19th Jul 2002, 20:02

To the person who made the "well informed opinion" comment, well I worked for Dodge and Chevy for years and would never, ever throw my money away on either one of those. I've gone over 200,000 miles on my Fords and never had any major problems. Need more proof, Consumer Reports at your local market should back us up just nicely. So much for your well informed opinion on this reviewer.

23rd Nov 2002, 16:00

I own a 2000 F250 with a Triton v-10. At 53,000 miles, it blew a spark plug out of the #6 cylinder. The cylinder head had to be replaced to the tune of $2,300. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

22nd Dec 2002, 12:19

About the spark plug blowing out. It's possible that a bolt or something rattled loose and fell into your engine destroying your spark plug and bending a valve or cracking the head. I know this because it happened to my good friend on his Jeep.

7th May 2003, 18:45

The v10 has a history of blowing plugs, but Ford refuses to admit there is a problem this has happened to me and if you ask a ford mechanic he will tell you it is pretty common.

8th Jul 2003, 06:28

Actually, it isn't just a V10 problem. It has happened with all Tritons. It has something to do with the aluminum heads. It does not happen any more often than big problems with the other brands. As far as my personal opinion, I think Ford owns the truck market for very good reason. No, I have never owned a Dodge truck, nor have I had the desire to do so. However, I have had a couple of Chevys. Ford is a better made, stronger, more powerful truck, period.

15th Oct 2003, 13:09

About the spark plugs blowing out the head, I understand that it is caused by carbon build up on the plugs. The only advise I have gotten on this is to change the plugs every 50,000 with a double platinum Ford plug. I have a 2002 Super Duty F-250 Crew Cab V-10 and am very pleased with the performance. I have had many Chevy's and they are OK, but this truck is flat out a work horse!


25th Nov 2003, 10:48

I have never owned a truck of any type from any brand. My family tends to have exceptional luck with Chevy cars, but trucks are a different beast.

After talking too many owners of all kinds of trucks, esp. this thread of spark plug problems, I keep wondering why all truck owners don't simply go with the more reliable, longer lasting, more powerful diesel engines. Whether it's Powerstroke, Cummins, or Duramax, diesel will likely treat you better than regular gas engine option for longevity, fuel mileage, and power. Diesel is an old tech design and has proven itself for reliability and longevity. V-10s are a recent development, unproven and surpassed before they're implemented.


1st Jan 2004, 13:30

Trying to decide between a 2000 Chevy 1500 LT ext cab 95000 miles and a 2000 ford f250 ext cab with 56000 miles. Both are truly like new. The Chevy is $2,000 dollars less. I have obtained service records for the last 45000 miles on Chevy. Any good advice. I am reading pros and cons from both sides.


14th Mar 2004, 16:44

I'm considering purchasing a 1997 F250 HD Super Cab with 7.5 liter motor and 95,000 miles. I am concerned about the gas mileage. Anyone know what to expect from this motor? Information I've found is for current model trucks or older diesels.

I'm replacing my 1991 Ford Bronco with a 5.8 liter because it was totaled recently in a head on collision. My towing needs have increased & its is time to move to a vehicle w/more towing capacity.

The Bronco was the best car I've ever owned. I would recommend owning one (or more) based on the 14 years of experience with mine. It considered it the "perfect vehicle" when I bought it and still do 14 years (90,000 miles) later. I don't usually get sentimental about cars or write in forums, but being able to walk away from that that auto accident was the absolute kicker for me.

I am sold on Fords for reliability, comfort, visual appeal and most importantly for safety. Ford steel is a good thing to have between you and the "other guy".

2nd Apr 2004, 15:17

I have a 96' Bronco and wouldn't trade it for the world! I have a little boy and I wouldn't feel safe with him in anything else. I'm a Firefighter and have seen some pretty bad accidents and I feel safe in my Bronco. As far as power and comfort, I've got the 351w and it has more room than most up front... the rear seat has room, but is a little hard to get to with the car seat up front. I need another truck to haul things in and can't make up my mind between ford and chevy. I'm looking for something around 95' 96', f-150 or 1500 4x4. If anyone has suggestions please help. Thanks.

29th Jun 2004, 07:57

I have owned two GM vehicles before owning my F250 diesel. My last truck was a Chevy 1500 4x4. It was great until I hit about 150k miles then I started having all sorts of maintenance issues. I currently have 50k on my diesel and it runs Great. (knock on wood) I have never had an issue with it yet. I added a 65hp power chip and get 16 -23 mpg and usually obtain 18mph in combination of city and highway driving. with diesel at $1.59 verses $1.79 in TX, I'll take the power and fuel efficiency over my gas engine any day. No more gas engines for me.

I just can't wait until GM puts a diesel in the Hummer again.

20th Jun 2006, 19:32

I recently upgraded my service truck from a little Ranger to an F250 Diesel 4x2. I average 200 miles a day in my truck. The beauty is that my 7.3L diesel gets comparable fuel economy to the 2.3L gas I had in the Ranger, and has 10 times the power and 3 times the storage space. I've had my new truck for less than a month, but already have 3000 miles on it. She works hard, but she's been good for it so far. I've always owned Fords, and love them. Nothing bad to say about Chevy and Dodge. Both good trucks, I've driven both on previous jobs. All Japanese makes are reliable, but often lack the sturdiness for heavy work that domestic trucks have. Toyota and Nissan are fine play trucks, but I wouldn't put anything heavier than a Hunting Quad in the back of their Tundra/Titan.

21st Aug 2006, 00:55

Unfortunatly, with diesel prices being almost 30 cents more than regular gas, I don't think the diesel market is going to last much longer. It truly is sad to see a future so grim for what was a top seller and such a durable truck. Hmmmm, I really am gonna miss the power and reliability when I have to give up my powerstroke for a Toyota Prius because of gas prices.

17th Sep 2006, 21:36

Don't give up on diesel. Biodiesel will run in any diesel engine without modifications, and can be found at many diesel stations in most larger cities. Also, a commercially available on board heating system will allow you to run straight Vegetable oil in your diesel engine. See www.frybrid.com or www.biofuelstechnologies.com or www.greasecar.com or www.plantdrive.com for available conversion kits. Most people can obtain used vegetable oil for free from restaurants who would otherwise have to pay for its disposal.

I am the owner of a 2000 F-250 Powerstroke. 12,000 miles without a drop of petroleum products. Biodiesel, Veggie oil, and Synthetic AMSOIL lubricants are all I put in my truck.