1997 Plymouth Breeze Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 11

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carChrysler acclaim

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

I bought the car with 40,000 miles on it in 2-01-00 and the dealership replaced the head gasket (recall).

My water pump locked up at 151,000 miles and took the timing belt along with 2 intake valves in Oct 2008.

Map sensor went on Aug 12,2009.

Car seen 3 brake jobs.

Replaced the CV joints at 130000.

Just replaced the struts at 164000 miles.

Thermostat 2 times.

Other than these few things, the car has been problem free, I love it. I would buy another one.

General Comments:

The car could have had more power, but gets great gas mileage.

There's a lot of room inside, from the drivers seat you can see everything inside the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2009

1997 Plymouth Breeze

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Station Wagon

Summary:

Love the car, wish it was "younger" ie; less mileage

Faults:

Replaced the alternator a few thousand miles ago.

When we got it, the digital odometer would not come on until it had run about 20-30 miles, and = the headlights had to be on.

Hit a hidden pothole about 3 weeks ago, and it has been turning on every time since.

Other than regular maintenance, nothing else has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

We were told it was a previous rental car. The nephews obtained it in CA, and we got it from them. It was a pigsty of the worst order, and has some body damage that just makes you wonder how it got that way. Interior was filthy... but everything was salvageable. They did do maintenance regularly. On a hot day, you could get mildly stoned.

To read the reviews on this car, it sounds like, even tho ours has been driven hard and abused, it still runs like a champ. Started last winter on the coldest of days. Gets 32-33 Mi per gallon consistently.

After reading the reviews, it sounds like I may have one of the few on the planet that are worth a darn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2009

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.7

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

Awesome!

General Comments:

I had a 97 Breeze and I loved that car. It was great, I never had any problems. Everything always worked, and it always started up on me.

I would race this car with friends, take it through fields, and I've hit a couple things with it also, and it's always had no problems.

It was a beast. I wish I could find another car just like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2008

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carMazda B4000

Summary:

Fix the known bugs and she rocks!

Faults:

Camshaft position sensor

Rear crankshaft main oil seal

Headlights dim. Replaced with after-market

Camshaft belt and accessories drive belts

Spark plugs and wires

Rear brake shoes

Bad rear brake self adjuster bar

Re-soldered bad solder joint under power resistors on instrument cluster. Fixed no electronic display.

Pulled transmission to replace rear main seal.

General Comments:

This car is a blast to drive through the twisty mountain roads we have here. The suspension/steering systems engineers need to be highly praised. Still on 14 inch wheels!

It is seriously underpowered especially at higher altitudes but returns up to 34 mpg.

It was purchased for $600. With about $500 in parts and my labor it is reliable so far.

It is roomy and actually pretty fun to drive.

The rear seat folds down and in go the skis bikes whatever.

Going to 16 inch wheels tires soon. Will race SCCA!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2008

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.4L

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance278000 kilometres
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Almost 300,000 ks and still going strong!

Faults:

I got the car with warped routers so it squeaked when it braked and a shot left tire bearing. so that in total cost me $357.

3 days ago I had to replace both lower ball joints which in the Breeze means replacing the control arm as well it cost me $1,000.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $2,100.

I've put 48,000km on it in less than a year I'm just now starting to get all the maitenance work done on it.

I drove this car all over Ontario and never once did it let me down.

Id buy another one of these in a heart beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2007

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 49 reviews