1999 Plymouth Breeze Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 9

1999 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

I'm considering my options for a new car

Faults:

Speed sensor.

Brake caliper broke in half.

Head gaskets.

Power steering hose leak sent smoke billowing, which is why they replaced the head gaskets.. didn't fix it for $2,500, so they tried something else.

Timing chain tightener wouldn't tighten the new chain.

A/C dryer, A/C evaporator, A/C still doesn't work after $1,500!

New battery, alternator stopped working...

Given time I could find other $ I put into this car aside from the usual brakes/tires/oil/lube and RainX!

General Comments:

When it goes it's good, but everything is so tightly packed into one space it gives the mechanics a headache.. and gives me too many labor hours outside what the dealer says it should take!

It still responds when you hit the gas pedal and gets me home! === so far ===

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2008

19th May 2008, 00:40

You need to find a new mechanic/garage, FAST! You are getting RIPPED OFF by your current hackjob mechanics.

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.4

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned, and I wish they still made them!!!

Faults:

Speed Sensor went out around 70,000 miles. It was inexpensive to fix, only 85 dollars.

I've changed the oil and fluids as per the manufacturer recommendations. I've yet to have any major problems with my car. If they still made the Breeze I would buy another one! Love This Car!!!

General Comments:

Brakes could perform better, but overall the car handles very well.

I love the "get into the trunk from the backseat" option. Very helpful to me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2008

1999 Plymouth Breeze

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles

Summary:

186,000 miles and still running good!

Faults:

Car has had oil leak for years.

Both front hood and passenger door rusted.

Door "ding-ding" buzzer and light randomly come on (over and over)

Had to replace exhaust manifold

General Comments:

Very easy and comfortable car to drive.

Has plenty of room.

Stereo sounds pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2008

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.0L 4 cylinder

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152926 miles
Most recent distance155890 miles

Summary:

This is a very nice car, inexpensive to run, its very reliable and doesn't need much repairs

Faults:

I had to get a new windshield because the previous owner left it parked in the way of someone shooting a BB gun, and it got a ding, which eventually made its way across the windshield. I bought it with a brand new sticker and have only done that, an oxygen sensor (<$40) and a top cover gasket which was very minor, NOT THE HEAD GASKET!!!

General Comments:

This car is in excellent condition, even after 155,000 miles it has no rust spots anywhere. It runs very nice and does not use much oil if any. This car handles the best out of any car that I have ever driven, it corners good, it accelerates pretty good, gets excellent mpg, and it has power windows, locks, mirrors and has a CD player. I've put on some things to personalize it a little. Its white. This car has been so dependable and efficient for me I recommend you to get one. Mine is a 1999, manufactured in June of 1999. you will not be dissatisfied with your purchase. It cost me only $900 in August of 2007 and hasn't needed more than $200 of minor repairs. VERY SATISFIED!!! I took this car when I got my license too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2008

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.0

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I absolutely got a great deal when I bought this one!

Faults:

Throttle Position Sensor malfunctioned at about 110,000 miles.

Transmission starting to go, needs a re-build.

General Comments:

I love this car! I bought it with semi-high mileage and haven't had any real problems with it, other than expected maintenance and wear.

It has 123,000 miles on it and I'm just now having to sink some real money into it.

The body is still great, it still runs great.

It's the perfect amount of space for myself, 2 sons and my very tall boyfriend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2007

1999 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.0

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Not so good

Faults:

December of 2005, 4 months after buying this car, I had a rear main seal leak.

January of 2006, the front right tie rod was replaced.

In February of 2007, I had to replace my transmission speed sensor.

March of 2007, I replaced my left front tie rod.

May of 2007, both front wheel bearings.

As of right now, July 2007, I have no power steering because the pump went out.

My rotors are warped, and my brake pedal and steering wheel shake when I brake, and squeak when I am driving slowly.

I believe I have a leak in my exhaust because my car is getting louder.

My car, when driving down the straight highway at a set speed (say 70), it feels like I'm taking my foot off the gas pedal when I'm really not. It feels like it's missing and kind of jerks forward...

General Comments:

Other than all of that... a pretty good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2007

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 34 reviews