1995 Geo Prizm Lsi 1.8 Litre


The Geo Prizm is a very solid commuter car


We had to replace the starter at 60,000 miles.

The fuel pump blew at 80,000 miles.

The fan switch tends to break off if not turned carefully.

General Comments:

This little car has just been awesome. Very impressive MPG, good acceleration and breaking, the motor has always ran good and strong. We are very pleased with this vehicle for the price.

On another note, the Prizm is practically invincible. This car has been ran through potholes and over speed bumps at speeds exceeding 40 mph. It has been in a rear-end collision (on the receiving end), and backed in to a wall; still runs like new.

This is a great pick for a first car or anyone needing reliable transportation. Don't believe me? See what consumer reports has to say.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

9th Jan 2005, 12:44

Correction: Speed Bump, not speed bumps. Accidently ran over one that I didn't see one night.

Do you really think I drove the vehicle like that on purpose?

We've had the vehicle checked out since then, no damage.

Sorry for the confusion.

1995 Geo Prizm 1.6


Best value on the market


Clutch slave went out at about 230,000 miles.

Have another clutch problem, but I drive in stop and go traffic nearly every day and haul a jet ski at least twice a week in summer. Can't believe hasn't gone out sooner.

General Comments:

This car still feels like a new car.

Steering and suspension are nice and tight.

Motor is quiet and smooth.

My previous prism ran for 240,000 miles and blew a head gasket because I never changed the coolant.

Absolutely has to be the best car value on the market and it's so affordable. Just can't seem to get that across to my teenage kids.

I am hoping for 300,000 miles on this - maybe I should change the original spark plugs (they're still in it).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

22nd Dec 2004, 20:46

Well that's one thing I have been good about - frequent oil changes. changing the plugs tomorrow.

1995 Geo Prizm 1.6L 4 Cylinder


This is a wonderful car


My rear motor mount needed to be replaced at 70,000 miles

My clutch had to be replaced at 63,109 miles. (It was my fault)

The check engine light would come on from time to time.

The rear speakers blew at about 64,000 miles. (Again my fault)

It was totaled in an accident at 71,305 miles.

General Comments:

This car is extremely Quiet.

In a T-bone collision on the driver's side at 50 miles per hour, nobody was hurt.

During acceleration it felt like it had a 6 cylinder engine.

It was extremely fuel efficient, it got about 30 miles a gallon.

The factory sound system is very good.

Driver's seat is very comfortable.

When it was totaled the engine continued to run even though it had considerable damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

1995 Geo Prizm 1.5


Geo Prizm is extremely reliable


I had to replace the starter at 100,000 miles.

Had to replace water pump at 120,000 miles.

Replaced Passenger side axel at 150,000 miles.

Replaced Air Compressor at 155,000 miles.

Just replaced battery (it still had the original battery!) and alternator 160,000 miles.

Knobs for air conditioner broke off (this also happened in the first Geo I owned)

General Comments:

This is a very quiet running car.

Car gets good mileage.

Very low maintenance.

Car has a big trunk.

Has Driver side and passenger air bags.

This is my second Geo Prizm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

1995 Geo Prizm


Cheap ride


Replaced Battery.

Accelerator pedal sticks.

Oil is suddenly low on occasion for no apparent reason (can't find leak, doesn't seem to burn).

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable and cheap to operate. It could use power steering, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

1995 Geo Prizm


!!! I LOVE THIS CAR!!!seriously

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it, I didn't expect such small, convenience vehicle, its easy to operate, its economy.

I don't hear the engine when I'm inside a car driving 80 mph on the interstate wich is good I think. Its got 80.000 mileage so I can use this toy for like 5 years more without replacing anything.. Very very nice car I'm glad I bought it, and I suggest you to buy it as your first car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2004