1997 Plymouth Breeze Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 11

1997 Plymouth Breeze

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Piece of crap money pit

Faults:

I have had to replace the head gasket 4 times since owning it.

The engine blew at 95,000 miles, and I have had to replace it.

There isn't a single thing underneath the hood that doesn't make a loud scary noise.

I have to put it in the shop on a monthly basis.

General Comments:

I have spent more in repairs over the last couple of years than I spent buying the thing.

I hate this car, and it has been more of a money pit than my three year old daughter.

I wouldn't recommend this car to someone who just spit in my face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 09:11

My name is Mr. Jones, I live in the Pacific Northwest. I own a 99 Breeze. I had to replace the head gasket, then drove it across country. It worked fine until it started getting warm here in Washington. Now I have had nothing, but trouble with the temperature gauge on this car. I have replaced 2 thermostats, had the system flushed, had the pressure of the system checked, and had the hoses checked. The only thing else is the sending unit. I am so frustrated with this car. I have put a lot of money into it to make it look nice and reliable. Now I am wondering if it is really worth it.

Signed

Mr. Jones mad and bewildered.

P.S. Do you have any suggestion on how to fix this temp problem. It goes to the hot then come back down to normal. It drives great until you stop.

5th Jan 2007, 16:22

I have owned my 97 Breeze since 1999 and it has been the worst car I have ever owned.

I replaced the head gasket and rear main seal at 75,000 mile's guess I was lucky since most don't make it that long. The ABS system went out at 40,000 miles. My wife had a bad accident when a tie rod broke at 55 miles per hour and was lucky to survive.

The thermostat has been replaced many times tach goes on and off, the AC hasn't worked for years, front of hood has rusted completely thru, and on and on. Getting new car next month and will take the breeze to junkyard where it belongs.

22nd Mar 2009, 16:54

You guys are making this car sound so bad.. but the truth is it has really good fuel consumption. 10 dollars in gas would get you around all day in this car.

I've had mine for a long time, and all I had to replace was a timing belt alternator and a brake line, all normal things that would happen to any car at 13 years old. What do you people expect...

I loved my Breeze... sold it a month ago, still on the road and going strong. Take care of it and it will take care of you!!

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

Automatic Transmission Failure (twice)

Head Gasket Failure.

Front struts.

General Comments:

This is a money pit, this has to be the worse made car to ever hit the road. The transmission is crap, and you can bust a head gasket just by looking at it. Junk is the only word I can use for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

8th Apr 2005, 09:35

I agree- the Breeze was the first car I got because it was decent looking, but cheap- and now I see why! It was always having something go wrong with it, and we wound up putting double into it than what we payed for it. Needless to say we got rid of that and got another car...

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I would Definitely buy another!!!

Faults:

Nothing

General Comments:

The car handles very well and is quite fun to drive.

Plenty of leg room and head room for all types of people.

For the most part, it performs well and gets pretty decent gas mileage with the manual. it still runs like new and is coming up on 157,00 miles. the Breeze is stable at all speeds and doesn't make any weird sounds at high speeds like my Previous car, which was a 1996 Chevy Cavalier and needed to be replaced ASAP. I have almost every available option, including the power sunroof, and everything still works. Everything has held up very well! I Love My Breeze!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 49 reviews