Ford Freestar Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 7

2004 Ford Freestar SEL

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Rubbish!

Faults:

I think it's the transmission.

General Comments:

The same week we took the car home, we noted (while driving) at times it would slam into gear, like being rear-ended. Took it back to the dealer, whom of course said they couldn't find anything wrong.

A couple of weeks later took it back to the dealer with the same complaint. They kept it over the weekend and said once again they couldn't find a thing wrong.

However, the slamming into gear stopped after the last trip to the dealer, but six months later and now out of warranty it has a new problem. At times it acts like it's in neutral while driving, and it's getting worse. No engine lights go on and no leakage in the garage. It is no small wonder Ford are having finance problems when they produce junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2008

12th Dec 2008, 15:19

I had 2003 Windstar with similar issues. The only thing that fixed the issues was a remanufactured tranny from Ford. Then I got rid of it and got a Flex. Much better.

2004 Ford Freestar Unknown

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Unknown Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

2004 Ford Freestar Transmission

Faults:

Joining the group of "Taken for" owners.

Transmission went out at 54 thousand miles. Now $3,500.00 later, I find on the various forums that this is a common problem.

WHY does FORD keep turning a blind eye to this?

It's my understanding that they changed the name from Windstar to Freestar cause of the problems with the transmission.

General Comments:

Worst vehicle I've ever owned.

Cheaply made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2008

31st Dec 2008, 13:48

My 2004 Freestar transmission just went out without any warning at 98,000 miles. It is going to cost $3,600 to fix! The way Ford values plummet each year, the van is only worth $2,500 anyway. We are so upside down there is no way out!!! Never buy a Ford. Our dealership also was "surprised" to hear about the online reputation Freestar transmissions have.

2004 Ford Freestar SEL

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance69009 miles
Previous carToyota Highlander

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Transmission Torque converter failed at 62009 miles.

General Comments:

Called Ford. There was no recall on transmission & car was out of warranty. Told me I had to tow car to a Ford Dealer so they could determine the problem. Called my dealership and was told it would be estimate of $3500 for transmission only. The place I took my car said they have replaced at least 10 transmission on this type mini van in past 7 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2008

2005 Ford Freestar LX 4.2L

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Good except for one engine problem

Faults:

Just got a "P 0340" engine code error. Dealer cannot find the problem, but computer now says everything is OK. Hope problem went away!

Anyone had a similar problem? Car stalled and would only start and run for 30 seconds or so. "Check engine" light came on thankfully. Supposedly indicated a "Cam Sensor" issue according to the dealer. Towed to dealer today, Apr 29, 2008.

Any suggestions? Otherwise I like the van very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

2004 Ford Freestar SES 4.2L V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.2L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance96205 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A basic van I would purchase again

Faults:

I had to have a power door motor replacement, and the plastic accents have started to fall off.

General Comments:

I like my Freestar, it is very fast and comfy in the front seats. I have three major complaints- leg room in 2nd and third rows, the 2nd row windows do not roll down (and the third row's don't vent on mine), and lastly, the rear seat is not split.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2008

2004 Ford Freestar Base 3.8L V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Dependable, no frills and good value

Faults:

Brakes bad at 40k miles. The brakes on this vehicle are undersized, in my opinion. After 3 years,this seems to be the only mechanical oversight.

Rubber brake pad fell off brake foot lever.

Radio/paint on often used buttons wearing prematurely.

General Comments:

I've owned this vehicle since it was introduced in 2004.

This minivan is quite spacious and comfortable and very suitable if you're looking for something to haul your family around... or if you have hobbies where you have gear/items you need to tote around.

The Freestar is a good value if you're looking for a minivan. It's not flashy and it's interior styling is fairly boring. On the basic models, it's extensive use of plastics, while efficient, is a little chinsy looking. But you get what you pay for. If you're looking for a no frills people mover, the Freestar fits the bill.

Ford probably put as much content as they could in the vehicle (stylewise & qualitywise) of the components, fabrics and plastics. But saddled with the staggering UAW anchor, it would seem they didn't have a lot of room to fancy this van up and still sell it at it's fairly low cost.

But Ford did invest in safety on this van. It's very safe, with airbags and a canopy system... I believe it's 5-star crash rated in multiple categories.

For long trips, it's definitely not the most comfy land yacht ever. But it gets the job done at a price that is very reasonable.

The engine is powerful and responsive and you'll appreciate this on the highway for quick accelerations. I have had no mechanical issues other than the undersized brakes needed replaced at 40k miles... I drive mainly freeway miles and was disappointed at this cost.

Fuel economy isn't the greatest. I don't know the exact numbers, but this van holds 25? gallons I think and can make you wince when you fill it up.

The air conditioning is cold and the heater warms up fast. The suspension is okay. Road noise is louder than I would like. Ford didn't do a lot of work insulating the cabin from road noise... and the factor spec tires are louder than they should be.

When you replace the tires, pick a good quality brand tire known for quiet running. This will improve road noise immensely.

The vans depreciate at around 40% a year. But the advantage is that you'll be able to get a relatively newer model (used) for a great value.

The radio controls... the paint has worn off on a few of the buttons which is very annoying. And the rubber pad came off the brake foot lever... I had the dealer re-glue it on with high quality adhesive. Guessing Ford cheapened up on the glue they used.

If you're looking for a no frills dependable and safe minivan... at a good price, the Ford Freestar is definitely worth a look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2007

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews