1995 Geo Prizm Reviews from North America - Page 10 of 10

1995 Geo Prizm Sedan 1.8L

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired306 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

A wonderful, great performing, safe, great looking car!!!

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with mine is the starter. I replaced it with a rebuilt one and it has been great every since. I love my car! I feel like those guys I went to high school with that were in love with their cars. I would not trade anything for it.

I have driven this car many, many miles in a short period of time and she is still wonderful. Never lets me down.

General Comments:

Anyone who is in the market for a new car for a reasonable price, this is the car to get!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

1995 Geo Prizm 1.6L

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A reliable car that will pay for itself in gas

Faults:

Nothing that wasn't my fault.

General Comments:

This car has amazing performance for its engine size, and the gas mileage is high.

It corners very well and feels sporty although the manual transmission helps a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

1995 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2600 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

Nothing except the altenator, but that seems to be a big problem with these cars.

General Comments:

I love the economy and the style that this car offers and the ride is excellent - so smooth you would think you were driving a much more expensive car.

A lot of get up and go, when you press the gas you get results not the usual loud noise and then nothing, the Prizm really kicks in and gets on up there in speed, you can cruise on the interstate going 75-85mph in complete silence, the engine is so refined and quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

1995 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance65885 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Smooth ride

Faults:

A single fuse blew.

General Comments:

I think that this is my favorite car that I have ever owned. I've never seen a small car like this, it has leather seats, power sunroof and a CD player w/cassette.

This car rides so smooth it's unreal, when I bought it I was thinkng it would be like my 1991 Prizm but no way, this thing takes it to a new level. It's even got rims with Geo in the center!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2000

1995 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Can't kill it!

Faults:

Passenger side CV joint went out.

General Comments:

This car has been through pure hell and back, both of my children have driven it roughly. It's been wrecked twice, it's been ran through bushes and ditches at speeds of 60+. And some how it keeps going and going. We figured this car would have been dead long ago, but no, it just keeps cranking everytime. All I've got to say, if all Geo cars are this way, Go Geo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

23rd Oct 2002, 08:34

I am trying to decide what type of car to buy for my first used car. My choices are between a 1992 Geo Tracker with 94,000mi or a 1995 Geo Prizm with 110,000mi. I live in Boston where the winters can be rainy and snowy so that needs to be taken into consideration. Since you have owned both, what would you suggest? Thanks for any help you could give me!

13th Feb 2004, 16:34

I would go with the geo prizm. I own a 95 geo prizm and I think its great in the snow. It's a good front wheel drive car and it is great to beat on.

27th Oct 2004, 22:50

I Agree. My first and second (Current at time of writing) were both 95 prizms great buys. Never did any maintence on my first one, but had to junk it cause I didn't replace the tires and totaled it. second one seems good too still getting to know it though.

18th May 2005, 20:33

I also have a GEO Prizm. I commute 60 miles a day (For the past 10 years). Through the years my wife has driven a Saturn (dead), Nissan 240 (LEMON), a Ford (sold it, too many repairs), and currently owns a Jetta (that's been in the shop 4 times in the past 3 yrs).

The only thing I have done to the GEO is change the alternator and battery and it's never been in the shop.

The joke at home is that I will die before the car. :)

29th Oct 2007, 18:35

It is very good to hear all of these great comments about Geo Prizms.

After extensive research on what the best possible cheap used car to buy would be, I went for a 1995 Geo Prizm with 135,000 miles.

I have had it less than one week, but so far I am absolutely loving how the car handles. Easy acceleration, easy parking, smooth riding all in a car with this many miles and twelve years old!

Of course, the fanatical maintenance of the previous owner no doubt has helped. He was obviously sorry to see it go. I can only hope I have the sort of luck you all seem to have had with your Geo Prizms.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 40 reviews