1994 Geo Metro Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 15

1994 Geo Metro

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

It is one of the greatest, funnest, and most reliable for the money cars that is easily found!

Faults:

Hurricane Wilma has taken out some of the electrical system, but my car was the only one left behind in Key West that started right away after the flooding of about 3" above the driver and passenger seat.

General Comments:

I have owned this car after someone gave it to me for a great deal in Hawaii, on the island of Oahu for an island car. I have replaced the hood, which the inside just popped loose on the highway, replaced the tires, and standard maintenance. Until the Hurricane last year, this car had little to no problems. The inside door handle did break, but it is a strong runner. I ran it from Long Beach, CA to Indiana to visit family upon departure of the Navy, and then from Indiana to Key West Florida a month later. It is a fun car, and although small, and blows all over the freeway, has some get up and go for a three cylinder. I would get another one, definitely, I am trying to fix the electrical problem from the seawater last Hurricane.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

2nd Apr 2006, 21:45

What a shame they do not produce this car any more. It is what we need, because gasoline is very expensive now.

8th May 2006, 08:56

Too bad that our car manufacturers are not making inexpensive cars like the metro with 50mpg anymore. It seems they have put more emphasis on making SUV's more efficient and subcompacts (which should be the commuters choice) have fallen to the wayside. Just check your favorite manufacturer's website to see what the best mpg they have in any non-hybrid vehicle (you won't find much over 40). It seems our technology should be up to at least 70mpg by now.

1994 Geo Metro

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance261000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Suzuki should design all Chevrolet motors

Faults:

I replaced the fuel pump twice in this car. The procedure is easy but the part is located in the tank so precautions were necessary.

General Comments:

I have owned two Geo Metros. The first was a 93 model that I had bought new. It was a maintenance free car and lasted to 290000 miles. At that time the timing belt broke. The timing belt had been replaced every 80k prior. The metro I am driving now is a 94 model with 261000 miles on it. This one still runs great. Metros are great so long as you can avoid crashes with all the big vehicles on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2006

1994 Geo Metro Hatchback[2 door] 1.0

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired129 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

If a car is measured by how well it does what it was suppose to do then this is a great car

Faults:

A timing belt broke at 113000.

Replaced fuel pump at 120000.

General Comments:

I find it comfortable enough to make long trips (i.e.I've driven it to Dallas, TX twice.That's a 700 miles trip from here)

I think the economy is without peer for any car that can be bought in the USA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

1994 Geo Metro 1 liter

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

A great low cost car.

Faults:

Starter and Alternator failed.

Have replaced the timing belt twice. This is a fairly costly job.

The water pump broke and the labor to replace it was high. Whenever you replace the timing belt also have the water pump replaced as there will be almost no labor charge to install the water pump as the parts are close together.

Trim and body parts fall off almost daily.

General Comments:

This is a fun car to drive. Since gas prices have hit $3 per gallon people have stopped laughing at me. Good handling and it always goes in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

1994 Geo Metro 1 liter

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

The best mileage car built in the last 15 years, including hybrids

Faults:

Clutch has gone out twice. The timing belt broke once. Both manual windows are off the track, seems to be a factory defect, as the welds break at the same place for all cars with this problem. Both door handles are broken. Basically, all interior parts are poorly built. Fortunately, the drive-train is very reliable.

General Comments:

This 1994 Metro is overall a great car. It runs very well, gets extremely good mileage, around 45 MPG at highway speeds over 70 MPH. It is surprisingly roomy inside, with plenty of room for 3 or 4 people (hatchback model).

This car could get 50 MPG if driven normally at around 60 MPH, but I like to drive it hard with full throttle, so I can't get over 45 MPG. The car has plenty of power to go up hills, and pulls smoothly throughout the power range. It cruises at 75 all day long, but is smoother at 70 MPH. This car is extremely light, with small wheels, that really help with the overall mileage. This car will beat any hybrid made by Honda or Toyota any day of the week, as those hybrids must weigh 500 lbs more than the GEO, with batteries and larger tires and extra electronics to make it go. The laws of physics and thermal dynamics can't be broken, so lighter is always better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

4th Sep 2005, 14:36

Yes, I agree. Not for those who like to drive tanks that get 8 Miles to the gallon like most SUV's and Humvees and don't know how to drive. This car is for those who know how to drive and work on cars and have fun when they drive. Not for the soccer mom or computer nerds who feel the need to shield themselves from the world while they drive a block or two to work daily. lol I also have an 89 Ford Festiva which is like 45mpg and is even more fun and faster yet. lol How did we ever get to be over 40 years of age without all these safety features our government places on us I will never know. Too many people driving tanks on the roads nowadays and deserve to pay through the nose for fuel. Bet they ain't gonna be sticking their noses at those in these cars now.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 54 reviews