2008 Jeep Wrangler Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 3

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 3.8 gas

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Just what I need as a daily driver

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After it rains, the water channels directly into the seating area on both sides.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2009

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 3.8L

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

A great, fun, well-built car; I look forward every morning to getting in it

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is great: solidly built, rides very well and quiet for a large 4x4 SUV with high off-road capability, very fun car with removable roof and doors, high clearance, great electronics (GPS, Sirius radio, 20gb hard-drive, USB, etc.), lots of interior room, and an excellent value (less than $30,000).

I've had it only two months, but been on a long trip and offroad, and there have been absolutely no problems.

Everyone wants to drive it or at least ride in it.

Gas mileage is so-so, but it was what I expected and no worse than my previous sedan, but less expensive because it uses regular gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

17th Jan 2009, 15:23

What mileage are you getting? My Unlimited Rubicon gets 15-17 average depending on season and for longer trips gets 20-22mpg on 55mph highways. If you want to go faster than 60 mph, mileage drops precipitously. I drove across North Dakota 75 mph with a 40mph headwind and got 12mpg (I also had on the soft top which doesn't help either). But that was worst-case. I love my Rubi. It's an 07 in Rescue Green. What color is yours? I've lifted it 2.5" but am still wearing out the original rubber. My next tires will be at least 33". Painful, though, because the stock tires can be had online from various sources for as little as $92.00. Most others will run close to twice that. Are you planning any mods? By the way, be sure to rotate your tires often (like every 4000-6000 miles). Mud tires like these are notorious for becoming brutally crooked.

Off road, the Rubicon is a beast. Its stability is impressive and its additional length helps it going both up and down hills. I've had it on some mild trails but am looking forward to some more technical stuff in Colorado.

Also remember to wave. It's a Jeep thing. :)

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It's a Jeep - and I love it!

Faults:

I had a strange sound at low RPMs on this car (it's a manual). After three trips to prove the sound existed, the dealer finally heard it and believed me. From there, it took four more trips before they finally figured out the problem and had to rebuild the transmission.

Other than that, I'm very happy with the vehicle.

General Comments:

I love it - just what I expected.

When buying, I was concerned about the Freedom top. After having the vehicle 11 months, I have had no leaks and a very happy with how the Freedom top quiets road noise.

The only thing I'd do different is that I wouldn't buy the dual top group - and just get the hard top. It takes two minutes to pull the driver/passenger Freedom tops off and store them in the back. Much easier/quieter than dealing with the soft top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

8th Jan 2009, 09:18

Hey, just interested what the low RPM sound was like; was it a griding sound or more of a bearing rattle? I've just bought a new Wrangler myself, and while there's no noise yet, I've heard the transmission can play up in the early mileage days, particularly if 4WD was used before the 1st 1000km (600ml) running in period.

30th Jun 2009, 13:30

LOL! Needed a transmission rebuild in less than 10,000 miles!? Yep sounds like typical Chrysler quality at it's best!

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 3.8 Gas

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Gas Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37 kilometres
Most recent distance41500 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great ride if you want a JEEP!

Faults:

I bought a Sahara with a MY GIG system. Although I really enjoy the benefits of the MY GIG, it's far from reliable. Randomly it shuts off, doesn't start up or decides it's broken and fixes itself. (it actually says as much...) Fortunately it's only the radio portion of my Jeep.

As for the Jeep, my only issue has been water in the differentials. Front and rear, and I only had 30000kms on the car. I have done some offroading, but have never into any ponds, lakes or rivers. I had to pay a $350+ premium to flush the diff's. Yay! The dealer said I shouldn't go in water... I DIDN'T!!! Besides, this Jeep is rated for water forging at a far greater depth than I'll ever go. I contacted Chrysler Canada and they said tough poop.

The diff vent tubes are located in the wheel well (R), and in the engine area (F). Neither are well protected from water. If you hit a large enough puddle on the highway during a down pour, you could get the tubes, and diffs, wet. (So say 2 dealers...)

General Comments:

I have put 41500 kms on this car in 10 months. I still love it. My wife and I drove across Canada and toured 12000 kms in 3 weeks with no complaints. Comfort is good. Spacious interior. GPS is grrrreat! Wind noise is minimal. No leaks! (knock on wood) The soft top is great, once you get it right. I've seen sooo many people driving with it folded sooo many different ways. My advice if you need it... 5 FOLDS for the sunroof, 5!!! So far so good.

As for safety... compared to any of my last rides, including my Cherokee, this is by far the safest thing I've driven. The 'ESP' is awesome. You have to try really hard to get this Jeep to slip and slide. Add that feature to the 4wd and you're laughing when the snow flies.

Doors on or off, roof on or off, 4wd on or off, I love my Jeep! I hope I can afford to pay off the lease...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2008

20th May 2009, 21:32

Update on my Jeep... All is still good. I'm at 55000 kms and nothing has changed or surprised me at all. No leaks (roof or otherwise), no repairs, nothing other than the My Gig to complain about. The other day it decided to delete all of my music... all by itself and all 8 gigs! It also likes to freeze a lot and I've had a few updates to help it out but no luck yet. Must be a "PC" and not a Mac :) Lovin' the warm weather. No doors as I write!!! Yay summer.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews