2000 Ford Ranger Reviews from North America - Page 9 of 10

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 liter

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

A practical and reliable 4 x 4 truck

Faults:

I have not had any serious problems. Some quirks are noisy and jerky power windows, occasional clank from driveshaft or rear axle under hard acceleration, and a small paint blister on the lip of thr hood. A $39.00 wheel alignment at 25,000 corrected my off center steering wheel, slight tire edge wear, and a got little better fuel economy.

General Comments:

Overall, I love the truck and it serves all the purposes which it was bought for. Mine has the extended cab with the quad doors, which I just love. It is extremely easy to access the back as compared to a 1993 Dodge Dakota X-cab I once owned. The Dakota was also small in the back for any adult passengers and the Ranger is even a bit smaller. I need the extra space for tools and cargo, not passengers. I would highly recommend the extra cab and quad doors over a regular cab!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

2000 Ford Ranger XLT

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A Huge Headache!

Faults:

My Transmission blew at 30,000 miles and the ball joints went out 3 times. The transmission is having to be fixed again at 49,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really enjoyed this truck when I bought it until I started to have problems with it. I have never owned or wanted to buy a Ford vehicle until I saw the deal I can get with buying one.

Now I can't fix the new Transmission problem because I am over my mileage for a warranty. I wish I had bought something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

19th Jan 2004, 10:18

1-19-04.

I just took my 2000 Ranger in and had the same problem as the previous post. It is just out of warranty and the automatic 5 speed transmission has gone out. No third gear and apparently a valve body has to be replaced. When I complained to Ford they said there are no recalls or issues with that vehicle. The dealership has said there is nothing we can do, but they did know exactly what would fix the problem ($900). Guess who is looking to buy another brand of truck. It seems like they've seen this issue before.

Add me to the list of people who wish they had bought something else.

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Exactly the truck I wanted

Faults:

Emergency Brake cable broke and brakes were locked on. Ford towed it and fixed it for free.

Squeaks when putting in/out of cruise control. Also will be fixed under warranty.

Sliding rear window allows wind noise at highway speeds.

General Comments:

Great Truck. Has a few scratches, but that is what trucks are for.

I would always go with the 4.0. The engine is almost too fast, peeling out when the road is wet.

More Horsepower and Torque than any competitors.

I get 16 mpg city, which gets expensive at 60 miles/day.

Make sure you have good tires, Goodyear Wranglers, and put sandbags in the bed for snow/off roading.

I got great service, they even serviced and inspected it for free after the brake cable broke.

It has a 4:10 limited-slip axle, and engine block warmer, plus the tow-package and I love it.

I got it for $11,000, $13,000 less than Suggested Retail. Not bad for 30000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2002

13th Aug 2009, 19:34

You said it was the most powerful in its class LOL, what are you talking about? My 1995 V8 5.2 liter Dakota 4x4 would smoke your truck. Nice try, trying to say Ford is GOOD or something.

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 4x4 offroad 4.0L

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22022 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

This is the best truck value, but the worst dealer service

Faults:

This is going to get a frown and the truck does not deserve it, the dealerships do. When I bought the truck I had the clear bra put on the front. Well about a year later the paint peeled. When the dealer put the bra on, they cut my paint with the razor. I took it in and they fixed it, or so I thought. It was back in four more times because it had over spray all over it, the windows leaked, the weatherstripping fell off and the interior was not put back properly, it was warped and missing clips. I also had them check the noisy u-joints and they said that is was normal. Well I took it to another dealer for an engine noise and they replaced the drive shaft! I took it in again for the engine noise and finally got an answer. The service manager said that 4 liter motors have weak oil pressure on start up, but it would be fine. I believe him because I know tons of people who have the 4 liter in their trucks and they all make noise and they all go over 250,000 miles. But I do love this truck it is the service that is making me think twice about buying another one. I think my next one will be an older Ford truck.

General Comments:

This truck, like my other Fords, has been bulletproof. I live in Colorado and the truck is either off road, towing cars and motorcycles, being drag raced, whatever, it does not have an easy life. Yet it excels at everything. It wheels better and has way more power than my friends ZR2 and yet when we take it on long trips, it is very comfortable. If I don't need to get a full sizer, I'll keep this one forever. Just don't by it for the ride or the gas mileage and you'll be golden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

27th May 2004, 04:16

I drive a 2000 ranger four wheel drive, and despite the minor problems that I had after receiving the truck it has risen to every situation. I live in south east Arkansas and we play in a lot of mud, and do a lot of off road riding. I am the only Ford Ranger that goes out so I'm constantly competing. My ranger surprises them all the time. I'm just glad there other people out there beating there Rangers into oblivion.

31st May 2006, 22:39

I have owned a ford ranger since 2001, My first one was a 98 2 wheel drive that I drove the wheels off and didn't have a problem with it, in fact that truck saved me from serious injury when I totaled it, It could have been a lot worse then it was. I have just purchased a 2003 4x4 that I am expecting the same out of.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews