2006 Hummer H3 Reviews from North America

2006 Hummer H3 3.7L

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.7L Manual
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Spendy

Faults:

Head needs to be replaced at 42,000 miles. GM will not cover any work. 100% leak down on cylinder #2, and all other cylinders have significant leaks. $2700 for everything to be done.

I have contacted a lawyer to start a class action. Everyone who wishes to be contacted, please post your contact information.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2014

2006 Hummer H3 Adventure Package 3.5 I5

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.5 I5 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4800 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

What a piece of GM garbage

Faults:

I would LOVE TO SUE GM FOR THIS.

The first thing that went on the truck was this 4x4 actuator or something. The 4x4 wouldn't engage; that was 700 bucks to fix. That was at like 5000 miles.

Then at 9,000 miles the engine light came on. Took it to the dealer; PO300 code. They said they could either fix what was wrong with the head, or put a new one on for 2,400 dollars. I told them I would much rather replace the whole head so that it wouldn't happen again. I told them I wanted the upgrade head I keep reading about. They said OK, went ahead and did it, and 14 months later, last week, the same code again.

Brought it in, and the first thing they told me was the warranty on the work and the head are no more, and that I would have to pay out of pocket again. Can you believe this s**t? I went off on him, he said he'd bend over backwards to try and get the head half price for us, but that that was all he could do. I told him this is the reason I paid the extra money for the whole new head, so this wouldn't happen again. The truck's been there for a week now, and still all he can say is the one of the valves is burnt, but we can't figure out why. BULLS**T.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2014

3rd Jan 2014, 11:53

It's possible that the 4x4 actuator was due to not engaging the 4x4 at the right time. I wouldn't flip that switch while you're rolling downhill, or going through a stream or partially submerged in off road terrain.

2006 Hummer H3

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

Amazing ride. Nothing like it

Faults:

Sunroof leaks.. Watch out for the drain holes.

Starts to rust around 40-50km (20k-30k miles).

General Comments:

Great car, fun ride. I love it. Handles like a dream.. King of the road.

And guess what.. Insurance is pretty good too! Buy a hummer.. you can't go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2010

3rd Aug 2010, 19:56

Hmmm, my "amazing" ride wouldn't be starting to rust at 20K miles. That would be my "I'm trading it in for something good" ride!

4th Aug 2010, 10:33

Rusting at 20,000 miles? Doesn't sound like an amazing ride to me.

2006 Hummer H3 Adventure 3.5

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

I think every buyer should be careful when buying an H3

Faults:

I am writing in review to the person whose head blew on their motor. Well mine just did too, only I am at 48000 miles, and yes you are correct, thank god its under warranty.

Since I have bought my truck, I have had multiple problems and may be seeking counsel under the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act. I too like the vehicle a lot, but consistent problems arise like the wipers not working when it snows too hard, console lights going out, banging under the left floor board, etc... So I just wanted to let you know you are not the only one.

No rust at all with mine, but it's not white and that color can pick up a lot more imperfections.

Good luck with everything, I think I will be trading mine in. I wanted to buy an H2 as well, but I think I will let some one else deal with the problems. I can't take the chance.

General Comments:

Nothing but problems for my 2006 H3!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2009

2006 Hummer H3

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21464 miles
Most recent distance22012 miles
Previous carJeep CJ5

Summary:

Up to now, this Hummer is a very good machine

Faults:

Nothing, I still have the CJ5 Jeep.

General Comments:

The Hummer H3 is a real off-road machine, and this is the main issue about this vehicle. Have you ever seen a tank winning a race? So there is no need to talk about acceleration here.

The Hummer H3 does great at everything it has been built for.

Mine has a manual transmission, and yes the towing capacities is 3500 pounds instead of 4500 for the automatic transmission, but there are reasons for that. First it is a clutch issue, because the truck will take whatever you are giving to it, compared to the automatic transmission that will take only what it can. Nothing can prevent the driver from shifting into 5th gear with a manual transmission, which is an overdrive, even if you are towing an heavy load, a thing that the automatic transmission won't do. So the hauling capacity is rated that way to protect you from exceeding the truck capacity.

Now let me tell you something, I'm pulling a 23 foot boat on a tandem trailer with my 2006 Hummer, which is equipped with a manual transmission. Of course there are brakes on the trailer, and I don't have any problem with it, but again you have to use your head, go easy on the throttle and do not try do break any speed records, and the truck is more than able to do that.

By the way, I've own 4x4s since 1976, and I still have my CJ5 Jeep, which is a 1974, and it is still in excellent shape. I also had a 1986 Chevy Blazer for over 13 years, and believe me, that truck was pulling a trailer almost every day, and it was still running great when I sold it, so my point is if you operate your truck properly with the right on time maintenance, it will keep up for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2008

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews