2001 Subaru Outback LX

Summary:

This car has been a major disappointment.

Faults:

In Nov 2004 at about 45,000 head gasket blew.

Then Nov 2005 - August 2006 parts started being replaced in this order: thermostat.

Radiator.

Head gasket again.

Ignition coil.

Air conditioner.

Tire bolts replaced (2 broke while traveling)

And the check engine light has come on numerous times in the past 3 weeks.

General Comments:

We bought this car as a family vehicle hoping to get 200,000 miles and well over 10 years. I gave in to my husband wanting leather seats, and the dual moon roof and agreed to splurge. While we have always kept up on maintenance and not abused the car I keep hoping that the next repair will be the last. Not so…

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2006

15th Oct 2006, 11:01

The Outback is a great wagon. I work for a college in automotive tech, and have owned four outbacks and have had no problems with any of them (except for basic tire and brake and oil change). They would not commonly break down with all the problems listed. On all the cars owned they have all exceeded 300,000 miles. So don't take the advice of this review for it is rare that the owners of this car liked their car. I have had the same model as listed in the review, and I have no problems at all with it.

2001 Subaru Outback

Summary:

Will never buy subaru again

Faults:

I bought 2001 outback used with 82,00 miles, dealer says, " these cars go 300,000 miles". After the first year, I had a blown head gasket, replaced a timing belt, spent $1700.00. A year later, the engine overheated, no warning, no increase on the temp indicator, just started making noise, blown engine. $2500.00 later, I'm trading it for a toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

31st Mar 2008, 16:49

I am so glad to be reading all this information. I have been considering buying a 2000 Subaru Outback. The car has 80,000 miles on it and it looks like brand new. However after reading all this info. here I have decided not to buy it. I have an Acura Integra that has 146,000 miles on it. The car drives like a new car. The car was made in 1992 and I am the second owner. Anyway it still drives great and looks great so I will just keep it until it falls apart. Then I think I will get another Acura or Honda... After reading all this information about the Subaru's I'd rather not take any chances... Thanks to everyone for all the info. you post about your Subaru's...

26th Nov 2008, 13:21

It's unfortunate that anyone would rule out Subarus because of individual bad experiences. I don't think anyone can say, as a rule, don't get a Subaru. "Caveat emptor" ALWAYS applies in a car purchase, especially if it is pre-owned! There is no telling what a previous owner may have done to a vehicle, or neglected. In 1999 I bought a '95 Legacy wagon that had 85k on it. I still have that vehicle, and the only non-routine work I've had done in the past 9.5 years is replacing the seals and the starter. The car now has 230k, has taken me coast to coast, and has been a fantastic investment.

With dealerships scrambling to attract sales in this troubled economy, there is a reason you don't see mega-rebates and such advertised for Subarus: THEY DON'T NEED THEM. Subarus are great vehicles.

2001 Subaru Outback 2.5L H4

Summary:

Great car, I'd buy another next time!

Faults:

Leaky A/C compressor.

General Comments:

I love this car! Have not had it very long, but know my way around cars and this one is very nice!

I was impressed with the power of the small 2.5L motor, but being a gear head I'm sure I'll be changing the pulley and adding a better air intake in the future. It has good get-up-and-go, although a little unresponsive in the mid-range once you get past that "flat spot" it runs like a champ.

The stock stereo is great, and I don't even have the McIntosh unit. Comfortable, love the ground clearance and looks, fun to drive.

I read all of these reviews before I bought the car, and a lot of the problems seem to be typical wear issues that you would expect to have problems on any vehicle...tires, brakes, clutch, etc. I think people don't realize that cars do wear out, and wear out more quickly if ridden hard and put up wet.

My only complaint would be that the brakes do tend to be undersized for the car, and it requires some familiarity to use them effectively. I think a lot of drivers out there don't put the brakes on until they are about 10 feet from the stop, which overheats the rotors, causes them to warp, etc. I will probably replace my rotors with slotted/cross-drilled ones shortly to try to help with heat dissipation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2005