Mercury Monterey Reviews from North America

1955 Mercury Monterey 351 V8

Model year1955
Year of manufacture1955
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 351 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 miles
Most recent distance315000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

An aged old lady that still gits!

Faults:

Needed new carburetor, alternator, radiator, ignition, water pump, steering column, shocks, and brakes.

General Comments:

This has been a great old car so far. I use it as a daily driver and it is actually pretty reliable. Seeing that it is over 50 years old, it has some issues, like loose steering connecting rods, brakes that take loner to stop it, and the handling is very pillowy and non-responsive.

The car is unwieldy on the freeway and tends to be extremely loud inside, which again - I accept since it is due to the angular design of the body and grille, which whistle loudly.

Otherwise, a fun, comfortable, gigantic car that is a true original survivor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

15th Aug 2011, 15:00

Original poster here. Almost 5 years later I still own the car. In that time, not a whole lot has gone wrong with the car. The biggest issue was recently. The freeze plugs under the engine were badly rusted and one was leaking. I spent probably a good 2-3 hours replacing them. The car is extremely easy to work on, and doing even complicated things requires few special tools or skill. A lot of the original suspension parts like the bushings and some of the pivot joints have some serious wear, and the steering has a lot of play - which isn't unusual given its age. The fuel gauge stopped working a year ago, but that isn't a big deal. I'll get around to fixing it someday.

The car also likes to eat voltage regulators too. It uses the old-fashioned firewall mounted boxes, and about every year or 2, it blows another one. They're cheap, so I just replace them. The all-drum brakes are also really inadequate. It feels like trying to stop a freight train, and it's important to pay attention to how far you need in order to stop. That, and the car is so heavy it absolutely lunges into the corners. That said - these were never meant to be great handling cars anyway. Just big boats to haul people.

I recently took the car on a road trip in 100+ degree weather. The engine ran at a cool 170 degrees the whole time. On the freeway, the car does great and sort of has that old-school "floaty" ride. Just a sort of lumbering loll as you go down the freeway.

What's great is that this is far from being a cherry car. There are rust spots, dents, and imperfections. It doesn't have a garage. It's also a 4 door - which in the car collector world means it's instantly worth hardly anything. Nevertheless, people love it and are always giving me the thumbs-up sign. I've had it for 10 years now, so I hardly even think of it in that way anymore.

I wish they made cars like this today with all the modern safety gear. Getting in a wreck in this car would be like eggs being dropped off the top of a building in a shoe box: The interior is all metal. So I am always very careful when I drive it.

Anyway, it's been a great car so far, and I've thought of selling it a few times, but don't have the heart, because she's my good ole' girl.

10th Apr 2013, 09:07

These are awesome cars that can run forever if taken care of. Like most 1950s cars, they have some minor design flaws that will sometimes creep up on you, like the voltage regulators. However, those engines and transmissions will run like bears.

2005 Mercury Monterey 4.2 V6

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance2050 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

One high class and powerful minivan

Faults:

The only problem that we have had with the van so far is that the rear seat sometimes gets wet when you have it tucked in, because there is a leak in the bottom of the compartment that lets water come up through it. Dealer fixed for free.

It still does get a little wet, we believe just from the water not completely drying out of the compartment yet, and if it needs it, we will take it back to have it looked at.

General Comments:

This van is the most powerful and best handling van that I have ever driven. The spongey handling feeling you get from most vans is very much not present here. It accelerates nicely and the steering is very tight and responsive.

The interior of the van is very roomy as you would expect from a van, and the leather seats and A/C / Heater components that go to both the middle and rear seats really make for a nice ride on any occasion.

The two remote sliding doors are very useful, although I was surprised that there was not a remote trunk opener that you find on other high level minivans, but having to pull a handle isn't exactly back breaking work, so it doesn't bother me too much.

Traction control works nicely in bad weather and it is always a good feature to have on a vehicle, no matter what kind it is.

We ended up getting a good deal on it at the dealership, and through all of the benefits that this van has, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an upscale van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

19th Mar 2006, 01:33

Please add an update to this van.

3rd Nov 2006, 12:14

I like the older Montereys better.

12th Jan 2007, 22:41

Yeah too bad they stuck the name on a minivan as opposed to the car it once was.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 2 reviews