2008 Jeep Wrangler Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door 3.8L

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88 miles
Most recent distance1014 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

This is one great fun vehicle to own!

Faults:

The speakers were popping on the premium Infinity 368 watt sound system (speakers sounded like they were blown). The Jeep dealer said there was a Technical Service Bulletin on it and that they had to flash the amplifier with an update. I believe this was to lower the output a little so the speakers wouldn't pop. This seemed like it worked, but some of the speakers pop at times, but not as bad as before. Before there was an update, I had the dealer try installing the 368 watt amplifier from the 2007 models (Chrysler's idea). Although it fixed the popping sound the stereo was not the same. The new amplifier is a 368 watt high power amp (RCY). It didn't have that rich sound and was sort of flat. When the update came they re-installed the old amplifier and did the update. Has anyone else had this problem?

General Comments:

This is a great riding and good looking Jeep.

The road noise is minimal and the interior treatments are fantastic.

The Infinity sound system is awesome. I do hope they get a better fix on the speaker issues. I believe that the standard Sahara AM/FM/CD/Mp3 radio can't mesh with the amplifier and that an upgraded radio should be installed in it's place. I haven't heard of anyone having speaker problems with the MyGig Multimedia Infotainment System.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2008

15th Dec 2008, 13:59

I am having the same problem. I've taken it in twice to the jeep dealership and they keep installing "software". We will see if it works this time.

30th Apr 2009, 07:42

I have the same thing,

However I drive a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. On songs with a heavy bass, or just some other random ones, my speakers will "pop". It is extremely annoying.

13th May 2009, 12:56

All I have the same issue with my 2008 Sahara Unlimited with My Gig system. I've changed out the all speakers with the exception of the sub and still the same problem. Would an after market amp fix the problem?

4th Sep 2010, 06:00

My amp caught fire after popping the other day.

2008 Jeep Wrangler X V6

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance1088 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Great vehicle this one is what I expect in a Wrangler

Faults:

I do not anticipate much. It does come with a life time limited drive train warranty. Jeep does a good job with this. Had to ask for the floor mats. Acceleration is typical Wrangler, steady and responsive, but not a Corvette.

General Comments:

2008 Wrangler has plenty of power with the v6. Straight six 4.0 in earlier models does have more off the line torque. But each is a good motor overall.

Automatic transmission is solid and responsive. Shifts very smoothly. Dashboard indicates shift position with minimal searching for drive and reverse position. Good spatial qualities.

Interior is easy to clean. I have the black and grey interior. It is that new material that feels durable. A quality lay out for this year.

The emergency brake is solid. The lever has been located on the drivers side in the center console. Very accesible and when engaged it feels sure in your hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2008

25th Mar 2009, 10:25

I've had a 2008 Wrangler X, 2 door soft top for nearly a year. I'm 63 and love to drive it. It has been a fun way to any point of interest desired, reasonable or otherwise. The only minor complaint is that rainwater runs off the top's gutter and drips into the vehicle when getting in or out.

My soft top doesn't leak because I learned the hard way, how to operate it. It took about 3 times to really figure out how it goes together. The instructions suck!

As far as the back seat goes, I took it out to get more room. No little kids, so no need. The front seats no longer tip forward to allow easier access to the back. Cost savings??

Anyway, if you're going to complain about the Wrangler, then you weren't meant to drive one. Like the line says: "It's a Jeep thing, you wouldn't understand".

7th Apr 2009, 17:56

Yes we found all that out in the comment posted on the 2007 Sahara.

Can you spare us the "It's a Jeep thing"?

I'm a long time Jeep owner, but the advertising slogan is just annoying.

3rd Jun 2010, 21:43

Just because someone else posted about an earlier model of this jeep, does not revoke this person the right to post about their 2008 model. Your response helps no one whatsoever.

I applaud him for informing us of his experiences with his 2008 Wrangler.

4th Jun 2010, 22:24

I believe the point being made was that the exact same comment was posted as a comment on another Jeep review.

22nd Oct 2010, 07:32

Wow, people need to relax.

Not many changes (if any at all) between the 2007 and 2008 Wranglers, so you may see many duplicate comments.

Oh well, read it, if it's not helpful, move on without commenting.

16th Dec 2010, 18:50

Someone mentioned the unfortunate tilt feature on the seats in regards to entering the rear on a 2-door. Previously, the seat did this acrobatic movement and you could get back there with ease. The JK, all you can do is slide the seat forward and push the seatback towards the dash. It's a joke, frankly. However, this was a necessary evil. The JK seat now has a sensor to automatically disable the passenger front airbag in the seat bottom.. As well as optionally being equipped with side airbags. The wiring for these sensors would be exposed to scurrying feet if the seat were tilted like on a TJ, and it would have excessive slack when in the seating position. So, as a safety feature in order to maintain the other safety features, that's why they no longer move that way.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews