2000 Ford Ranger Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 10

2000 Ford Ranger Long Bed 3.6L Flex Fuel

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6L Flex Fuel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Five words. Don't buy it

Faults:

Where do I begin?

Wipers go off by themselves, have for 3 years no matter what I do. It's just random.

Speed sensor tanked after 3 years, was told by my mechanic that they're the worst he's seen.

Transmission shifts hard since 50,000.

General Comments:

I've had this truck too long. It's a piece of garbage. I would never recommend a Ranger to anyone.

The one good thing I can say is that it's cheap. If I'd have dropped some serious cash, I'd be pissed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

31st Jul 2010, 00:31

Sounds like you might of gotten a lemon by all means. I do know Fords are notorious for their electrical issues, but we've owned about ten Fords in the past twenty years, and never did any of them have major problems, with the exception of our 1997 Mustang's fuel pump failing @170k.

And yes the speed sensor did fail on my 2000 Ranger too, but not until 150k. Pretty sure these things will happen to any vehicles that old eventually.

2000 Ford Ranger standard cab 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

One durable truck

Faults:

The usual wear and tear items such as brake pads and alternator. Please keep in mind that the vehicle was used as a police unit. The vehicle was always running with the air conditioner running.

General Comments:

We had 5 Rangers in our department. Very fast acceleration with the v6 and durability. We used the Rangers as police units. The Ranger takes curbs, rocks, rear end collisions and cornering without any problems. We managed to rack up 100,000 miles on each of the Rangers. The only problems we experienced was the usual wear and tear items; brakes and alternators.

We drove the hell out of these things and abused them bad. Very determined trucks. Just make sure to get the v6.

Do not... Do not... get the 4 cylinder! It gets the same gas mileage and is not capable of heavy duty usage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

28th Jan 2005, 20:00

I have never seen a police truck before. do you use the trucks as patrol cars??

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance95719 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

No complaints here

Faults:

DPFE sensor went out at about 50,000 miles. A common problem that Ford has remedied with design changes.

The CD player quit working correctly after a couple years, but it probably wasn't taken care of very well.

General Comments:

It has very good performance when considering the size of the engine and the weight of the truck. Could have more power, but definitely a lot more than I expected from a small v6.

Gets pretty good fuel mileage, about 20-23 mpg. Not outstanding, but good for a truck.

Pulls very good. I have.373 gears and it takes hills no problem loaded or unloaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

2000 Ford Ranger 4x4, XLT 4.0

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A well rounded economical truck

Faults:

Thus far, I haven't had any major problems with my Ranger. I did purchase the vehicle wrecked, so any complications I had stemmed from that.

The ABS light was on, I simply reconnected sliced wires and the problem was solved.

General Comments:

I am 21, and have owned 8 different Rangers since I was able to drive at 16. Everything from a 1985 4x4, with no radio, no power steering, or even a vinyl floor mat, from the factory; to a 1996 Ranger STX extended cab that was practically a Cadillac in terms of comfort and interior features. The 2000 Ranger I have now is by far the best performing, being a standard cab with a step-side (fiberglass) bed. I enjoy blasting through the gears every day on my way to work, and still get an honest 20 miles to the gallon. I don't know how some of you can claim 12-15 mpg.,but I suggest you change your driving style or have the tuning of the engine checked!

The only flaws I see in this truck are the seats. The 60-40 split bench seat makes for a sore bottom on extended trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

7th Sep 2005, 12:27

I have to disagree with the gas mileage claimed above. I don't have a heavy foot and it doesn't need a tune up its had poor gas mileage since I got it. I'm very disappointed in My Ranger and will NEVER own another one again.

8th Sep 2005, 23:39

My 2000 Ranger 4x4 has developed a small oil leak. I thought it might be a lose oil filter, as I just had an oil change. So I took it back to the shop and ask them to have a look. They said it appeared to be coming from the rear oil seal, but put dye into the oil and ask me to bring it back the next day so they could check it with the ultraviolet light. I did and they said it was the oil pan gasket. How much to repair, I asked. $550 for an oil pan gasket replacement, and I nearly dropped my teeth. Was told they had to drop the transmission to get the pan below the breather tube or some such thing in order to insert a new gasket. Isn't there a simpler less expensive way?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews