1998 Infiniti I30 Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

1998 Infiniti I30

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Nice, classy and smooth running car with a strong engine

Faults:

Airbag light blinking at 50,000 miles. I now have 79,000 miles.

General Comments:

I tried that reset process with the pushing the door button and key turning and badaping badabong...fixed. Thank you to all for providing the reset procedure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2009

1998 Infiniti I30 3.0 gasoline

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

Great but expensive to repair

Faults:

Air bag warning lights.

Belts.

General Comments:

Good dependable used car. Very nice for my daughter's first car.

Air bag warning lights are in my opinion a cash gold mine for dealers. Light began immediately after purchase. Dealer wants $600 to repair. Research showed air bags were OK, sensor needed resetting.

There are entire websites devoted to this factory defect, yet Nissan/Infiniti refuses to accept responsibility. Amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2009

1998 Infiniti I30

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carInfiniti acra

Summary:

Good

Faults:

My 1998 I30 air bag light came on at 13700.I tried the 17 of Feb door light advice and it work grate. It took a while, but don't give up it will work. So think you very much.

General Comments:

This car runs grate and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2007

1998 Infiniti I30

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

For the $$ just as good as Toyota and Honda, but a whole lot less

Faults:

It Seems that whenever a passenger reclines the seat the Airbag light starts flashing. Unless EVERY thing is cleared out from behind and underneath. With a 5 yr. old boy and 3 yr. old girl not always possible. Anyway, every penny counts in my family so luckily I found this reset info page. tried a few times with no success then after reading one of the more recent ones "Car OFF key in, open door, Turn to ON Immeadiately press the door switch Quickly 7 time wait 2-3 sec.s, Turn to lock, Close door, Turn to ON and light will go off after 7 sec.s

Starting is not needed."

6 days Ago while attempting to pass a car "Quickly" Check Eng. light comes on. Take it to my buddy's house later that night. Met him at work 25 miles away. Leave his work and on the way to his house 7 miles. s away I notice light is off and has not been back on after repeated attempts to try and repeat what made it come on in the 1st place. Infiniti & Nissan ROCK!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2007

1998 Infiniti I30 3.0 V6

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

A great buy for a 3 year old car

Faults:

Air bag light comes on - clock acts up.

General Comments:

Xlnt quality, engine was rated 1 of 10 best engines in 2000 Car & Driver mag. Fast, comfortable, safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

1998 Infiniti I30 3.0 liter gas

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Most trouble free, reliable car I have owned

Faults:

Front brakes replaced at 41,000 miles. Battery replaced after 5 years although not required.

General Comments:

Comfortable car with reasonable performance and good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

1998 Infiniti I30 Std 3.0 V6

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Solid and reliable

Faults:

CV going bad, "think" axles are going bad. That's it...

Don't like it requires premium fuel.

General Comments:

The 3.0 V6 was the king back in it's day, but it is slow compared to today's standards. BUT it is a rock solid engine and very quiet at that. Definitely a better buy than the Maxima.

There is a Maxima/I30 online community and there are many cars getting 150K-200K with no problems.

Overall a solid car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

1998 Infiniti I30

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Nice car if you can afford the maintenance

Faults:

At 75,000 miles the Air Bag light is blinking, dealers says drivers side air bag is shot, will cost $695.00 to replace.

Routers (spelling may be off) and calipers on the brakes needed repair and dealership said this is very common.

Radio volume control does not work well, when turned down it gets louder and when turned up it sometimes gets lower.

Trunk pops open at least once a week.. a lot of fun when I'm cruising on the express way.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable.

I love the look and it is fairly quick, though going above 80 miles per hour the steering wheel starts to shake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

1998 Infiniti I30 3.0 liter gasoline

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Decent car for the money

Faults:

The alternator shorted and started a fire. There was a recall on the alternator, but the dealer would not fix it like the recall claimed they would. However, they would gladly fix it for over $500 because of the costs associated in removing AC components to even get at the alternator. I ended up replacing it myself.

General Comments:

Compared to the Cadillac Seville I drive otherwise, this car should have more luxury features for the kind of car it is; a near-luxury car.

Road noise is very pronounced at speeds above 35 mph inside the car.

Engine is a beauty; so smooth. Surprising performance from an engine this size.

Seats seem very hard and and should be power operated on the passenger side in all directions as the driver's seat is.

No headlight auto turn off; if you leave the lights on, they won't turn off after a bit.

The automatic transmission seems to shift somewhat rough, especially when cold.

Great stereo!!! The 200 watt Bose speakers can really crank out some noise!!!

Handling is surprisingly nimble for a car of it's size.

Fit and finish is above even the Cadillac inside. Everything, like the turn signal stalk, snaps into place with a reassuring click.

Styling inside and out is rather bland. I wish it stood out more in a crowd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2005

16th Feb 2008, 18:35

Interesting. So a recall is something that happens and everything is at the DEALER's expense. Why would they charge you for a recalled defect? If there was a fire because of it, they should also repair the damage that was due to the DEFECT. I don't understand this part of your comment.

29th Feb 2008, 20:01

Sorry, my bad

The recall only applied to vehicles that are in a specific VIN number range. Apparently this car's VIN # was not in this range; in fact, it had been built a week or two after the cars that were affected by the recall... or so the dealer said. I didn't find this out until after I had the alternator replaced and after I had written this. Car now has 186K on it, but has tired a bit... not as snappy as it used to be ;)

18th Oct 2008, 22:28

I own an i30 and it is a very good car, comfortable and roomy, and great sound system. It is a very smooth and luxury ride for the price, and with the right tires it gives off barely any noise inside the car. Overall a very sweet ride!!

26th Jan 2009, 23:06

I used to have 98 Infiniti I30 with 200K miles. The car was GREAT. I loved it, but I got in accident and my car was totally lost. I never had problems with this car. I used to do an oil change every 2500 miles, and tune ups on the time! I miss my I30 :(

20th Aug 2010, 09:12

I am the 2nd owner of an Infiniti 1998 I30t with 142,000 miles. I have put on 100,000. Running synthetic oil, regular flushes and Bg44K injector service. Only problem has been a driver front side axle replacement ($245 with my mechanic). I love this car, drives like dream, and has a comfortable interior.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews