1966 Plymouth Fury 3 360 Magnum V8

Summary:

The best car around

Faults:

I had to completely rebuild the transmission, and had to get a new engine. Heater core went bad quick.

The original 318ci block that was in it was cracked; had to grab a 360 Magnum (was weird to rig up, but has plenty of power).

Body has some cancer, but the frame is straight.

Sat in a field for an unknown amount of years, so all these fixes are not unheard of.

General Comments:

So fun to drive. Only one in my area. Only problem is finding interior parts, but that's not an essential part of its functionality. It's a great car though. Love it more than I love most people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2016

9th Jan 2016, 20:28

It has a unitized body so there is no frame, straight or otherwise.

10th Jan 2016, 03:52

360 Magnum - outstanding!!!

What are you using for a transmission?

4th Apr 2017, 20:35

A 2-speed Mercomatic.

10th Apr 2017, 16:58

Torqueflite sounds better on a Mopar.

1967 Plymouth Fury VIP 383

Summary:

Well very reliable, fast but cheap to fix, never breaks down, has charm and personality

Faults:

Minor stuff carb starter, distributor, tires, sat for 20 years. New ground leads and major cleaning. The interior was black from mold, now red, the original color. No rust at all.

General Comments:

This car goes like stink. The 383 has tons of power, the car handles very well and floats down the highway at 100 miles per hour no problem.

My Fury has been very reliable, even with a bad original starter, carb and alternator, the car still started every time, even when I thought she wouldn't; click, click, click, then fired right up every time. And the rumble the car has sounds amazing; such a sleeper.

All in all, an amazing car, 1500 well spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

1966 Plymouth Fury III 318

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

There is some rust behind back wheels and lower body.

Motor was completely redone this month.

Cylinder Heads were rebuilt and gasket kit installed.

Timing Chain, gear set and gasket set replaced.

Battery cables, heater hoses and radiator hoses replaced in September 2005.

Upper and Lower ball joints, idler arm and tie rod end replaced in August 2005.

Rebuilt automatic transmission in June 2005.

Brake shoes, wheel cylinders brake hose replaced in 2003.

General Comments:

Seats have to be recovered and body repairs are required.

This car runs very well because all the power train work has been completed including new tires, wheel balance and alignment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

14th Feb 2008, 22:37

These were pretty cool old cars. My family had a '67 in the mid 1970's that my dad used as a work car. He got it for $50 from some rednecks that had trashed it, and for being only a 10 year old car, it seemed old before its time. The dash lights didn't work, and the quarters were already rusted out behind the rear wheels. It was a good car, though, and my dad drove it to work every morning to Wyoming, Minnesota. Because of the light rear end, it seemed to like to go into the ditch around corners on snowy roads a lot. But then, my dad was too cheap to put good tires on it, so it wasn't totally the car's fault.

1969 Plymouth Fury Sport 350 8 cylinder

Summary:

Not bad for a 60s car, guzzles gas, is very sporty-looking

Faults:

Seats are a bit worn, especially the drivers.

Blew a rod at 450000.

Total engine rebuild at 500000.

All the regular -- oil, spark plugs, etc etc.

General Comments:

I like this car. It's very comfortable for a 60s car and it sounds cool.

The only problem is here in Manitoba, it gets to be around -50 degrees c and sometimes she just wouldn't start (these were in the days when I was still in high school, and the school was open way across town).

No real big problems, although I blew a rod and got a new rebuilt engine, then that one blew something - I can't remember. After that I sold it for a 1990 Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2006

29th Jul 2006, 17:51

Well, I sure as heck doubt that your '69 Plymouth Sport Fury had a 350 engine, seeing as how that is a standard Chevrolet size. If the distributor was in back of the block, it was a 318 small block, and if the distributor was on the front passenger side, it was more than likely a 383 big block, although sometimes you find a Sport Fury that had a 440 or even more rarely the 426 hemi. It's too bad you dumped it for a used Jeep, because the Sport Fury is starting to pick up some real value now with the retro interest in '60s and '70 muscle cars, and these look exactly like the very high-dollar Roadrunner and GTX.