1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 5

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 3.0 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

An excellent auto

Faults:

Nothing, an excellent auto, this one is a 10.

General Comments:

I purchased the car with all the maint. records since new. car has no rust, the A/C has been converted to R134A. I get approx. 23 MPG to and from work, about 6 stops each way. Haven't had it on the road yet.

I looked for 1-1/2 yrs. before finding this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2008

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 240D Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

The key to a long life is moderation

Faults:

I have not experienced any problems with this fine piece of equipment. Does me right everyday.

General Comments:

I found an amazing deal on the car from the original owner. It had a smoking problem upon startup and she seemed to think that is was a costly fix. I have yet to see a 240D that doesn't blow a little smoke so I went for it. Turned out to be a smart move. I have put 10,000 miles on the car with no problems. I'm currently planning to take the car on a 9,000 mile trip around Canada and the United States. Wish me luck!

If you don't mind excessive consumption of oil (1 quart per 100mi) and 65 horse power then this car is for you.

9000mi/100=90 quarts!

The beast also loves bio diesel. I Regularly run b100 in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

24th Nov 2005, 07:04

With that sort of oil consumption I would say you have a problem, perhaps with the valve stem seals.

23rd Aug 2008, 16:27

Sounds like the engine is a bit of a blowing duck, run it till it loses compression then rebuild.

30th Oct 2008, 16:58

The engine is worn, but don't cry, it will probably last another 50,000 miles. Just treat it good and use 20/50 oil, and you will be OK. Rebuild the engine and the car will last forever!

26th Sep 2010, 21:01

1 Qt per 100 miles? Wow, there is certainly a problem.

This is 2010 so hopefully you have figured out the consumption issue...

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D TurboDiesel 5 cylinder turbo diesel

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired302000 miles
Most recent distance308000 miles
Previous car81 volvo,73 buick 240DL, GS455

Summary:

I don't drive my other two cars anymore!

Faults:

When I got the car it had blow by and oil leaks. Not much power. It needed tires. It would keep stalling. The tachometer didn't work. The odometer worked, but not the speedometer. It would shake on the highway. The transmission would slip when shifting. They were asking $2000 and I used the problems to get the price of the car down to $1200.

General Comments:

I changed the fuel filter and increased the engine idle speed (no more stalling).I put a high performance air intake on and made a new oil vapor separator (no more oil leaks and blow by acceptable). After adding some engine restore to the oil the blowby is almost gone, fuel economy has gone from 22 miles to the gallon to 27 miles to the gallon and the car can do over 100 mph with only 1/3 the gas pedal. I fixed the tachometer (loose wire at tach drive). I took apart the speedometer and cleaned it (now works). I adjusted the transmission modulator and changed the fluid (now only slips When cold, no need to worry, no metal was in the pan). New tires=no more shake on the highway. The body of the car is rust free! It has the power of a small 8cyl with the economy of large 4cyl. Easy to work on if you know how. Normal wear and tear parts are cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

26th Jun 2005, 03:28

I just inherited a 1982 300D turbo. I don't know much about diesel. I do know gas engines. I am trying to get the car back to its capability. How did you adjust the modulate valve on the tranny? How did you make a new oil vapor separator? What do you mean by high performance air intake?

28th Apr 2006, 07:07

I too would like to know what you mean by "made my own oil vapor separator". I am having blow by as well. I'll try the engine restore. What type did you use?

Thanks.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews