1999 Plymouth Breeze Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 9

1999 Plymouth Breeze

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Roomy, comfortable, and reliable

Faults:

Transmission went out around 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car has ran great. Beyond replacement of transmission, car has had very little maintenance problems. It handles great at 25 mph and at 95 mph. Lots of room, and very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 liter

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

Great Car!!!

Faults:

Sensor went out in the transmission brain box twice. It wouldn't shift out of first gear. It was still under warranty.

Squeaky Brakes since day one when I bought the car brand new in 1999.

General Comments:

I love this car, it still rides really good.

I have never had no major trouble with this car. I haven't had to do any major maintenance on it. Just regular such as tune-ups, oil changes, and brake pads.

I have 93,000 miles and have no leaks.

I am due for new belts because they are starting to crack.

I live in Michigan and I drove it to Atlanta, Georgia 2 years ago and it drove very well going through the Tennessee mountains even with a 4 cylinder engine.

If you want to buy a Plymouth Breeze don't get the 2.0 liter. I test drove one and it does not have the pickup like the 2.4 liter does.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 liter

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance100800 miles

Summary:

Never Own another Plymouth Breeze

Faults:

My Transmission went out at 30,000 miles. Had extended warranty and dealer repaired.

Brakes had to be replaced at 35,000 miles.

Water pump had to be replaced at 80,000 miles. mechanic had to go thru timing belt to repair water pump the cost of water pump was $60.00

$450.00 dollars in labor.

Car has jumped timing this happened at over 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles very well comfortable driving and riding.

Has a good stereo system.

Gas Mileage is acceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

1999 Plymouth Breeze Base 2.0 I-4

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

It is a rock

Faults:

I went through a deep water trench and a rod went right through the engine which cost $1500.

General Comments:

It is a great car with an excellent 6 speaker stereo system. It handles well and the engine has excellent pickup. There is so much space in the trunk and the interior that I can sit 6 people in the car. I recently installed a 140 watt CD system and the car is the best I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

1999 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 Liter

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Automatic
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Okay

Faults:

The problem that needs addressing most, I think, is the oil leak. I thought the number of miles I used to drive had something to do with this (300 miles per week), but circumstances and driving habits have changed (I now log approximately 100 miles per week). I've seen head gasket and camshaft seal comments on various websites, and as a non-mechanic, I'm wondering what to do. I have just moved 1000 miles away from my trustworthy former service person, and that's a little too far to take it for diagnosis. Is there a way to predict whether I'm looking at $750-1000 for a head gasket job or $300 for a camshaft seal before I take it to an unfamiliar shop?

Also, I'm wondering about the "lights on" and "key in ignition" alerts. I used to despise the "ding ding ding," but after leaving my lights on and locking myself out, I'm hoping to get my "ding" back. I guess we should be careful what we wish for...

General Comments:

I don't know why Chrysler put the 2.0 liter in this vehicle. The Dodge Shadow I used to own had a 2.0, and it weighed much less than this Breeze. Acceleration was snappier with the Shadow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

30th Jan 2006, 22:21

Actually, the Dodge Shadow featured Chrysler's 2.2L I4 engine or the 2.5L I4. Mitsubishi's 3.0L V6 was also available. Naturally aspirated, it puts out approximately between 93 and 99 horsepower. In various states of tune, turbocharged versions of this engine range up to 224 horsepower.

The Neon, Breeze, Stratus, and European PT Cruisers feature Chrysler's 2.0L I4 power-plant. Its output is 132 horsepower. The 2.0L shares its bore and bore centre design with the old 2.2/2.5L as well as certain similarities between block design, but the 2.0 and 2.4L four-cylinder engines are much more advanced. Still, the 2.0L (especially when teamed with the four speed automatic) is no match for the mass of a mid-size sedan.

Replacing these engines are the new 1.8/2.0/2.4L I4's developed by Hyundai, Chrysler, and Mitsubishi. They are even more advanced with variable valve timing, aluminum blocks, better efficiency, and more power.

30th Aug 2006, 06:52

My Breeze doesn't ding when the key is in the ignition, but it does when the headlights are on, anyone know a fix for that??

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 34 reviews