1994 Geo Metro Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 15

1994 Geo Metro 4-door 1.0 Liter

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Can't beat it!

Faults:

Snapped timing belt-replaced.

Replaced rear wheel bearing twice

Replaced front half-axels

Replaced front brake rotors

Replaced head gasket

Replaced heater core.

General Comments:

It is a low performance car, but I don't drive it on a race track. I drive 50 miles each way to work and average about 45 miles/gallon. I'm an aggressive driver and have no mercy on the engine or chasis. The only time it's left me "high and dry" was when I "revved 'er to the moon" and snapped the timing belt... this was at 150,000 miles. The cool thing is I didn't destroy the valves or head. I simply installed a new timing belt and I was back in business; a 1 hour job. The other major problem was caused by a leaky heater core. The motor overheated and I blew the head gasket. I removed the head and, to my surprise, the valve seats were not cracked. I Installed a new gasket without resurfacing the head; a 4.5 hour job. The engine on these cars is bullet proof. I run it hard, I mean hard, and it doesn't smoke or lose oil between the 5000 mile interval oil changes. I do, however, wear out chasis and drive parts (Tires, brakes, wheel bearing), but I can accept that. I bought the thing for $1,500. I am money ahead on the little death-trap. I read on the internet somewhere, the reason GM stopped making these things is because they made them to efficient, there was no profit to them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

23rd Jun 2006, 17:30

Let me see if I understand this: they made them too efficient so there was no profit in them? And this made sense to you?

28th Jul 2006, 12:02

Yeah, by no profit he meant that Metros don't break too often= no profit from selling parts. Got it?

1994 Geo Metro XFI 1.0L

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance374486 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

374K miles and 50+mpg - You Want More?

Faults:

Only one major item has failed: the water pump. And that was at the 220k mark. Other than that, only normal wear items: brakes, hoses, belts, tires, etc.

General Comments:

I bought my ‘94 Metro XFI new in August ’94. I was driving 75 miles each way to work and needed an economy car. I still use it every day to drive to work. It has 374,000 miles on it, and has started EVERY time I have turned the key. It still gets 52mpg and doesn't smoke or leak oil. It got 62 mpg when I first got it. What a perfect commuter car. The most major problem I have had was a blown water pump. $200 later I was back on the road. All other items have been normal wear-and-tear: tires (every 50k or so), brakes (every 90k or so), brake rotors (replaced at 175k and 310k), belts (every 100k), clutch (150k and 290k), distributor & wires (150k and 290k). I drove it back and forth from Philadelphia to Miami, FL twice a month for 2 years. It would make the 1310 mile trip on 2 stops for gas, and still have half a tank left over. And that is with a 10-gallon tank! It has been the perfect little machine. If I tried to sell it, I wouldn't get a dime for it. But why sell? The paint is still excellent. No dings, dents, or accidents. The driver's seat has a seat cover. I busted through the original cloth 150k miles ago. And there are mats on the floor, since the original carpet was pretty worn. But other than that, the interior is still looking good. I upgraded the radio, only because I wanted a CD player. I may get laughed at, but I paid $5600 for the car in 1994 ($4000 of that was a Caddy I traded in), and I get over 50 mpg and no mechanic bills. What more can you ask of any car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

5th May 2006, 14:01

Damn. I knew the Metros were tough little cars (Suzuki), but 374,000 miles? Well, I guess if you're driving 75 miles a day to work and back...that'll do it.

17th Jul 2006, 08:51

Hello.

I personally know a preacher who has a 1994 Geo (bought it new.) He still drives the car, and it has 532,000 miles on the odometer. I have seen the car and it still is in great shape. The air conditioner compressor is out, but everything else is running great. The valve cover has never been taken off. Unbelievable!!! He just keeps the oil changed and tires rotated and just scoots right around wherever he wants to go.

Hard to believe??? E-mail me and I will put you in touch with him. He is in a revival meeting at my church this week in Greenville, SC.

This is an amazing story. My e-mail address is...

H.stephens@tbcg.org.

Thank you.

HB Stephens.

19th Aug 2006, 16:32

I just bought a 1994 Geo Metro on ebay. It has 148k on it. I only paid $515. I hope I have the same luck! I put over 100 miles a day, driving between Trenton and Philly. Please email me more stories. It sounds like I made a good acquisition! Thanks, KevinKelleher@comcast.net.

25th May 2009, 23:08

Let us know how you're progressing. I would love to find out about your travels and related Metro milestones.

Feel free to email me at carselect@gmail.com.

13th Apr 2010, 20:47

1994 Geo Metro Hatchback with 1.0 litre engine. I bought this car 3 years ago for 1200 bucks. It had 186,000 miles on it and I have it up to 210,600 today. This car is "very" dependable. It starts the first try, everytime. I deliver newspapers with it and a 2000 Chevy Metro. I rotate the cars for longer life. Metro's are good automobiles and I don't know why they get a bad rap. Maybe the oil companies let one get away, because my Geo gets 43 mpg and that's stop and go. Big Texas oil doesn't want you and me to own cars that get 55 mpg, that's why they crushed the Electric cars. The 94 Geo Metro is a great little car that is way under rated.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews