Ford Freestar Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 7

2005 Ford Freestar Limited 4.2L

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2L Automatic
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Wonderful

General Comments:

My husband and I just purchased a 2005 Free-star Limited a week ago. Someone else got to break it in for us, but we can still smell the leather. It's practically new with very low mileage. Before we did the purchase, I did my homework like running a thorough background check, bluebook value, safety rating, etc. The reason for choosing this particular van was merely for its safety rating. All vans have pros and cons and sometimes you end up with a lemon, but safety is a very major concern.

At this time, only having the van for a week, I would rate it above our expectations. Hopefully we can say the same in time to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

11th Jul 2008, 23:48

You're on your road to problems, problems and more problems. Never again will I purchase one of these. 90% of them are lemons.

2005 Ford Freestar LIMITED 3.9

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired357 miles
Most recent distance34128 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Terrible, terrible

Faults:

The transmission went out at only 21589 miles on an out of town trip, the computer is constantly needing repair, and the engine stalls. It's a piece of garbage and we hate it.

General Comments:

My wife an I regret trading our town and country in...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

4th Jan 2008, 14:30

Many states have a lemon law. We have it here in Ohio, invoke that law if you have one and get away from it.

23rd Jun 2012, 12:30

I completely agree with you about this vehicle. My Dad was involved in an accident (a car ran a red light and hit his 99 Chrysler T&C), and while his van was being repaired, they gave him a Ford Freestar as a rental, with less than 20,000 miles on it. At the time I owned a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country.

I was going to run some errands, and my Dad offered me to take the rental for a drive. First thing I noticed getting in was that everything felt extremely cheap. The doors were about half the thickness of my Chrysler, and felt like you could bend it if you shut it too hard. I also did not like the controls for the back windows. You did not have the option of opening one window, the control worked both.

But the worst part was the acceleration. I was pulling out onto a very busy street, and was expecting the acceleration of my Chrysler van... Boy, was I wrong. The response time was so slow I thought for sure we were going to get hit by the oncoming car. Chrysler's have their share of problems as well, but comparing those vans side by side, the quality difference and acceleration power is very evident.

2004 Ford Freestar sel 4.2 liter

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance25500 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Too expensive, uncomfortable, undependable

Faults:

Breaks squeaked/grinded at 1000 miles. Ford replaced ALL 4 completely at 2500 miles.

Multiple and increasing rattles in van, dealer states is typical for this year/model.

Electrical problems started at 18,000. Includes: clock/radio resets randomly; dash flashes off/on; engine/RP M's rev up for seconds on own; automatic sliding doors close on own; one sliding door randomly does not lock/unlock or automatically open.

General Comments:

Seats hard and uncomfortable.

3rd row bench seat extremely hard and uncomfortable.

With random electrical things happening to van, feels undependable... never know if and when something serious will happen.

Gas mileage so-so at about 17 mpg average.

Loud road noise and rattles cause me much aggravation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2006

2006 Ford Freestar Limited 4.2 Gasoline

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49 miles
Most recent distance100 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Brand New and Great! Will keep you updated

Faults:

The car is brand new, so I cannot address the question of 'What has gone wrong with the car?'...yet.

I was skeptical in getting a Ford at first, so I hope I made a good choice - time will tell.

General Comments:

I love this van so far and will keep updating this review as time passes, 15k, 30k, 60k etc.

For the money, there was nothing on the market that could touch the Freestar. With a $4k incentive and $200 below invoice, I think I got a great deal.

The van is loaded and feels/drives very nice. Very solid feeling on the road, seats are comfortable and there is tons of room for everyone and everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

21st Apr 2006, 16:12

Follow-up 1: Have had the van about 2 months/4000 miles now and still love it. I did have 2 problems.

1) Rear vent window motor burned out and needed to be replaced.

2) One day, upon start, the AdvanceTrac light was flashing and the car would not go over about 25mph, bucking and kicking the whole time. I turned the AdvanceTrac off and it was fine. After sitting for a few hours, the car was back to normal. Took it to the dealer and they found some 'strange' codes, but were not able to 'fix' anything - just reset the computer. Has not done anything bad since.

3) I have this strange whistling noise, like Morse code. I can't pinpoint where or what it is. At first I thought it was from the rear and a sign the fuel pump was going, then I thought it was in the front and could be the water pump. Not sure and the dealer says it's normal belt noise - not. We'll see on this one.

Over all I still love the van and hope it will last a while. I realize the Windstar/Freestar gets bad reviews, I am just hopeful I got a good one.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews