven all makes, I'll stay with Ford.