1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 307 V8


Best car ever


Nothing. It runs good, even in the cold.

It could use a tune up, but I just bought her, and for 500$ it's a dang good car. I love it better then anything I've owned so far. Puts my husband's 04 Mustang to shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2015

13th Dec 2015, 04:33

A primer on these.

An aluminum intake manifold with a cast iron block makes for intake manifold gasket leaks.

It's an Olds V8 - water pumps are an an issue.

Otherwise, not bad :)

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Regency Brougham 307 5.0 V8


Just cruising along in my merry Oldsmobile!!!


Busted brake line, due to me power braking. My fault.

Transmission was rebuilt, but that was due to a bad tranny mount.

Heater core replaced.

Valve covers leaking.

Carb rebuilt.

Front seats wearing badly.

General Comments:

The car is my baby. It runs good and floats down the highway. Drove it out of town, and it hung with the newbies with no problem.

After minor repairs were made, such as carb and cooling system, the car performs like new. Slap the duals and glass packs on him, and he runs like a beast.

Car still drives smooth, and starts up every morning in cold Michigan winters.

Despite that it is a northern car, the body is clean and solid. It's a rare 2 door coupe. I wouldn't trade for anything new; I'm true to my old skool Olds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2012

14th Feb 2012, 16:14

Sounds like a nice car to me! I am a big fan of Chevy Caprices, which are pretty much the same car.

Great highway cars; so smooth to drive.

Nothing beats the reliability of these old boats; they always start.

I also had a 1985 LeSabre Limited RWD with the 307. It was the most comfortable car I ever owned. Too bad they don't make real cars like that anymore!

16th Feb 2012, 02:36

I agree also had a 1985 Cutlass and a 70 Bonneville. Old cars are the best, but neither of them performed like my Delta. My 307 still runs strong at over 220,000 miles, but I wanna swap for that Olds 455.

14th Mar 2012, 15:56

To Feb. 16, 2012: Tear out that little 307 & toss in the 455. And also a TH-400. You'll love it!!

24th Jun 2012, 10:21

I agree, cars aren't like they use to be. I fixed the valve cover leaks, took off the A.C. unit, air compressor, slapped on a Edlebrock air filter with a bigger filter, put on the Cutty mags, and the old man gets down. I gave him a sportier look while making little enhancements. He can beat a few of those who wanna challenge me at almost every red light. LOL wouldn't think the old tank was pushing 300,xxx miles!

1983 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 307ci 5.0 liter


One of the best cars I have ever driven


Alternator was bad when purchased. Cheap, $50.

Idler arm was found to be bad - 65000.

Trans pan leak - 60000.

Oil pan leaked when purchased.

Radio wiring shorted and was replaced at 69000.

Carburetor needed to be professionally tuned when purchased.

General Comments:

This car is amazing.

I purchased it for $800 and love it to death.

It won't win any awards for acceleration, but what do you expect for a car that weighs near 5,000lbs.

It is zeibart and has no rust, and has an amazing finish.

This car is for sure a cruiser. I often find myself doing 85 and not even knowing it.

It rides amazing, and has one of the smoothest transmission I have ever drove.

It may be a tank and a gas hog, but the interior is amazingly comfortable and in good shape. The interior is unbelievably spacious for a 2 door (I am 6 foot 2 and can fit comfortably in the back)

It is a boat to drive, yet it has great road feel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

8th Jan 2009, 00:26

Your lucky to have found one with such low mileage. As a teenager, I owned 2 of the big-body Delta '88's (both '85 model) and needless to say I treated them like crap but the dang things just kept running. Plowed one into a tree (RIP), put the other in a ditch (amazingly, kept running after towed out). Despite the high mileage and utter lack of respect and maintenance, this was the most reliable car I owned. Keep it.