Plymouth Fury Reviews

1967 Plymouth Fury VIP 383 from North America

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 383 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carDodge Cordoba

Summary:

Well very reliable, fast but cheap to fix, never breaks down, has charm and personality

Faults:

Minor stuff carb starter, distributor, tires, sat for 20 years. New ground leads and major cleaning. The interior was black from mold, now red, the original color. No rust at all.

General Comments:

This car goes like stink. The 383 has tons of power, the car handles very well and floats down the highway at 100 miles per hour no problem.

My Fury has been very reliable, even with a bad original starter, carb and alternator, the car still started every time, even when I thought she wouldn't; click, click, click, then fired right up every time. And the rumble the car has sounds amazing; such a sleeper.

All in all, an amazing car, 1500 well spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2010

1966 Plymouth Fury III 318 from North America

Model year1966
Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1966
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 318 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Fury

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

There is some rust behind back wheels and lower body.

Motor was completely redone this month.

Cylinder Heads were rebuilt and gasket kit installed.

Timing Chain, gear set and gasket set replaced.

Battery cables, heater hoses and radiator hoses replaced in September 2005.

Upper and Lower ball joints, idler arm and tie rod end replaced in August 2005.

Rebuilt automatic transmission in June 2005.

Brake shoes, wheel cylinders brake hose replaced in 2003.

General Comments:

Seats have to be recovered and body repairs are required.

This car runs very well because all the power train work has been completed including new tires, wheel balance and alignment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

14th Feb 2008, 22:37

These were pretty cool old cars. My family had a '67 in the mid 1970's that my dad used as a work car. He got it for $50 from some rednecks that had trashed it, and for being only a 10 year old car, it seemed old before its time. The dash lights didn't work, and the quarters were already rusted out behind the rear wheels. It was a good car, though, and my dad drove it to work every morning to Wyoming, Minnesota. Because of the light rear end, it seemed to like to go into the ditch around corners on snowy roads a lot. But then, my dad was too cheap to put good tires on it, so it wasn't totally the car's fault.

1966 Plymouth Fury III 318 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carChrysler Charger

Summary:

Fantastic, loads of character

Faults:

Seats split.

TOTAL brake failure reversing in car park resulting in parking manoeuvre through supermarket window.

Front torsion bar snapped so suspension collapsed ls.

Worn and broken advance springs in distributor.

General Comments:

Bought this car for £300.00 and was a daily driver.

Great drive and ultra reliable considering I was 17 at the time and drove it to hell and back!

Very fast compared to the English rubbish we had then.

Everyone knew me and I knew none of them.

Bench seats and pillar less were great.

Reasonable economy on long runs, but lousy in town due to my heavy foot.

Got through a set of rears every Saturday night doing burnouts everywhere, cost me more in tires than gas!

Handled like a pig when pushed, but was great fun sideways at 50+

Sounded absolutely fantastic with homemade exhausts.

Nearly blew myself up welding the boot seam behind the rear fender near the gas tank. (covered it with a wet cloth! Very very stupid on reflection)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2007

1969 Plymouth Fury Sport 350 8 cylinder from North America

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350 8 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired450000 kilometres
Most recent distance550000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Not bad for a 60s car, guzzles gas, is very sporty-looking

Faults:

Seats are a bit worn, especially the drivers.

Blew a rod at 450000.

Total engine rebuild at 500000.

All the regular -- oil, spark plugs, etc etc.

General Comments:

I like this car. It's very comfortable for a 60s car and it sounds cool.

The only problem is here in Manitoba, it gets to be around -50 degrees c and sometimes she just wouldn't start (these were in the days when I was still in high school, and the school was open way across town).

No real big problems, although I blew a rod and got a new rebuilt engine, then that one blew something - I can't remember. After that I sold it for a 1990 Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2006

29th Jul 2006, 17:51

Well, I sure as heck doubt that your '69 Plymouth Sport Fury had a 350 engine, seeing as how that is a standard Chevrolet size. If the distributor was in back of the block, it was a 318 small block, and if the distributor was on the front passenger side, it was more than likely a 383 big block, although sometimes you find a Sport Fury that had a 440 or even more rarely the 426 hemi. It's too bad you dumped it for a used Jeep, because the Sport Fury is starting to pick up some real value now with the retro interest in '60s and '70 muscle cars, and these look exactly like the very high-dollar Roadrunner and GTX.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews