1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews from North America - Page 5 of 5

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired310000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo Volvo

Faults:

The body is in excellent condition for the year. This car cleans up very nicely, and the vinyl seats are great. Muddy dog prints come out with a quick wipe-down.

My Brother had this car before me. He replaced the rotors (twice, the first set were faulty), did the timing chain and adjusted the valves.

Vacuum activated door lock rubber have a tendency to crack and fail, replaced both rears.

Drivers' side window goes off track if shut firmly with window roll.

Valves adjusted at 290,000.

Drivers' seat torn down center.

Replaced Starter and alternator within the last year.

The control arms and ball joints need replacing on both sides.

The air conditioning needs repair and has not worked since I have owned the car.

Sunroof stopped working 1 year ago.

The suspension is now starting to show a little extra body roll.

Driveaxles or differential starting to 'knock' on corners - not sure which.

Need to replace the fuel filters as fuel delivery is clearly impaired.

Overall, a really lovely car, extremely functional, spacious and good reliability for the mileage, as I have taken it on several long road trips with fairly little grief.

General Comments:

This car is great, but I have hit the juncture where I either need to start paying it some serious attention or let her go to a person who has more time to care for it.

4 Wheel independant suspension on a car this big makes for a very surefooted ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

10th Jun 2007, 21:43

Hi, do you still have the 240D?

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Built like a tank

Faults:

The ball joints needed to be replaced when I first bought this car, needed an alignment, and now the steering belt needs tightening.

General Comments:

This car is a very classy, impressive car. Although my 300D is as slow as a lawnmower, it gets unbelievable gas mileage and is more reliable than any of my previous cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D T 3.0 5 cylinder turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 5 cylinder turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Much better and roomier than the newer models

Faults:

I bought the car with the transmission out.

Took it to a MB shop, was quoted $1700 to rebuild it. They replaced it with a factory unit for $2400. Needless to say I was angry. Replaced the plastic fuel filter with a Racor fuel-water separator (highly recommended).

Use Mobil 15-50 synthetic oil exclusively. Engine leaks like a sieve, but the level hardly goes down (1 qt./month) so I live with it.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car compared to the Sebring Convertible I just got rid of, but not as comfortable as my 325I Convertible.

Also the handling is no-where near as good as the Bimmer, but rides better and stops on a dime. Kind of ugly, but it is so dependable that I can't bear to part with it. 30MPG on the road, as long as kept below 70 MPH, otherwise 25.

Wish the seats have more support; my wife doesn't think the car is very comfortable..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 2.4 liter turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 miles
Most recent distance288000 miles

Summary:

Going into a turn? Oh yeah, just step on it

Faults:

The turbocharger went out 6 months ago.

Air conditioning system is out.

The radio has bad random reception.

General Comments:

Even with the turbocharger out this car is the torquo-matic.

What the hell else has a better torque to weight ratio than this tank, a Porsche?

Just give this thing some diesel around turns and man it grips. It's great for safely driving like a maniac on back roads. The beauty is that stepping on the pedal asks for torque not horse, I can take a perfect 90 degree right at 40 mph and hardly even skid! Insane driving without all the pig attracting squealing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

22nd Aug 2002, 09:45

I have the exact same car, and I agree with everything you say. I got mine from a cousin who migrated to Canada last year. For the same amount of money that would get me a ten-year old Japanese economy car that spells "loser", I got me a German-made classic whose styling will never grow old. Aside from being torquey, it is very economical, but puts you in the lap of luxury. Plus the three-pointed star up front, coupled with a very solid feel, gives you the pleasure of driving a "real" car. And it's safe as a vault with four wheels. Remember that old bumper sticker that says "drive defensively, buy a tank?" Well, my friend had a W123 300 TD that ran head-on into a commuter bus in Baguio (that's a mountain resort here in the Philippines). He and his entire family walked out of it alive and with no major injuries, just some small bruises. A medical check-up validates the safety of the W123. Now try that with any other car!

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240 D 2.4 liter diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance185350 miles

Summary:

If you can find one, it's a stylish, cheap-to-own workhorse

Faults:

Bad paint (now restored via good quality wax)

Stereo - now replaced with new Sony.

Brakes (various work done) - master cylinder, pads, calipers.

Tie rods for steering.

Fuel system clogged with algae at 175,000 miles (rebuilt since)

Original starter died at 161,247, replaced.

Total exhaust system replacement with OEM parts between December 1999 and September 2000 (done in stages)

Valve adjustment done @ apx. 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car!

Not built for speed, but is very safe, dependable, and stylish.

Interior is tough and hard to damage. Looks near new for a 19 year old car.

Very easy on the fuel. Still gets apx. 30 mpg.

I recommend these cars to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

11th Oct 2003, 11:31

I totally agree with your comments on the 240d. I've just brought a beautiful 1 owner 1983 240 diesel. The engine is out of this world and the body is nearly perfect.

21st Jan 2004, 21:08

I've had mine for five years now. 200k+ miles, still runs like a sewing machine, and ALWAYS starts. Just gave it to my son to take off to college. A good, dependable, safe car.

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance332000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A long-lasting incredibly engineered machine

Faults:

Upper control arms.

Faulty door locks (3 times).

Air conditioning leak.

Brake-strut support.

General Comments:

This car is not for people who must have lots of acceleration, but is a commuter's dream. It still gets over 30 miles per gallon after almost 1/3 a million miles.

The ride is excellent, and it doesn't require very much maintenance. Parts are relatively cheap, and repair materials are easy to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews