1998 Ford Windstar Reviews from North America - Page 12 of 27

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable vehicle

Faults:

Camshaft position sensor failed at 79000 miles. Cost ~$35 for replacement.

Intake manifold runner vacuum actuator failed at 80000 miles. Cost ~$125 for replacement.

General Comments:

The list above is a complete list of all costs associated with this vehicle apart from tires, battery and oil changes.

As the current owner and maintainer of 8 vehicles from Ford, GM, Toyota and Subaru, I think this vehicle compares favorably to any of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

My Ford Van is a pile of JUNK

Faults:

Fuel pump. 3 of them.

2 window motors.

3 lock motors.

1 transmission.

1 new front end- steering stuff.

New driver side window bracket.

New alternator.

1 head gasket.

General Comments:

This van was in the shop after about one month because the fuel pump went out. A few months later another fuel pump went out. Finally, I put in the fuel pump from NAPA in myself and it has been fine.

During the warranty the van had been in the shop 6 times. After the warranty expired I have put about $6000 into it. A transmission, head gasket, front end and other minor repairs.

This van was cheaper than the other makes available. But the repairs are a killer. This is a cheap poorly engineered van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very poor quality control

Faults:

Transmission self destructed at 28,000 miles. It was replaced under warranty.

Door switches have been intermittent since 50,000 miles, with bells sounding constantly.

Front Struts have been replaced along with tie rod ends.

Brake cylinders, rotors, and rotors have been replaced.

Serpentine Belt and idler pulley have been replaced. Pulley actually froze up at 46,000 miles.

Brake fluid has continued to leak from wheel cylinders. After they were replaced, they began to leak again.

Power Door locks sound like they are going to come apart when engaged (rattling).

General Comments:

The ride is good and the van is very comfortable for passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar 3.0

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance60128 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

This is the BEST vehicle I have ever purchased!!!

Faults:

I recently traded in my Honda CR-V for a used 1998 Ford Windstar. I sure do miss my Honda, but I have to say, all my woes for my Honda go away once I sit myself in my Windstar and start it up.

I've only had the Windstar for a few days and I'm more than 100% satisfied so far, even after reading the many bad reviews from others who have previously owned one.

I'd have to say that the only complaint I have about the windstar is that it uses more gas than my Honda. But of course, keep in mind, my Honda was only a 4 cylinder and a Honda. One reason I've always loved Hondas was for how easy they are on gas. However, all the many other wonderful aspects of the Windstar more than outweigh that one small factor!!!

General Comments:

My Ford Windstar is perfect for me. My fiance and I are planning to start a family and I think this may be just the vehicle we needed for space and dependability so far.

I'm a very short person and I love how the controls of everything is very easy for me to reach while in the driver's seat.

Speaking of seats. My goodness the comfort of this minivan!! Very roomy and comfortable seats. Makes driving it a pure pleasure.

I live in south Texas were 75% of the time the weather is usually miserably warm and humid. The air conditioner has never failed me. That's a BIG plus for here.

The handling of the Ford Windstar is nothing like I thought driving a minivan would be like. The only problem I have with my minivan is that it feels so good driving it... sometimes I have to keep an eye on the speedometer to make sure I'm not going to end up gettin pulled over and getting a ticket!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

1st May 2005, 04:46

Owning the vehicle for just 128 miles is perhaps a little premature to be declaring 'the air conditioner has never failed me'. A follow up to this review after 10,000 or more miles would be great.

1st May 2005, 15:06

I live on a small island in south Texas...5 miles long by 3 miles wide. Therefore...128 miles...isn't a fair judgment call by you to say how long I've actually owned the vehicle. You must be a dissatisfied owner or previous owner of one. I've found with many vehicles... if ya just give them a little tender loving care... they give you more in return!!! And sure...I'd be MORE than happy to post again after having the vehicle for 10,000 miles!!!!

2nd May 2005, 15:52

We have a '98 Windstar with 3.0 motor. Has 72k miles now, had 39k at purchase 2-3 years ago. It's been a reliable van except for tie rods (expect to replace as Ford made them non-greasable), brakes, and a clunk in th front end we haven't had looked at yet. The 3.0 V6 will make lifter noise on cold mornings if you don't keep the oil changed on time. Two minor complaints are the flimsy cupholders and front seat armrests.

1st Nov 2005, 19:42

Well...here I am at almost 90,000 miles with my Windstar and there was someone who wanted me to post again after having the van for 10,000 miles. Anyway... I have had one problem... I had to replace my tires due to picking up a nail at the construction site at work. I recently used the van to evacuate from hurricane Rita and I couldn't have had a better evacuation trip. Anyway... sorry to hear that not as many people have had the experience that I have. I know I take very good care of my Ford Windstar and it's paying off!

26th Nov 2008, 10:54

I wonder if the Windstar has held up 3 years later?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 109 reviews