Oldsmobile Omega Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 3

1980 Oldsmobile Omega 4 cylinder

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

POS, thankfully I haven't seen one in years

Faults:

The transmission failed at 12000 miles. The paint started peeling off right after we bought it. It had a problem with the rear brakes locking up, this caused it's well deserved demise.

General Comments:

In the '70's we were an Oldsmobile family. We had a '69 Cutlass, purchased new. In '80 we bought an Omega, what a mistake. Almost immediately we issues with it, the auto transmission always shifted hard til one day it when trying to get into second gear something went "bang" and and the tranny just died. The rear brakes would lockup a moments notice. This lead to it's ending up in the junkyard, has the brakes locked on ice and the car went into some trees and ended up shaped like a banana. The only good thing I can say about this car is that I wasn't hurt when it was totaled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

10th Mar 2007, 13:40

You should have kept the Cutlass. I once had a Cutlass that ran for over 20 years OK.

16th May 2010, 14:12

Really, comparing a 4-cyl X-body to a '69 Cutlass is like apples and oranges. There IS no comparison. If you'd bought the 1970's Omega on the Nova II chassis I'm sure you'd have been much happier..

1973 Oldsmobile Omega BB2DRCoupe 5.7

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

One of a kind

Faults:

The Oldsmobile Omega is a true American Xbody hybrid, looks like a Chevy Nova, but runs like new. I always attract attention while taking the ride out on Sundays. Definitely a car to be recognized, but somehow got lost in the cracks. I have had it for over 10 years and can't seem to end the love affair with this old ride. If you want to go retro, think Oldsmobile, after all they are not manufactured anymore. Makes it all the better to own.

General Comments:

One of a kind, very well built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

16th Mar 2006, 16:51

I bought an Olds Omega in 1981. I liked this car. I sold this some in early 90s. If anybody got picture of an omega please publis. I would like to see this lovely little car.

11th Aug 2006, 20:03

I love my '73 Omega, actually both of them, and the grille is WAY better looking than the Nova, and I owned a '71 Nova also, so I have nothing against them. I just think the fact that it is an Oldsmobile, makes it just a little nicer than the Nova, even though they are similar.

1981 Oldsmobile Omega L4

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission L4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59490 miles
Most recent distance60700 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A fine little car

Faults:

I bought this car knowing that the carburetor would need to be rebuilt or replaced.

The front-wheel-drive CV axles were bad.

The air-conditioner stopped working.

The front wheels need re-aligning, and make a terrible noise going down the road.

General Comments:

So far, this has been a great little car. It has a tendency to flood until it has warmed up, but then you can floor it, and it takes off like it's been hit in the back.

It handles very well, like a bigger car than it is.

I like the bench seat. The seats and carpet are in very good condition.

I like the way this car is designed. I like the little square car look.

The little sideways 4 cylindre engine does very well, testing at around 120 HP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2004

10th Jul 2006, 02:37

You sure don't see very many Omega's around, especially the early 80's models, during the past year or so I've only seen 3 Omega's from 1980-84 and I think they're an under-appreciated car, I'll gladly take the Omegas over what they make today that's for sure.

1983 Oldsmobile Omega (base) 2.5L TBI

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L TBI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired177500 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A well built automobile with some design flaws

Faults:

The water pump went bad when suddenly it started leaking. It was easy to repair. Otherwise no other trouble spots.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable to drive. The ride is soft and handles well. There is plenty of space in the trunk to haul almost everything that I haul. It's turquoise in exterior color, and gray in interior. The seats are 40-20-40 bench style, but I'd prefer bucket seats with a center console. The body has some rust, but I can live with that.

The only real complaint that I have is the engine/transmission combination. This engine design makes it hard to service some components. The oil filter is behind the engine in a tight area making it difficult to service it. The distributor also is behind the engine so if that needed to be replaced, the whole engine has to be moved out of the engine bay. The 90 Horsepower engine struggles to move the 2,700 pound Omega under some circumstances. Especially with an automatic tran saxle with a 2.83 final drive ratio. Also this 2.5L engine has a history of running hot so be careful not to overheat it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

30th Apr 2008, 12:18

I own a 1983 Oldsmoblie Omega and I just wanted to say I thank you for this great review; it helped me out a lot, and I wanted to know if you know of anything else that would be helpful to me. My e-mail is beans102@yahoo.com

Thanks again travis-perez.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews