Oldsmobile Omega Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 4

1980 Oldsmobile Omega 6 cdyl gas

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1985
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Faults:

Brakes failed early on.

Radiator replaced twice before 30000 miles.

Alternator belt replaced every 5000 miles.

Doors rusted off hinges within 3 years.

Sunroof leaked.

Transmission failed shortly beyond warranty.

Paint flaking off upper trunk and hood.

Car would sometimes just stop and become difficult or impossible to start resulting in towing.

Air conditioner failed to work in third year.

General Comments:

This was the car that finally turned me off GM after purchasing 4 new GM products previously.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2007

30th Apr 2007, 13:44

"This was the car that finally turned me off GM after purchasing 4 new GM products previously."

- No surprise. This was one of the worst pieces of junk ever made by GM.

1st May 2007, 16:15

This was an "X" car, like the Chevrolet Citation. The 1980 "X" bodies were the most recalled cars of their time. They had 10 or 11 just that year alone and I believe hold the record. Initially the automotive press loved it-a compact front-wheel-drive, in that day and age. But these kinds of problems obviously overshadowed that later on.

3rd May 2007, 12:58

You sure don't see many of the Omega's around or any of the early 1980s X-body cars around, I know that the 1980 X-cars (Chevrolet Citation, Pontiac Phoenix, Buick Skylark and Oldsmobile Omega) went through a long list of recalls.

I thought that the Omega was the classiest looking of the front wheel drive X-cars.

22nd Nov 2010, 22:31

I owned a 198 Oldsmobile Omega. Bought new. Previously new GM cars I purchased included 1966 Chev Impala, 1968 Olds Cutlass S, 1971 Chev Impala, 1973 Chev Impala, 1976 Corvette Ray, 1980 Olds Omega...

It was the Omega that turned me off GM cars. I never purchased another one. The rad has gone, tranny gone, paint peeling, door hinges rusted off all within 3 years. Dealer offered no help. GM just produced crap and it caught up with them.

1980 Oldsmobile Omega 4 cylinder

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

POS, thankfully I haven't seen one in years

Faults:

The transmission failed at 12000 miles. The paint started peeling off right after we bought it. It had a problem with the rear brakes locking up, this caused it's well deserved demise.

General Comments:

In the '70's we were an Oldsmobile family. We had a '69 Cutlass, purchased new. In '80 we bought an Omega, what a mistake. Almost immediately we issues with it, the auto transmission always shifted hard til one day it when trying to get into second gear something went "bang" and and the tranny just died. The rear brakes would lockup a moments notice. This lead to it's ending up in the junkyard, has the brakes locked on ice and the car went into some trees and ended up shaped like a banana. The only good thing I can say about this car is that I wasn't hurt when it was totaled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

10th Mar 2007, 13:40

You should have kept the Cutlass. I once had a Cutlass that ran for over 20 years OK.

16th May 2010, 14:12

Really, comparing a 4-cyl X-body to a '69 Cutlass is like apples and oranges. There IS no comparison. If you'd bought the 1970's Omega on the Nova II chassis I'm sure you'd have been much happier..

1973 Oldsmobile Omega BB2DRCoupe 5.7

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

One of a kind

Faults:

The Oldsmobile Omega is a true American Xbody hybrid, looks like a Chevy Nova, but runs like new. I always attract attention while taking the ride out on Sundays. Definitely a car to be recognized, but somehow got lost in the cracks. I have had it for over 10 years and can't seem to end the love affair with this old ride. If you want to go retro, think Oldsmobile, after all they are not manufactured anymore. Makes it all the better to own.

General Comments:

One of a kind, very well built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

16th Mar 2006, 16:51

I bought an Olds Omega in 1981. I liked this car. I sold this some in early 90s. If anybody got picture of an omega please publis. I would like to see this lovely little car.

11th Aug 2006, 20:03

I love my '73 Omega, actually both of them, and the grille is WAY better looking than the Nova, and I owned a '71 Nova also, so I have nothing against them. I just think the fact that it is an Oldsmobile, makes it just a little nicer than the Nova, even though they are similar.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews